We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lodge was just right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Misty Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Misty Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Misty Mountain Lodge
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   232 E Riverside Drive, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lodge was just right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at the Misty Mountain Lodge in mid-October. We had a suite and found it to be just what we wanted. It was open and inviting without being overdone and located just one block off the main area of shops in Estes Park. It was great after a day of hiking to be able to walk somewhere for dinner on the days we did not cook in. The kitchen was minimalist and well worn but in keeping with the very reasonable rate that we paid. The owners were helpful and we also bought eggs from their daughter and firewood for the fireplace from their son. We come back to Estes Park every few years and we will definitely stay at this lodge the next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    42
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
57
61
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
AVON
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stopped here for 2 nights on a grand tour of "the West." Misty Mountain Lodge was just lovely! My husband and I had a cute room with a kitchenette that was very clean and nicely decorated. We were in walking distance of all the restaurants downtown for dinner, and there was a Safeway just up the road to grab groceries for breakfast and our national park lunches. The staff here are friendly and great, too! If we go back to Rocky Mountain National Park, we'll definitely be booking a room here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is our second stay at Misty Mtn.. The grand kids, son, daughter-in-law & us (grandparents) all were able to have a lot of fun in a fun, safe, friendly & easily accessible place. We had adjoining suites 19 & 20, which were freshly renovated. The family that runs this lodging is really nice. Peter & Ellen & their kids are an added bonus. If you're going to Estes - stay here!

Room Tip: 19 & 20 are freshly renovated & great if you want to join a 2 and 1 bedroom suite - which we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Misty Mountain is one of the best places to stay in Estes Park - we stayed here this summer for a friends wedding and came back for our anniversary. It is close to town with several bars and restaurants within walking distance, a 5 minute drive to Rocky Mountain national park and the owners are great. It is a perfect place for a romantic getaway or a weekend with the family. Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had a last minute need for a one-nite stay. Thankfully the proprietor could accommodate us! Inexpensive and only a block from Main Street. Room furnished rustic, with the cheap kind of tourist souvenirs you'd find in Estes. Small room, TV and fridge, fireplace ( not gas)' very small bathroom and shower stall. Property had hot/tubs, but weren't appealing enough to try.

Located on side street with limited parking.

This place was very inexpensive, and the owners very home style friendliness. Good for people on a budget!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for four nights in mid-September and it worked out great. The lodging is nice and the proximity to downtown is really nice. We rented a two bedroom with a kitchen which was perfect for going with our toddler. We already had our pack-and-play but Peter and Ellen offered one in case we needed it. The accommodations were nice. It's not a fancy resort but has a nice lodge feel inside with new and appropriate decorations. The grounds outside were beautiful with a lawn and rock fountains.

The proximity to downtown is great - just half a block away from the heart of Estes with many walkable restaurants. Our son loved the riverwalk area with all the unique walkways and bridges, plus some rock throwing and spotting fish.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stopped here for one night on a 10 day trip through CO. Our room was very quaint with nice attention to details in the room to make it seem like a mountain resort. The room we had appeared to be pretty dated but was adequate for our stay. It has a kitchenette which we did not use but would be helpful and functional for making simple meals.

The grounds were well kept and it has a nice view of the surrounding mountains. Walking distance to town. I got the impression by their pictures that the stream ran right next to their property when in fact, it is across the street. Not a big deal, but I had a different impression of the location based on the pictures than what I actually found.

Appears to be a family run business and everyone was very pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Misty Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Mountain Lodge

Address: 232 E Riverside Drive, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Misty Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocky Mountain National Park is only 2 miles away. Estes Park is a minute's walk along the Big Thompson River. Prospect Mountain IS the back part of our property. With 60' spruce trees, gas grills, hot tubs, our rooms, suites, and cabins are just a lovely place to hang out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Misty Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Mountain Hotel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Misty Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.