We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, But Way Overpriced and Small Portions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Twin Owls Steakhouse

Twin Owls Steakhouse
800 MacGregor Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517-9065
+1 970-586-9344
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Twin Owls Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 114 restaurants in Estes Park
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Rt 34 Bypass
Description: The Twin Owls Steakhouse offers quintessential mountain abiance in a 1920's log cabin along with an excellent array of steaks, seafood, house specialties and fine wines.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Food, But Way Overpriced and Small Portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We dined here on our family vacation, and enjoyed the food. We tried the elk appetizer which was amazing; I would highly recommend if you have never tried elk before. Our entrees were also very good, but were basically very small portions of the main course with a ton of vegetables. Our son's meal was a few bites of meat with mostly vegetables. The bill for our family of three was over $120.00. Overall, not a great value for the price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    326
    109
    55
    31
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Good food and nice people in an historic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Good choice of steaks, buffalo, elk and fish dishes served by an efficiengt friendly wait staff. Attentive to gluten free diet and flexible about necessary substituions. Be sure to make a reservation as they get quite busy at dinner time in high season. From some windos you can see the moiuntains.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

The setting is gorgeous. The Waiter was great. Food was average. Two people in our party ordered Blackened New York Strips. The steaks were very small-- looked like they cut a steak in half.......,maybe 1" wide. We had children with us so they stuck us in the back of the restaurant. Prices far exceed quality delivered

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“We loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Had a wonderful table on the second floor looking out over the restaurant. Very romantic spot for two. I had the Buffalo steak and my husband the Elk medallions. Both meals were presented beautifully and were very good. Definitely would recommend.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I shared our anniversary dinner at Twin Owls. The cheese/dried fruit appetizer was a perfect start, along with a nice Malbec wine. The New York strip and house special filet entrees were quite flavorful and tender, with 2 different tasty potato accompaniments. Our server, Val, was delightful and helpful, adding to our special evening. It was topped off by a delicious complimentary dessert (chocolate of course!) in honor of our anniversary. Fun and delicious--we'll be back!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twin Owls Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Twin Owls Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twin Owls Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.