We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath taking-great place to get engaged!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loveland Heights Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loveland Heights Cottages
Save
You added Loveland Heights Cottages to your Saves list
2542 Big Thompson Canyon, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breath taking-great place to get engaged!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

We recently stayed at Loveland Heights. Took a short vacation to Colorado from Nebraska. The man I've been seeing for over a year asked me to marry him!!! The property is gorgeous, our cabin was right off the river- deck and all, to watch the fish in the clear water. Great memories here!!! We will be back!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    65
    6
    10
    4
See reviews for
91
74
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
JFK619
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

It's been almost a month since our stay at Loveland Heights Cottages and mywife and daughter and I are still talking about how great it was. In fact, we extended our stay one extra day because we didn't want to leave! Absolutely beautiful location right on the river, only 5 minutes from town, rustic but clean, cute and cozy, and friendly and accommodating staff. Our flight into Denver was delayed and we knew we wouldn't arrive at the cabin until after 1:00am, so we called the owner, Bev and she couldn't have been nicer. She literally "left the light on for us" and the key inside so that we could take our tired, traveled selves straight to bed.

The three of us stayed in one of the "studios" because of the great price (our 10-year-old daughter slept on the loveseat). When we go back we might get one of the 1-bedroom cabins just so that we have a little more room, but for couples traveling together, the studios are the perfect choice if you're looking to save a little cash.

I read a few negative reviews and according to the current management, those reviews came during a different management. Trust me when I say that if you want a clean, cozy, picturesque and affordable place to stay with great staff, Loveland Heights Cottages is for you! If you want a big, fancy overpriced cabin with a bunch of amenities you probably don't need, keep looking. If I had to list any negatives I would only say that the bed could have been a little more comfy.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

Sometimes you just need to drive and when you find yourself needing a great place to spend the night, it means a lot to find some place special. We needed a meditative, quiet and comfortable place to stay and we are gald we found Loveland Heights Cottages. Our room (#14) was charming in a 1950's kind of way. The highlight was the river window. Literally a couple of feet fromthe bed, the window opens directly above the river and not far away from the kind of whitewater that sings to you all night long. As we had to Euthanize a long-time pet that same day, this window and the river below saved my sanity and gave me the empty canvas to paint my memories about my long-time friend. It was just what we needed.

The room was clean and well appointed, we were totally comfortable. The property is well-maintained and managed in such a way that we were hardly aware of any other guests. The owner is a gem and has been in the valley for a long time. The location couldn't be better in terms of being secluded while being very close to Estes Park activities. The pricing was fair.

We look forward to coming back for a multiple-night stay!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

We searched for days for an affordable but special location to stay for our short vacation in the Rockies. We finally stumbled upon this cozy group of cottages located in Big Thompson Canyon just a few miles from the entrance of RMNP but away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Estes Park. Our cottage was located RIGHT on the Big Thompson River. Literally...the supports for the living room and deck were IN the river. The gentle rushing of the river was a very soothing sound in the evenings. Beverly the owner was a nice as could be and we REALLY hated to leave!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

I found Loveland Heights Cottages while researching on TripAdvisor. My family always vacationed in a housekeeping cottage when I was growing up, and I wanted my children to have that same experience. We stayed in Cabin 9. The cabin was clean and fresh and had everything we could ask for. The kids (10 and 14) enjoyed wading in the river, which was right off our deck. We loved the sound of the river as we were falling asleep each night. We were also treated several times to the sound of thunder rumbling and echoing through the canyon. Our first evening there, we looked out the window to see an elk grazing across the road. Besides its fabulous location on the river, it was also only a few minutes' drive into town. The only negative was something brought up by a previous reviewer, who mentioned the water being high in iron. We forgot about that until we got there and then had to go buy more bottled water, because we couldn't even use the ice cubes without tasting iron. But that was a minor inconvenience. We loved the cottage, the staff was friendly and helpful, and we wished we could have stayed longer. In fact, our 10 year old daughter wanted to move in permanently!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

What a great place! Quaint, rustic, and located right on a river. The cottages are old, but are immaculately clean. If you are a 5 star hotel person, this is not the place for you, but if you like value, hospitality, cleanliness, and a place with a little character, then check this out! We loved it!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

Our family recently stayed in one of the cabins. We found the cabin a bit rustic, but nicely kept and clean. Plenty of room for all, and the heater warmed us in the mornings.. The river rustling by just outside the cabins was awesome!! (as was the cluster of hummingbirds at the feeder..) The owner was very friendly & helpful. Not for you if you expect room service at the Hilton, but is a nice relaxing place to enjoy the surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loveland Heights Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loveland Heights Cottages

Address: 2542 Big Thompson Canyon, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Step Back In Time" to the beauty of these 16 cottages with decks on or over the Big Thompson River. All have full kitchens and there are one, two and three bedroom cottages,with queen beds. We are known for our cleanliness.We are 3 miles East of downtown Estes Park and 5 miles East of Rocky Mountain National Park. We furnish everything you need to stay and be comfortable in our wonderful cottages, from the pots and pans to the bedding. We are not a big fancy chain, we are family owned and operated and have owned the cottages for 32 years. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loveland Heights Cottages Hotel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loveland Heights Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.