We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace, calm, gentle waters, nice cabins,” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whispering Pines Cottages On The River

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whispering Pines Cottages On The River
Save
You added Whispering Pines Cottages On The River to your Saves list
2646 Big Thompson, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Longmont
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Peace, calm, gentle waters, nice cabins,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

My family stayed here for the 4th of July Holliday and we greatly enjoyed it. We stayed in a two bedroom cabin that was small but all we needed. The cabin and grounds were clean and the staff very friendly. There was a lot, I mean A LOT Of traffic noise though but the property has no control over that. Our cabin had a kitchenette so we were able to bring most of our food with us and every cabin had a grill outside. My kids played for hours at the upside park and the sound of the river was calming. I don't think the price is bad given the fact that it is summer time in a resort type mountain town. I recommend to place, and they are very kid friendly but try to get a cain toward the rear and away from the highway if you can. Would stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mulvane, Kansas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here during our last trip to Estes Park July of 2012. I have no complaints...hoping to stay here again this summer. Loved the rustling river next to our cabin and convenience to town was great. Staff was very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

What a beautiful place our cabin was right on the river this place is on the other side of town so it's a little quieter but not a far drive to the happenings. Rooms are somewhat small but cabins are quaint and clean each one has a deck and chairs to sit out by the river we stayed during memorial weekend. Hosts are friendly and accommodating the river was flowing and hummingbirds were chirping it backs up to a forest/ mountain so along with the river there's trees we went with family but will definitely be back alone for a getaway prices are reasonable especially for the locale

Room Tip: Cabin 9 is a wheelchair accessible cabin with the deck right on the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Found this place by searching the web and falling in love with photos and location - 50s / 60s retro although in all likelyhood 'original'. Very basic amenities but clean and tidy - right by the river. We dealt with the proprietress who was great and also helped with queries regrarding the town. Great place would go again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had a cabin right on the river. was small but very comfortable. We mostly wanted a clean place to sleep and shower. This was it. The owner was extremly nice and accomadating. the deck was right on the river. outside firepit on the river too, but there was a burn ban in effect. had a kitchen and dorm fridge. A little older place, but very clean and well kept.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This place should really be only $49/night, not $130. It was filthy, old, our cottage smelled like a horse's corral, the furniture was disgusting, the beds uncomfortable. We couldn't even take a shower because there was no shower head - only a mist coming out of a pipe. The owners were rude. We were not told that our cabin was only feet away to a busy highway, so all night long we heard cars zooming by, with their lights flashing into our bedroom. We will never stay here again!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed in Whispering Pines a year ago (summer of 2011). So why am I writing a review now? Well, I've been craving Colorado lately, so it made me think of our great trip and stay at this place. We must. Get. Back. Soon!

Anyway, our five (maybe six) day stay at Whispering Pines was great. We were in one of the tiny cottages for only two occupants, and it was perfect for us. We used the kitchen just about every night for making dinner, sat out on the back deck while we ate, had a fire in the fire pit just about every night, admired the hummingbirds that were constantly buzzing around the feeders hanging on all of the cottages, sat by the river and read and talked, fell asleep to the sound of the rushing Thompson every night, woke up to the sound of the rushing Thompson every morning, and day dreamed about one day moving into the tiny cabin we were staying in.

We will definitely be back there. Hopefully sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: I won't tell you which cabin we stayed in...because I don't want it to be booked next time w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whispering Pines Cottages On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pines Cottages On The River

Address: 2646 Big Thompson, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whispering Pines Cottages On The River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.