We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A River Runs Through It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rustic River Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rustic River Cabins
Save
You added Rustic River Cabins to your Saves list
2550 Big Thompson Canyon Rd, Estes Park, CO 80515   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A River Runs Through It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Cabin #1 - cozy and comfy for this couple and an outdoor hot tub to enjoy in the cool Fall evenings. Outside the hustle and bustle of Estes Park in a quiet canyon. Despite recent epic flooding, the cabins are high and dry and the Pruitt's are great hosts!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperEstesPark, Owner at Rustic River Cabins, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for the review. We are getting back to "normal" after the flood. Wow!! Mother nature can do some damage, but we did not have any flood water in our cabins.
We feel very blessed to have guest back with us. This place is just not the same without them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Had a great time at Rustic River cabins. Enjoyed Cabin #6. Very quiet and lots of room. We enjoyed sitting on the deck overlooking the river and watching the humming birds. Jeanine and James are great hosts! The weather was beautiful and warm but the cinder block cabin stayed nice and cool. Estes Park was fun to shop in and of course a visit to Rocky Mountain National Park was amazing. Both are just a short drive away. Nice amenities. Multiple grills and grill types to choose from. Enjoyed using the complementary essential oils available at the cabin. We used them so we didn't get sore after our hike in the mountains and so we did not get altitude sickness. Was at the cabin with a friend, can't wait to bring my husband. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Things we loved about this place:
-really nice owners,
-they don't require a 3 night minimum,
-affordably priced (as long as they keep their prices as they are),
-wifi (important, especially since there's no cell service there),
-nestled right in the mountains,
-sits right on the river,
-AWESOME hot tub,
-close to Estes,
-quiet after 9pm,
-tons of acreage to hike right there on the property,
-nice little private decks on the cabins,
-plus a community fire ring and sitting area.

We did have some problems with our shower fixture, but they'll be replacing it. The couch wasn't too comfy to sit on, but that's because it's brand new and needs time to soften up. They provide caffeinated coffee, but no decaf or creamer. Not a big deal since there's a store right down the street. Amazing ambiance and we'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful time.
Cabin 4 review, a little on the smaller side especially the bathroom. The cabin was very clean, and had all the items you would need, the bed was more comfortable than what we had stayed at in Snowmass earlier in the week. We would stay again but would stay in a bigger cabin. James and Jeanine were very helpful, whenever we needed anything. Would stay again,

John , Kim & Evan Pensacola, Fl

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Owners of the Rustic River Cabins are exceptional hosts. Jeanine and James have created an amazing atmosphere that is pet friendly. This retreat is close to Estes Park, Colorado and directly on the Colorado River. The cabins are well maintained, clean and affordable. One of the best deals in the area. You may also include a healing experience with their own therapist that has been practicing for over 20 years in the arts of hands on bodywork. You can also hike on their 16 acre property or enjoy a bon fire, relax in your own outdoor private hot tub, or join the friendly guests and meet new folks. I highly recommend this resort all year round.

Room Tip: The cabin directly on the river has it's own hot tub and deck where you can hear the river flowi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed in cabin #6 for the first week in May and the place was great. The weather was still a little cold but the heaters kept us warm and just outside the cabins there were hiking trails with awesome views. The cabins are 5 minutes outside of Estes so there is too much to do in one week.

Room Tip: No fitness center or swimming pool but there was a hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed in cablin #5 for a girls weekend getaway. The owners Janine and James were fabulous. Our cabin had a private hot-tub and there is a larger "community" hot-tub overlooking the river. We had two dogs and everyone was welcoming to the pets. The cabin was clean and cute had everything we needed (as far as kitchen supplies). It was a short drive (maybe 2-3 miles) to downtown Estes and a short drive to Rocky Mountain Natl Park. There is also a hiking trail behind the cabins on the property.
We could not have been more happy. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperEstesPark, Owner at Rustic River Cabins, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you so much for the review and thanks for letting us enjoy your girls weekend. We had a blast at the outdoor fire ring listening to your stories and "rules".

Any time you need another girls weekend or a place to relax with your pets, please come back and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rustic River Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rustic River Cabins

Address: 2550 Big Thompson Canyon Rd, Estes Park, CO 80515
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic River Cabins are tucked away in the Big Thompson Canyon just four miles from the center of the city of Estes Park on the Big Thompson River. We are far enough from town so you don't have to deal with the heavy traffic of Estes Park, but close enough to enjoy all that the city and the Rocky Mountain National Park have to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rustic River Cabins Hotel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rustic River Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.