We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closest thing to heaven on earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch
Save
You added Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch to your Saves list
5770 South St. Vrain, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rock Hill, SC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Closest thing to heaven on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

We've been to Wind River Ranch six times so far and we keep coming back. The vistas are gorgeous, the food is incredible, the staff have become our friends, and the fellowship with other guests always makes for great memories. We always come away feeling renewed, both physically and spiritually. Oh, and the new hot tub is very relaxing, with it's view of Long's Peak.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
102
13
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

We love Wind River Ranch. It combines a mountain vacation and a prayerful retreat; and our trips there renew us as nothing else ever has. The other guests welcome us like family; the accommodations, food, and activities are outstanding; and the mountain scenery is extraordinary.

The key to all this, I think, is the fact that the staff consider their work a ministry. Everyone, from the directors down to the bed makers, makes himself a servant to the guests. It is good to be ministered to; we are always amazed how hungry we are for it.

Activities range from morning bible studies to long trail rides, from evening hymns to white water rafting, with plenty of time for adults to rest and visit together. The staff run separate programs during the day for young children, for elementary school kids, and for teens -- which really frees parents up to find the kind of vacation they need for themselves. Meals are served family style, and guests sit variously with their families and their friends.

Most people come away feeling that God has moved in their lives during the week, that God moves in this place. The "culture" is mostly evangelical Protestant. Our family, however, is Catholic; and we feel touched by God here and at home too, especially with Our Lady of the Mountains church so close by.

The sense of community that develops at Wind River Ranch over the course of a week is remarkable. There are families, our own included, that come back repeatedly. Many of us choose "our weeks" together and develop vacation friendships over the years.

Wind River Ranch has created for our family the best vacations we've ever had. Nothing else comes close. Nearly everyone who visits says the same thing. It is a Colorado mountain shangri-la.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

Then what am I doing writing a review, right? I've been a part of Wind River Ranch since the late 1997, and in that time I've seen marriages restored, distant families brought close, close families brought closer. I've seen boys grow into men and girls grow into ladies. The staff is an amazing reflection of how I hope we'd all seek to selflessly serve each other in our day-to-day. The views are spectacular, highlighted by the awesome east face of Longs Peak. Any time spent at Wind River Ranch will almost assuredly result in memories you will treasure the rest of your life. Even with all this, I promise I am only scratching the surface, and am not doing this place proper justice. Words really can't describe it, so I hope you see for yourself and find your own way to barely describe the wonderful, beautiful Wind River Ranch.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

My mom and I had the best experience at the Wind River Ranch-from the staff to the food to the activities- it was all an experience of a lifetime! If you are looking for a great relaxing and enjoyable vacation, this is definitely the way to go!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

My husband and our 10 yr old twins had a wonderful time at Wind River
Ranch. We loved the horseback riding, the ziplining, the fireside songs
and night, and we have never eaten better food! The staff is so
welcoming, caring, and fun to be with...you truly feel like an honored
guest!

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

We have 4 children ages 12-19, and we have gone to this dude ranch for 8 yrs now! The beautiful location, best staff and food around! Words can not discribe how terrific this week vacation is! Our whole family loves it! Even if you don't ride horses you will have a blast!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

Wind River Ranch is an awesome Christian retreat for the whole family. Lots of fun activities for kids and adults in a gorgeous setting!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch

Address: 5770 South St. Vrain, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wind River Ranch is an all inclusive resort property that appeals to each family member. We invite you to read our reviews on TripAdvisor and hear why our guests not only love the investment they made in their family, but also why they choose to return again and again to WRR. This is a unique and very special family dude ranch experience and a mountaintop experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch Hotel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.