We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bonding time with 4 teenagers..... PRICELESS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch
Save
You added Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch to your Saves list
5770 South St. Vrain, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Cedar Park, TX
1 review
“Bonding time with 4 teenagers..... PRICELESS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

Where can you go with 4 teenage boys and have a fabulous time without cell phones, wii, ipods, tv, facebook, etc.??? We had an amazing family vacation and EVERYONE had a great time. The staff was so outgoing and friendly that our boys quickly got involved in everything from the climbing wall, zip line, horseback riding, hiking in the mountains, sand volleyball, frisbee golf, square dancing (yes... square dancing!!), fishing, nightly bonfire & sing-a-long and lots of other activities. The food was incredible and abundant so that our boys were able to get full even with their BIG appetites.

We have vacationed at Wind River Ranch 3 times (when the boys were 6,6,8,8; again at 10,10,12,12; and finally at 15,15,17,17). Each time, the staff was able to engage the boys with nonstop activities. They actually gave up going to Disneyland and chose Wind River Ranch instead. As parents, we were able to "get away" and have some time to ourselves to golf, hike and mountain bike while the boys were supervised by the loving, caring and FUN staff.

I HIGHLY recommend this camp to friends and family and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
101
13
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
college station
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

The rooms are wonderful, the food is unbelievable, the horses arte the best trained anywhere; but the most memorable part of the vacatiuon is the staff. They truly epitomize "agape love"; totally focused on serving the guests and making the stay an unforgettable experience! We have been guests numerous times and always have had a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

What a great place Wind River Ranch is. The staff goes out of their way to make sure your every expectation is met. The food was great, served family style. The staff are all good role models for your children and you can feel safe in letting them roam the ranch. There are always people around to watch over them. The setting can't be beat with meadows and hillsides overlooking Longs Peak. This is a great place to go to unwind. Many activities from rock climbing wall to riding the most gentle horses anywhere to white water rafting to just sitting on a porch and enjoying the scenery. We have been to the ranch several summers and can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2006

My family had what I think was its best vacation ever. The scenery is breathtaking - every morning, you awake to see the snow-capped Rockies out of your window. Abundant activities - horseback riding, horse lessons, hiking, climbing wall, swimming pool, group activities, cookouts, white water rafting (off site one day), golf nearby and more. Wonderful food. The staff is outstanding. They approach this ranch as a "ministry," and their servant's attitude is evident throughout the week. The cabins are private, clean and have a wonderful rustic feel, many with wood-burning fireplaces. This is a truly a wonderful place for the entire family.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2005

If you are looking for a family vacation in the mountains Wind River Ranch in Estes Park, CO can't be beat. This is the second year in a row that we've been there and the kids are asking to go back next year.
STAFF IS EXCELLENT!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2005

We stayed at Wind River Ranch in June 2004 and June 2005 and both visits were amazing. Wind River Ranch is about 7 miles south of Estes Park across from Estes Cone and Long's Peak. The views are breathtaking, the accommodations are clean and well kept, the food (included in the price of your stay) is outstanding (bring your self-control or be prepared to make another notch in your belt :-) and the staff is more genuinely caring and helpful than anywhere we've ever been. Here are the highlights of our stays in some semblance of order:

- The people, especially those who often watched our son. (Childcare is also included in the price of your stay!)
- The views, esp. Long's Peak
- The food
- Elk grazing right in front of the cabins!
- "Fireside" chats and sing-alongs
- Golf in Estes Park
- Horseback Riding
- Kid's Rodeo
- Climbing wall and zip line
- Whitewater Rafting
- The "Hootenanny", a very funny "talent show" of sorts at the ranch
- Shopping in Estes Park
- Hiking
- Sitting in the Hot Tub
- Napping in the hammocks
- Square Dancing

That's really just a short list. I think we could spend several months there without coming close to doing or seeing it all. Wind River Ranch describes itself as a "Christian Family Guest Ranch", but be advised that it was recommended to our family by a Jewish friend. So don't feel like you've got to be a Christian to have your socks blessed off by a visit to WRR. Our extended family took 25 people in 2004 and 31 people in 2005 and we're headed back in 2006.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch

Address: 5770 South St. Vrain, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wind River Ranch is an all inclusive resort property that appeals to each family member. We invite you to read our reviews on TripAdvisor and hear why our guests not only love the investment they made in their family, but also why they choose to return again and again to WRR. This is a unique and very special family dude ranch experience and a mountaintop experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch Hotel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.