We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colorado Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colorado Cottages
Save
You added Colorado Cottages to your Saves list
1241 High Drive, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming Comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I was very ecstatic to see reasonable pricing at Colorado Cottages. When I saw what I got for my money, my jaw hit the floor. Owners, Jared & Kim, have created a charming and comfortable retreat! The cottages are adorable, cleaner than any mountain hotel, and have more amenities than I could use in a weekend! It is a home away from home! Stocked with a fireplace, fridge, microwave, stove, tv, DVD player, fans, extra blankets, extra pillows, coffee maker, books, movies, dishes... it was more than anticipated!!! That is just the interior of the cabin. Each cabin had private seating outside and both a gas and charcoal grill. There is a nice playground with a sandbox for children, hot tub for relaxing after long hikes in the Park, a horseshoe pit, a bonfire every night for making s'mores, and a serene water feature in the garden. I fell in love with the cabins, had great conversations with the friendly owners, and (as I mentioned earlier) was thrilled with the price! I can't wait to go back; thanks Jared & Kim!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
livinginestes, Owner at Colorado Cottages, responded to this review, October 5, 2014
We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at Colorado Cottages and you found cottage to be so clean and well appointed! We really enjoyed meeting you and chatting during our campfire! We hope you have an opportunity to visit Estes Park and our cottages again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
52
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edwardsville, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Our 1st visit to RMNP and we found colorado cottages on trip adivisor. The cottages are very clean and we enjoyed the flexiblity of cooking our own meals. Jared and Kim, the new owners, are very gracious and tend to every need. Location was excellent, easy access to laundry, market, and RMNP, yet removed from downtown Estes Park. My family enjoyed the hot tob, smores, horse shoes, and the free movie slection. We stayed in the Hummingbird, and "hopped" to one of the other cabins due to availabilty. Dollar for Dollar, you cannot go wrong with Colorado cottages! A true gem, with great accessibitly! One note, bring your own pillow if you are picky and extra blankets due to cool evenings.(no a/c, not an issue in july) Great Stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I was extremely satisfied with my 2 nights stay at this place. Wood lily or blue bird would be perfect for 2 people. They have a BBQ grill for each cottages, and they have a common jacuzzi in the middle of the property, I saw some people enjoying in it :)
Also, they have a little bonfire in the evenings for people to come and gather, like a small socializing event. The staff/owners were very very nice people, and I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants to visit the Rocky mountains.

Also, Estes park downtown is a few miles away and it's a very interesting place to go for shopping/dining/etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We visited Rocky Mountain National Park and this was our base camp. We had a great experience here. We stayed in cottage #11 chickadee. This was a cute and cozy cottage with everything we possibly needed. There was a room with a queen size bed in the front and then the living room with dining table and kitchen area. The bathroom was off the kitchen. This cottage feels very spacious and bright, and is very comfortable. There was a futon and a t.v., and a full kitchen which was great for cooking our own meals. Everything was decorated in a moose theme which fit perfectly with the surroundings. The bathroom was small but very functional. I never felt there was anything missing in the bathroom as well as in the rest of the cottage. The owners are very nice and plan on making renovations and improvements which will make this place even better. There is a picnic table and a charcoal grill outside. We saw elk and hummingbirds around our cabin every morning which made the experience feel like we were in a fairy tale. I highly recommend these cottages to couples and families visiting the area. We plan on coming back to this place some time soon.

Room Tip: all rooms have kitchens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty Lake
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed 4th of July weekend in the large 2 bedroom cottage and it was fantastic. It had everything we needed to cook our own meals. The location was great; far enough away from the hustle & bustle of downtown Estes Park and very short drive to RMNP for hiking. Owners were very nice and accomodating. I would definetly come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

PROS:
Really homey! Stayed in #11, the Chickadee cottage! All the cottages has names.
Clean inside & out. This cottage is just perfect for us, not too big, not too small, not too fancy.
It is very accessible to everything, even Rocky Mountain National Park.
You can brew coffee and cook your food, but who does that!
Queen bed for the tired and weary!
Free Wi-Fi; Non-smoking cottage; Cable and DVD player.

CONS:
If you're 300-400lbs, you cannot fit in the cutest bathroom.
Bring your lavatory amenities.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed just one night at the time the old owners were handing over to the new owners, both couples were very friendly & welcoming & we enjoyed chatting with them & other guests at the bonfire although there were no smores & we were disappointed that we missed out on those.

The cabin was very small & basic & whilst appreciating the history & the "theme" of the property, we felt it was in need of some tlc. It was very clean & cosily furnished. We did not light the fire nor put the heater on which was a mistake because although the bed was comfy the linens did not keep us warm that night - we discovered extra blankets etc in a drawer next morning.

Overall, we enjoyed the experience but would probably not stay for more than a couple of nights.

We do wish the new owners every success & the old owners a happy retirement!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colorado Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colorado Cottages

Address: 1241 High Drive, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time when you stay at our charming cottages. Kitchenettes, fireplaces, Wi-Fi, HBO, Hot tub, & inviting decor. "Your home away from home" in beautiful Estes Park, Colorado! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Colorado Cottages Hotel Estes Park
Colorado Cottages Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colorado Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.