We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, cozy, family-oriented, and affordable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colorado Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colorado Cottages
Save
You added Colorado Cottages to your Saves list
1241 High Drive, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
suzy42
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quiet, cozy, family-oriented, and affordable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We loved Colorado Cottages. John and Carolyn are great hosts, the cottages are small but clean, and it's just a great value. If you can't afford the luxury condos in the area and want to be close to the RMNP entrance, this is a great choice. It's not tucked away in the woods, but it feels like it because there's minimal traffic on the road in the evenings. Super quiet and safe. Smores and a bonfire every night. :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
51
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mpls, MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

This was a fun and enjoyable place to stay. Very unique. Small, cozy cottages, placed near one another like a little community. The unit we had had the bedroom in the front porch, so fresh air came through the screened windows for enjoyable sleeping all night long. John and Carolyn are both so personable, are on-site nearly all the time and are super helpful. Seems like they really enjoy operating the cottages. They're even around after-hours for smores by the fire with their guests right around nightfall. Only about a dozen units, so the guests seem pretty relaxed and friendly with one another. A fun and safe spot to come and go from while around Rocky Mtn Nat'l Park.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

John and Carolyn are top notch hosts and are constantly upgrading their cottages based on customer input. Families and couples alike can relax in their cozy cottages, in the hot tub under the biggest silver maple I've ever seen, OR by the nightly campfire with smores and conversation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arkansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Our family recently spent a week here and I have to say we enjoyed it SO much! The cottages are very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the hot tub after a day spent rafting. We all loved the campfire nights, visiting and making smores :) But most important, John and Carolyn and Dharma the cottage dog made us feel at home there. We feel we made friends for life. We are already making plans to stay there next year!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Bluff, Missouri
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Me and 3 of my friends stayed here over labor day weekend on our journey to climb Longs Peak. After driving all night from Missouri we arrived in Estes Park around 10:00 AM and checked right into our room. Which just happened to be the Longs Peak room. The cottage which was the top floor of a duplex had a large room with two beds, a nice living space and a small kitchen and bath. All was in great shape and clean. We went to a local grocery store to stock the kitchen. We cooked and BBQ'ed every night of our trip (we stayed 3 nights). Colorado Cottages is located just a couple miles from the entrance of Rocky Mountain National Park and the same from downtown Estes Park. This is a great place and I will stay here again if given the chance.

Room Tip: Book well in advance and try to stay away from holiday's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Colorado Cottages is a gem! Very reasonably priced and the owners were SO hospitable! They took the time to give us some information about the area and a restaurant recommendation for the evening. The cottage itself was perfectly clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay so much and hope to return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Great low key cabins at a great price. John and Carolyn are very friendly and host a campfire with marshmallows every night. You are better suited to enjoy the great outdoors in one of their amazing cabins than paying more for a hotel with no view. I hope to go back every year!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
livinginestes, Owner at Colorado Cottages, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
We have wanted to thank all of our guests for taking the time to write a review for our cottages for some time now. THANK YOU for your kind words and constructive criticism. We learn from the reviews and always strive to do better. Also, we wanted to be sure to let our guests know that we do enjoy nightly campfires , complete with "s'more fixins'", between Memorial Day and Labor Day. We hope to see you there! Thank you, once again, to everyone who has taken the time to post reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colorado Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colorado Cottages

Address: 1241 High Drive, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time when you stay at our charming cottages. Kitchenettes, fireplaces, Wi-Fi, HBO, Hot tub, & inviting decor. "Your home away from home" in beautiful Estes Park, Colorado! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Colorado Cottages Hotel Estes Park
Colorado Cottages Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colorado Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.