We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coyote Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Coyote Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Coyote Mountain Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1340 Big Thompson Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Clean and Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Coyote Mountain Lodge was a cheap, clean, and friendly place to stay in a town where many hotels were pricey. I think we paid $59 for a small --not premium-room. There was a refrigerator, and we got good, free wi-fi. Since we were spending all our time at Garden of the Gods and seeing the town and the mountains, we didn't need an uptown sort of place.

There was no coffeepot in the room, but in the front office was a great-room with a fantastic view and nice comfy seating. The staff made coffee whenever we needed it!

The bathrooms were somewhat dated in style, but immaculately clean. Comfortable beds with fluffy pillows and a desk and a couple of chairs completed the room. Closet space was minimal, but for our purposes, it was fine.

If you planned to stay a week or so, you might ask for a larger room with a better view of the mountain.

Room Tip: Consider the room size and view if those things are important to your trip. Our room had no microw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    97
    35
    18
    7
See reviews for
73
94
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I traveled to Estes Park for a wedding, being that it wasn't 'our' actual vacation, we wanted to save some money and bring our dog along. I would recommend this stay for anyone looking for decently priced rooms in Estes!

Room Tip: Some helpful room tips: Rooms are recently updated. A/C unit made a lot of noise. Clean. Allowed dog...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We didn't have a reservation and we were glad to have a bed at Coyote. The bed was amazingly comfy and the views were nice. The room was cramped and outdated and there was no phone in our room. Also, we couldn't get the wifi to work. Overall, not bad.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Booking was very easy. I paid a very reasonable price for three nights. The lodge has a nice heated pool and the premises is kept clean. The mattresses could have been better, and there is no breakfast, so I think they can offer the low rate because of that. Overall, I had a great experience with Coyote Mountain Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Our family likes to watch the 4th of July fireworks over the lake in Estes Park and finding a reasonably priced motel room in the summer is challenging. We stayed at the Coyote Mountain Lodge for the first time this year and were delighted. It's a vintage motor lodge with fresh paint, beds and carpet. There is always coffee and tea in the welcoming lobby and the owners/front desk staff are friendly and helpful. Also, it is centrally located and right on the free shuttle route. We were able to stay for 2 nights for the price we usually pay for 1 at other places. We didn't know there was a pool so didn't bring swim suits but the pool looked great and people seemed to be enjoying it. Dogs are welcome and there is parking for large vehicles around back. It is a basic, clean place and everything we'd hoped for. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed one night before 4th of July and it was great. The location was perfect and close to everything for a great price. The staff was extremely knowledgeable and very nice. The room was spacious with a smaller bathroom that was vintage but perfectly fine for a couple.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The price was very reasonable for Estes Park, and the bed was comfortable. But the WiFi barely worked (except at around 6:00 AM), and there were few accessible outlets for plugging in any chargers or electronic equipment. Our air conditioner worked fine, but the curtains hung down low and partially blocked it. I noticed that some people used paper clips to hold the curtains up. Breakfast was nothing fancy but ok for us - just packets of oatmeal. We did not use the pool or hot tub.

The staff seemed friendly, and the lobby area was very pleasant. There is a computer there with better internet connectivity. But eventually we got so frustrated with trying to use our own tablets that we went to the public library. Fast and free internet!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Coyote Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyote Mountain Lodge

Address: 1340 Big Thompson Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#17 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Coyote Mountain Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine resting and relaxing on your special vacation, enjoying the majestic peaks of Rocky Mountain National Park in the background. Coyote Mountain Lodge is the place to be enjoying the cool mountain breeze as you unwind from that day of hiking in the park. We are located on the north side of Lake Estes. We have 39 hotel rooms, hot tub, heated swimming pool, playground, grills, picnic tables, free wireless internet access and we offer complimentary coffee and other hot beverages in the morning for our guests. Coyote Mountain Lodge accepts pets and is a non-smoking facility. Upgraded rooms have microwaves and refrigerators. We have a banquet/reunion room that can hold up to 120 people. There is a large deck that overlooks the peaks of the National Park. Catering is available. Coyote Mountain Lodge is surrounded by activities for our guests to enjoy. Activities include boating and fishing on Lake Estes, golf, horseback riding, hiking, shopping, dining, putt putt golf, go carts, rafting, and visiting Rocky Mountain National Park with its 400 miles of hiking trails and awesome drives to the tundra on the top of the continental divide. When visiting Estes Park you will find that your visit is never long enough. We would love to have you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Coyote Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bighorn Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Bighorn Mountain Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coyote Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.