We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coyote Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Coyote Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Coyote Mountain Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1340 Big Thompson Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great price, great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here while visiting Rocky Mountain NP. The room was very clean and we slept well on the comfortable bed. The furniture was dated, but it was in nice shape. They offer coffee, tea, and oatmeal in the morning. The only problem we had was with the furnace. It was on when we arrived so the room was very hot. We were told to turn our thermostat down and it would turn it off but it didn't. Opening the window and running the AC kept the room comfortable. Overall great value for Estes Park!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    92
    34
    18
    7
See reviews for
70
91
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, mn
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We have stayed twice. If you are looking for a bed to sleep in and a comfortable place this fits the bill perfectly. Some rooms are being updated, but they are clean and comfortable with good access. Its nice and quiet here, the staff is always pretty friendly. The rates seem to fluctuate depending on availability, we stayed at $79. and were satisfied with the stay. Will go back!

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room, around the bend. Call and book ahead, and forget finding a place on the wee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This property is well worth considering. It is priced below most of the competition. The owners and staff are welcoming and seem to be constantly improving the rooms. Ours was not one of the recently renovated, but it was lovely and clean. The bed was new and cosy, the walls seem freshly painted and the attempts to make guests comfortable are noticeable. We recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My family and I recently took a 10 day trip and stayed in 7 different hotels. The Coyote Mountain Lodge was by far the worst hotel we stayed in. The beds were so hard I could hardly sleep. My shoulders were sore the next day from trying lay on them on the bed. To the hotel's credit they did refund us the money for the second night we were supposed to stay. I could not subject my body to the torture again so we changed our plans and left Estes Park early because of the night we had.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The reviews are accurate. This is a retro.....fixer upper for a great price. We paid $69 a night- 5 night stay. You could tell they were working to fix up the property, but it never disturbed us. The pool was closed due to repair, but it was too cold to swim....so no big deal. The room was very clean....carpet I definitely could walk barefoot on and not worry about scum on it. It had a mini fridge......older TV....comfy queen bed, and dependable maid service. The office staff were very friendly and professional. My only suggestion, and the reason for my 4 rating, is that when you take a shower.....its like being at home when someone flushes the toilet and hot water scolds you or cold water freezes you......on steroids. I didn't care for that......but I dealt with it and I would definitely stay there again. I would also suggest mounting the TV and setting a microwave oven in the room. That would have been an improvement for not that much. It was a quiet stay and we never heard our neighbors....very quiet, friendly, clean, comfy, and worth the savings. But if you are a princess.....probably not your deal :)

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poteau, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

This older motel has been well maintained and is very clean. Staff was friendly. Breakfast of oatmeal and coffee was perfect for us. The view from our room was beautiful and one morning walked up on a fox passing through just behind our room! There is a walking/biking trail that will take you to the downtown area or just a short walk to the lake. So many elk were spotted IN TOWN during our stay. For advice on things to do, stop in the visitors center.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I will say that it had a good view and all of the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room however was terrible. It was extremely small and dirty. You could see light the entire way around the door and there were bugs in the room. The bathroom floor was noticeably sloped and felt like it was coming apart from the rest of the room. The walls are paper thin and I got no sleep because I could hear other guests making noise and talking in their rooms. I will not stay here again.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coyote Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyote Mountain Lodge

Address: 1340 Big Thompson Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Coyote Mountain Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine resting and relaxing on your special vacation, enjoying the majestic peaks of Rocky Mountain National Park in the background. Coyote Mountain Lodge is the place to be enjoying the cool mountain breeze as you unwind from that day of hiking in the park. We are located on the north side of Lake Estes. We have 39 hotel rooms, hot tub, heated swimming pool, playground, grills, picnic tables, free wireless internet access and we offer complimentary coffee and other hot beverages in the morning for our guests. Coyote Mountain Lodge accepts pets and is a non-smoking facility. Upgraded rooms have microwaves and refrigerators. We have a banquet/reunion room that can hold up to 120 people. There is a large deck that overlooks the peaks of the National Park. Catering is available. Coyote Mountain Lodge is surrounded by activities for our guests to enjoy. Activities include boating and fishing on Lake Estes, golf, horseback riding, hiking, shopping, dining, putt putt golf, go carts, rafting, and visiting Rocky Mountain National Park with its 400 miles of hiking trails and awesome drives to the tundra on the top of the continental divide. When visiting Estes Park you will find that your visit is never long enough. We would love to have you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coyote Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bighorn Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Bighorn Mountain Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coyote Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.