We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Perfect Place to stay in Estes Park” (the rooms have been renovated, everything is new)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coyote Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Coyote Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coyote Mountain Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1340 Big Thompson Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 30 hotels in Estes Park
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
““Perfect Place to stay in Estes Park” (the rooms have been renovated, everything is new)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Great value and fantastic service! Easy to find and easy to find a park. Walking distance to restaurants, a short drive to downtown Estes Park.
There is no reason to stay anywhere else in Estes Park when you could stay here. The rooms are clean and have everything you need with high quality soap products, but what really sets this place apart is the staff. This place has a valuable product in a great mountain town and instead of trying to gouge their guests they keep things affordable and seem to really care about the people staying in their lodge. This is my new go to place to stay in Estes Park.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review!

We truly care about our guests comfort and experiences while staying with us!
We take pride in our outstanding staff members and believe customer service is a top priority.

We saved this property from foreclosure and have been updating during the slow seasons. As we remodel our goal is to keep prices as low as possible in a resort town like Estes Park.

Thank you and we hope you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    82
    25
    17
    6
See reviews for
61
78
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband was working in estes park. He wanted his family to come and spend a night with him. We asked for the best place for our large family. We didn't have any pets but they do welcome them. Jessica suggested condo 1. What a great choice. My daughters shared the back bedroom, my sons slept on the roll out couch. We had plenty of room. None of my kids were in each other ways. We are thinking about coming back and spend more time here. Very nice. We really enjoyed playing with Sadie. Thanks for all your help.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review! We are glad you had a wonderful time staying at Coyote and look forward to you staying with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We spent the weekend up in Estes Park for my sister's 40th birthday and the town is EXPENSIVE! We stopped at two other motels that were both charging around $100 / night which was above our budget. The Coyote had a sign that read $59 so we stopped.

This property is a total throwback to the good ol' days of road tripping in the station wagon and it's great! The staff was really friendly, unlike the other two places we checked, the lobby and office are newly remodeled. They explained that there are new owners and that they are remodeling the the motel rooms as well.

We checked a few rooms and they were all very quaint and clean. The two rooms we rented were great, very comfortable mattresses, very clean. Sure, it's nostalgic but both of our rooms had new bathrooms, pretty much everything was new. My understanding is that there were even cheaper rooms that were not remodeled but they were all taken.

I read some of the other reviews before writing this and all I can say is that if you're on a budget and are not willing to spend $100 per night you should be happy that there's an alternative in Estes Park.

Oh and they have a great hot tub that was perfect after our cold hike.

I really think that the best park was the friendly staff. Believe it or not, the other front desk people at the other more expensive motels were rude and unfriendly. The Coyote was down to earth, cozy, real and homey as was the price. We'll stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: Chose a new room if available but even the older rooms are probably fine relative to the over priced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review!
We are in the process of remodeling our rooms while still trying to keep the retro / vintage vibe from when the motel was built. We are glad that we were able to make your stay in Estes Park enjoyable. We take pride in our wonderful staff and the little things we can do to make your stay great!

Thank you and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

had a remodeled room. Cost is extra for that-- Room was nice enough, but... the heater had NOT been updated and did not work at all. Had to get 2 space heaters from the front desk. When we let them know the heat did not work? the response was "oh, isn't there a space heater in there?" so... they were aware that the heat did not work. So.... a bit of a mixed bag. Nice front desk and nice room overall, but... heat is rather important when it's below freezing outside.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us! We apologize for the heater, we were in the process of replacing it but had to wait for the vacancy to install it. It has since been replaced. We also like to offer a variety of rooms (suites, remodeled rooms, retro rooms, condos and so on) at different costs to fit the needs of our guests.
Thanks and we hope to have you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Staff were friendly enough, and the front desk and lobby was neat and clean. But the room was very dirty. The carpet was filthy, the bathtub nasty, the vent full of spider webs and dirt. Its pink sink was chipped. The bed was nice but it took up the entire room. Not a great value for what we paid.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We have spoken with our housekeeping staff of this issue. If you would have told us of this after you checked in we would have happily given you a different room and had that one cleaned immediately. We are also in the process of updating our bathrooms over the winter. Our staff are always willing to accommodate our guests so please feel free to ask for a newly remodeled room and/or a more spacious room! We hope to have you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Room was very outdated and had spiderwebs in corners along with moths all in room and under the bed covers. The batbroom was tiny and the door opened up to rest against a wall mounted propane heater that very well could have caught our room on fire. The tub was cracked and had chunks of enamel missing from it and I wasn't able to bathe my child in it. Overall very unhappy.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your valued feedback. If you would have told us of this during your stay we would have happily given you a different room. Thank you for notifying us of the moths, we have since remedied this. We are also in the process of updating our bathrooms. Our staff is always willing to accommodate our guests so please feel free to ask for a newly remodeled room! We hope to have you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasschaat, Belgium
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here in september, our room was spacious, clean and we even ha a sofa to sit on.
We made ourself a pick-nick outside , becaus there is a big pick-nicktable you can use.
Sraff where very friendly

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for your kind review! We take pride in our gracious friendly staff and always appreciate your business. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coyote Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyote Mountain Lodge

Address: 1340 Big Thompson Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Coyote Mountain Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine resting and relaxing on your special vacation, enjoying the majestic peaks of Rocky Mountain National Park in the background. Coyote Mountain Lodge is the place to be enjoying the cool mountain breeze as you unwind from that day of hiking in the park. We are located on the north side of Lake Estes. We have 39 hotel rooms, hot tub, heated swimming pool, playground, grills, picnic tables, free wireless internet access and we offer complimentary coffee and other hot beverages in the morning for our guests. Coyote Mountain Lodge accepts pets and is a non-smoking facility. Upgraded rooms have microwaves and refrigerators. We have a banquet/reunion room that can hold up to 120 people. There is a large deck that overlooks the peaks of the National Park. Catering is available. Coyote Mountain Lodge is surrounded by activities for our guests to enjoy. Activities include boating and fishing on Lake Estes, golf, horseback riding, hiking, shopping, dining, putt putt golf, go carts, rafting, and visiting Rocky Mountain National Park with its 400 miles of hiking trails and awesome drives to the tundra on the top of the continental divide. When visiting Estes Park you will find that your visit is never long enough. We would love to have you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Coyote Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bighorn Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Bighorn Mountain Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coyote Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;