We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coyote Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Coyote Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coyote Mountain Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1340 Big Thompson Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 29 hotels in Estes Park
Berlin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Basically Coyote Mountain Lodge was one of the greatest hotel/hospitality experiences we've ever had. We were completely stranded in Estes Park for 3 days due to the flooding in Colorado. Sadie and her mother basically helped us in every manner possible and then some. They let us use their dryers to dry our completely soaked clothing (we tried camping in the Rocky Mountains the night before to pretty disastrous results). They let us use their phone to make important phone calls, direct us to where ever they thought we could get help, and even arranged for someone to give us a ride over the mountains (the only road out of town at that point). We would have never caught our flight out of Colorado otherwise.

We should also mention we had a great room for a cheap price, and basically everything we needed there. We just wanted to say thanks and let everyone know that this place really saved us when we were desperate. We can't recommend it enough.

John and Anneli

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you so much for you lovely review! Our ultimate goal is for guests to leave as happy as you. Thank you for letting us make your stay as comfortable as possible. Our staff loves to help anyway they can and appreciates your complements. We hope to have you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    78
    21
    16
    6
See reviews for
57
72
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
McComb, Ohio
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We booked this motel for two nights based on the other recommendations posted of Trip Advisor. I must admit we were disappointed with the property as it was outdated and in need of some upgrades. We got a king room and it was hard to move around because of the limited space. I had a difficult time trying to maintain the temperature in the room as the A/C didn't seem to blow cold air during the warmer part of the day. The heating unit in the room seemed to be generating heat even with the thermostat set low which should have shut it off.

Our room was at the far end of the property and the so called wireless internet connection was spotty and several times I had to go outside to pick up a signal. I complained to the front desk about this and they said the recent flooding had impacted their wi-fi so I'll give them the benefit of the doubt. They were still in recovery mode in Estes Park from the recent flooding and I'll give the place credit for trying to help out the local residents who had been flooded out of their homes.

Room Tip: If you can't lift your luggage stay on first floor as no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Following the disastrous flooding of two weeks ago, Estes Park, Colorado has been virtually isolated at a most in opportune time.......the peak fall tourist season with the annual elk rut!!

Because of the flooding, a normal hour drive from just north of Denver, has become a three hour adventure! All of Rocky Mtn Nat'l Park's campgrounds have closed for the season, as well as the seven private campgrounds in the Estes Park area......to my point......the hosts refused to charge me anything to park my camper on a nice level area next to their lodge....just asked if I would mention it on TRIP ADVISOR. Thank you Coyote management!!
Bob--a "happy camper"

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Roomy unit, older in styling, but well maintained. Friendly helpful front desk. Good location, just outside of the downtown area. Free parking. Had a jaccuzi & pool that we did not use. We stayed here on the run-up to July 4, so peak of tourist season. Rate for this time was $89/night. Considering season and tourist location, rate was competitive. Recommended.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your nice review!
We always appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Booked a vintage room as we were staying in multiple hotels and motels. This was an interesting choice. It would have been OK but we had no fridge. Now, that was disappointing, given that I generally expect a fridge, more so in less expensive places.
That being said, the room was clean and tidy and the staff helpful. The rest of Estes Park was fully booked, so I was very pleased to have a room at a good price!
Nothing else to say really.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us! We offer a variety of rooms to fit the needs of our many different guests. We do offer rooms with a refrigerator and microwave and/or remodeled rooms for a small charge. Our retro rooms are more budget friendly. Thanks and we hope to have you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed in a vintage queen room for $59. Check-in was quick and very friendly. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. The bathroom is dated, but everything was spotless. The only drawback was some of the wallpaper was peeling. They do have a pool and a hot tub we did not use. It is an easy walk down the hill into town, just over a mile. We would definitely stay here again. There is no breakfast, but Safeway and McDonalds are just down the road.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompton Lakes, New Jersey, Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very nice motel, rooms are extremely clean, very affordable, great location! Minutes away from downtown Estes Park and lakes, very close to the Rocky Mountains.
The staff is extremely polite and friendly.
Will definitely recommend this place to family or friends.
We traveled during the recent rain storm which washed a half of the town into the river and the owners were extremely helpful, making sure to accommodate everyone, they went above and beyond to advise the people of current situation and making all arrangements to keep people safe during the storm.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coyote Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyote Mountain Lodge

Address: 1340 Big Thompson Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Coyote Mountain Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine resting and relaxing on your special vacation, enjoying the majestic peaks of Rocky Mountain National Park in the background. Coyote Mountain Lodge is the place to be enjoying the cool mountain breeze as you unwind from that day of hiking in the park. We are located on the north side of Lake Estes. We have 39 hotel rooms, hot tub, heated swimming pool, playground, grills, picnic tables, free wireless internet access and we offer complimentary coffee and other hot beverages in the morning for our guests. Coyote Mountain Lodge accepts pets and is a non-smoking facility. Upgraded rooms have microwaves and refrigerators. We have a banquet/reunion room that can hold up to 120 people. There is a large deck that overlooks the peaks of the National Park. Catering is available. Coyote Mountain Lodge is surrounded by activities for our guests to enjoy. Activities include boating and fishing on Lake Estes, golf, horseback riding, hiking, shopping, dining, putt putt golf, go carts, rafting, and visiting Rocky Mountain National Park with its 400 miles of hiking trails and awesome drives to the tundra on the top of the continental divide. When visiting Estes Park you will find that your visit is never long enough. We would love to have you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Coyote Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bighorn Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Bighorn Mountain Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coyote Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.