We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coyote Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Coyote Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Coyote Mountain Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1340 Big Thompson Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Montgomery, Alabama
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed in a vintage queen room for $59. Check-in was quick and very friendly. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. The bathroom is dated, but everything was spotless. The only drawback was some of the wallpaper was peeling. They do have a pool and a hot tub we did not use. It is an easy walk down the hill into town, just over a mile. We would definitely stay here again. There is no breakfast, but Safeway and McDonalds are just down the road.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    91
    33
    18
    7
See reviews for
69
89
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pompton Lakes, New Jersey, Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very nice motel, rooms are extremely clean, very affordable, great location! Minutes away from downtown Estes Park and lakes, very close to the Rocky Mountains.
The staff is extremely polite and friendly.
Will definitely recommend this place to family or friends.
We traveled during the recent rain storm which washed a half of the town into the river and the owners were extremely helpful, making sure to accommodate everyone, they went above and beyond to advise the people of current situation and making all arrangements to keep people safe during the storm.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I agree with the other reviews. We stayed on Sunday night of the Labor Day weekend and paid a decent price in a tourist town on a very busy weekend. We stayed in an un-renovated room, but it was clean and comfortable (although the bathroom is tiny). We were missing most of the towels, but the front desk took care of us very quickly and so it wasn't a big deal.

Since we were planning on being in the national park early the next morning, we didn't have time to take care of any of the amenities, but maybe will be able to do so next time.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We booked this hotel online because of the great deal $69 plus tax. It was the perfect location in Estes Park! It was my husband, 3 year old son and myself staying. The room we booked was the retro room and yes, it was older, but perfect for our one night stay. We had 2 beds that were comfortable. There was an air conditioner. We swam in the heated pool where you had a lovely mountain view. The staff was very friendly. This hotel is just down the road from Safeway grocery store, you could walk on the path outside if you wanted to. The visitor center was about a mile away and you could get on a free trolley that would drop you off at sites in town. It was the perfect place to stay and the price was great considering most of the other motels right next door were $100 or more. It was very quiet and we felt very safe. Thank you Coyote Mountain Lodge for a good night stay while on our journey into the Rocky Mountains!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to check the online price. The sign may say one price and online is usually chea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Vermont, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Brenda was fabulous, very friendly and helpful. Great location and value. We stayed in an un-renovated room. The only complaints were for the thin walls and loud air conditioning.
I wished the windows opened more for the fresh cool mountain air at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I agree with everyone--staff is very helpful, answered all your questions, gave tips on restaurants and attraction, directions, helped printing out boarding pass, etc...Housekeeper is however very forgetful. One day it's the towels, then soap/shower gel, then lotion. We kept having to ask for these items that we expect to be replenished daily. Dirt and grimes from hiking got to be washed off, correct? The room is typical lodge room. We had an updated room with remodeled bathroom and newer bedding, It's adequate and functional. It's near the lake and we had frequent sightings of elks lounging/strolling to nearby meadow.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Friendly, helpful staff! Stayed in an updated room with 2 queen beds for 2 nights. Very clean but a little cramped, curtains on back window around AC unit didn't close completely. Short walk to the lake and about a mile from visitor center/downtown. Outdoor pool and hot tub were nice.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coyote Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyote Mountain Lodge

Address: 1340 Big Thompson Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Coyote Mountain Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine resting and relaxing on your special vacation, enjoying the majestic peaks of Rocky Mountain National Park in the background. Coyote Mountain Lodge is the place to be enjoying the cool mountain breeze as you unwind from that day of hiking in the park. We are located on the north side of Lake Estes. We have 39 hotel rooms, hot tub, heated swimming pool, playground, grills, picnic tables, free wireless internet access and we offer complimentary coffee and other hot beverages in the morning for our guests. Coyote Mountain Lodge accepts pets and is a non-smoking facility. Upgraded rooms have microwaves and refrigerators. We have a banquet/reunion room that can hold up to 120 people. There is a large deck that overlooks the peaks of the National Park. Catering is available. Coyote Mountain Lodge is surrounded by activities for our guests to enjoy. Activities include boating and fishing on Lake Estes, golf, horseback riding, hiking, shopping, dining, putt putt golf, go carts, rafting, and visiting Rocky Mountain National Park with its 400 miles of hiking trails and awesome drives to the tundra on the top of the continental divide. When visiting Estes Park you will find that your visit is never long enough. We would love to have you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coyote Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bighorn Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Bighorn Mountain Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coyote Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.