We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brynwood on the River

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Brynwood on the River to your Saves list
Brynwood on the River
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   710 Moraine Avenue, P.O. Box 1929, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Washingon, Kansas, United States
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed in the Americana cabin and was very pleased. The cabin was clean and adequate. The kitchenette and gas grill came in very handy in preparing meals. The screened porch was great for early mornings and evenings. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    27
    10
    7
    8
See reviews for
57
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were given a huge room as there were four of us gals staying. It was a great experience. It was very clean and the staff was amazing. The microwave and fridge were a nice addition as was the gas grill and the small porch outside our room. We will definitely stay here again when we visit Estes Park.

Room Tip: Highly recommend room #14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliance, Nebraska
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in the Brynwood motel. The price was reasonable compared to other lodging in Estes. The room was clean and the beds were nice and firm. The kitchenette was nice to have for breakfast. The heated pool and hot tub were very relaxing. It has a bit of a 70s vibe to it, but cleanliness always trumps decor in my book. You are in town, so don't expect a "wilderness" experience. However, there is a nice stream that is easy to walk to. It is also close to shopping and dining. Staff were very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed in the "Americana" cabin, a cozy place decorated in red, white and blue. We were two single women traveling together, so were very happy with the security and cleanliness of the cabin. The visits by local wildlife were an added bonus! Very nice!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roanoke
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

In the opinions of my wife and I (both seniors), this was probably the best hotel of 11 we stayed in during our recent road trip to the west from our home in Virginia. Our hotel room, named "Columbine" was very clean and interestingly "theme" decorated, we felt very safe there, and the town of Estes Park is extremely interesting, scenic, and seemingly safe. We talked at length with two of the hotel owners in the lobby and were convinced that both were sincerely friendly and aimed to please us. In all, we had a very pleasant experience that was well worth the modest amount that we paid for the room. One of the other hotels that we stayed at on this trip was on the "other side" of the Rocky Mountain National Park in Grand Lake and we strongly recommend Estes Park of the two towns for restaurant and hotel selection, our perception of safety, and options for shopping.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Brynwood is a perfect combination of comfortable and rustic. The location is quiet enough to sit by the river and read, but close enough to town that a bite to eat is never too far away. One night a group of visitors stood outside by the resort entrance to observe a bear climbing a tree across the road. And our last morning a gang of elk were sleeping just feet away from our cabin. We had been warned about unwanted wildlife encounters, namely ferocious badgers, but we never saw any sign of them. Our time at the Brynwood was filled with positive experiences. Anyone looking for the full Estes Park experience should include a stay at the Brynwood in their vacation plans.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Michigan
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Booked late and not many options available in Estes for August. Was hoping for the Glacier Lodge which we loved (look that one up if you can) and this was the closest atmosphere I could get, by the river, log cabin. But the beds were uncomfortable, the hide a bed terrible, the common area so cramped, but it was clean, it was fine. We enjoyed the Elk hanging out on property, and the river was pretty. The furniture inside was uncomfortable and the screened porch furniture was three cheap lawn chairs that were horribly uncomfortable. The swing doesn't work, the grounds are minimal, the pool was small but clean. So it is fine, but compared to Glacier which has more charm, campfires, better river location and nicer accommodations, we were disappointed. The best part about it was walking to the Tiny Town Mini Golf, Smoken Dave's BBQ and Trout Haven, so for location, that was kind of fun.

Room Tip: We were in Sea Galley or something like that, and it was a good location with a nice hot tub. I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrynwoodontheRiver, Owner at Brynwood on the River, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
First we want the thank you for your review...they really help us to better our customer's experience here at Brynwood! We were surprised that you thought the beds were uncomfortable! We have guests tell us all the time what great beds we have, in fact, a couple of resorts have called us about where we got our beds after being told how great they are by some of our guests who had to stay elsewhere when we couldn't accommodate them! Our beds were all replaced in 2011 and 2012. The hide-a-beds we use ONLY for children, because we feel they are never comfortable for adults! I'm hoping that was not our error when you reserved, because we tell people that when making the reservation...that hide-a-bed was brand new in 2012.
The furniture in the cabin was updated in May of this year with new dinette table and chairs, new side chairs and tables! We are sorry you didn't care for them.
We had to come up with the lawn chairs when the regular ones were discovered missing! We were scrambling to find some...and admit they were "extras" we had to accommodate larger groups that we store under the motel, they are not the standard.
Thanks for the heads-up on the swing!!! Our manager said he can fix it...no one has told us that it had stopped swinging!
We do have a great location half way between downtown Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park. Our goal is to provide you a "home away from home" and your suggestions certainly help us with this endeavor! Thanks for noticing how hard our housekeeping staff works on service and cleanliness! We truly want your Rocky Mountain experience to be a positive one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brynwood on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brynwood on the River

Address: 710 Moraine Avenue, P.O. Box 1929, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brynwood on the River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brynwood has theme cabins, motel and vacation homes at the mouth of Rocky Mountain National Park, one mile from Estes Park. Some cabins are right on the Big Thompson River, have fireplaces and private hot tubs. We have a heated pool, hot tub and wading pool area. We offer cleanliness, a home away from home atmosphere with free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Brynwood on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brynwood On The River Hotel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brynwood on the River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.