We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy but a little dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brynwood on the River

Save Saved
You added Brynwood on the River to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brynwood on the River
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   710 Moraine Avenue, P.O. Box 1929, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 30 hotels in Estes Park
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Cozy but a little dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We spent a lovely time at the Brynwood and our two little boys very much loved the cabin. With two bedrooms, one bathroom and an open kitchen-living room area, the cabin was just perfect for our little family. It came with a nicely working fire place which added to our comfort at nights.
While the cabin was really coyz with some nice details such as the painted doors and other decorations, we found it a bit dated, especially taking into account that it was quite pricey compared to other places were we stayed later on. The kitchen was really rather basic and could do with a new set of plates and glasses. A little brush-up and the place would be perfect.
All in all, the place was very clean and we truely enjoyed our stay - but a few days later we stayed at another cabin, at a much lower price, where everything was in perfect conditions and much better maintained - therefore I only rate it with 3 points.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    25
    10
    7
    7
See reviews for
56
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

When I had the option to rent the "Rockin River" cabin, I was a bit hesitant due to the fact that the units didn't look like they could hold a big family; Boy was I wrong! We have a teenager, a 7 yr old, a 16 month old, and then 8 month old twins and it is almost impossible to find room for us when on vacation in Estes unless we rent a home.

This cabin had 3 big beds, a fold out couch, and then had enough room left for 2 pack-n-plays. The cabin was directly at the river but the porch around the cabin was great for holding in our little eager beaver with little space between slats. The grill was big enough to cook steaks, burgers, hotdogs, and corn at the same time. The kitchen had everything we needed for our meals and everything is in the top drawers so we didn't have to worry when our toddler opened the bottom ones. The flat screen TV was great for those cartoons that typical kids have to have and it came with a Blu-Ray/DVD player. The bathroom was smart as the sink and mirror are closed off from the toilet and bath with a door but you can also close the main door and have access to both.

The manager was very sweet and had no problem lending us some condiments and even coming late at night to change the outside light and even helped us start the grill! I would, without a doubt, stay here again and very glad that my husband insisted that we rent the cabin. We will be back soon!

Room Tip: Try to get the "Rockin River" cabin or another one close to the river. The view is amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

After a lot of research, I chose Brynwood on the River for our vacation. The staff was very personable and friendly. The cabin was clean and we enjoyed our time there. The children enjoyed the outside area and the river area. Having a screened porch was an extra touch and it was nice to relax in the evening there. We did not use the gas grill but it was nice to have it there. The place is also close to town so easy access to stores, restaurants, etc. We were there during the Elk Fest. I would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I love this place. Yes, it is a bit more pricy than a cabin that is several generations old should be, but it is clean, staff is friendly, and if you stay later in the year, quiet.
I have stayed in the Cuddle Cove and Sleepy Hollow. Both are roomy enough for 2. The Cuddle Cove does slant down towards the bathroom, which can be fun to watch something roll away from you. My partner and I have stayed here two years in a row in early September to hike in Rocky Mountain National Park. This is a great location for shuttle service. The shuttle to the park is just next to the cabins on the main road. Did I mention the hot tub? After a long day hike, there is nothing better than to soak your sore limbs in a nice hot tub, even in the rain.
I would recommend this place. I have not stayed in the newer rooms, but the cabins by the pool are clean, comfortable and convenient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We did not originally choose Brynwood on the River, however we were moved to these accommodations when we had a maintenance problem with the original property we'd booked. Turns out we loved Brynwood! The owners were attentive and caring people who treated us kindly. The kitchen was modern and clean. The living room was small but had comfortable furniture and a welcome fireplace with wood provided at no extra charge. The bedrooms were quite large with comfortable mattresses - we got a very good night's sleep each night. We opened the windows each afternoon to let the cool air in and used the fireplace and heater at night. We had a private hot tub on the deck that was perfect for soaking out those sore muscles from hiking during the day. Although we never had a chance to utilize it, they have an outdoor heated pool for guests as well. The wireless internet worked well once we got the correct passwords.

The river was a short walk from our cabin. It's got a rocky shore so it's not real easy to get down to the water, but it's very peaceful to sit on the rocks near the river. A pack of coyotes ran through the property one evening, howling like crazy! We heard elk bugling in the distance each night. We'd definitely choose Brynwood on the River again.

Room Tip: A room by the river would be preferable but we'd still book here even if the cabin wasn't ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the Brynwood over Labor Day weekend and the place is spectacular! The views are amazing and the scenery is second to none! The cabins were spotless, and the Managers were overly friendly and helpful! I would highly recommend this place, we will go back each year! This is a romantic hideaway for couples or a great place for families!!

Room Tip: The Raging River cabin was charming, clean and quaint. The River noises are calming and serene!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This property is located out of the busy Estes Park downtown along a pretty river. We stayed in one of the motel rooms for a much more reasonable price than some of the other places in town. The room was very clean, had wifi and good airflow through the unit. There is an a/c unit if you need it, but we used the screen front door and opened a back window and were comfortable. This motel is very close to the entrance to the national park, so you can come and go easily. This is an older property, but well kept up and the managers and employees are very friendly, helpful and approachable. Very nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brynwood on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brynwood on the River

Address: 710 Moraine Avenue, P.O. Box 1929, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brynwood on the River 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brynwood has theme cabins, motel and vacation homes at the mouth of Rocky Mountain National Park, one mile from Estes Park. Some cabins are right on the Big Thompson River, have fireplaces and private hot tubs. We have a heated pool, hot tub and wading pool area. We offer cleanliness, a home away from home atmosphere with free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Brynwood on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brynwood On The River Hotel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brynwood on the River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.