We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a cabin, a nice cabin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brynwood on the River

Save Saved
You added Brynwood on the River to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brynwood on the River
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   710 Moraine Avenue, P.O. Box 1929, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 30 hotels in Estes Park
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Its a cabin, a nice cabin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I love this place. Yes, it is a bit more pricy than a cabin that is several generations old should be, but it is clean, staff is friendly, and if you stay later in the year, quiet.
I have stayed in the Cuddle Cove and Sleepy Hollow. Both are roomy enough for 2. The Cuddle Cove does slant down towards the bathroom, which can be fun to watch something roll away from you. My partner and I have stayed here two years in a row in early September to hike in Rocky Mountain National Park. This is a great location for shuttle service. The shuttle to the park is just next to the cabins on the main road. Did I mention the hot tub? After a long day hike, there is nothing better than to soak your sore limbs in a nice hot tub, even in the rain.
I would recommend this place. I have not stayed in the newer rooms, but the cabins by the pool are clean, comfortable and convenient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    25
    10
    7
    7
See reviews for
57
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We did not originally choose Brynwood on the River, however we were moved to these accommodations when we had a maintenance problem with the original property we'd booked. Turns out we loved Brynwood! The owners were attentive and caring people who treated us kindly. The kitchen was modern and clean. The living room was small but had comfortable furniture and a welcome fireplace with wood provided at no extra charge. The bedrooms were quite large with comfortable mattresses - we got a very good night's sleep each night. We opened the windows each afternoon to let the cool air in and used the fireplace and heater at night. We had a private hot tub on the deck that was perfect for soaking out those sore muscles from hiking during the day. Although we never had a chance to utilize it, they have an outdoor heated pool for guests as well. The wireless internet worked well once we got the correct passwords.

The river was a short walk from our cabin. It's got a rocky shore so it's not real easy to get down to the water, but it's very peaceful to sit on the rocks near the river. A pack of coyotes ran through the property one evening, howling like crazy! We heard elk bugling in the distance each night. We'd definitely choose Brynwood on the River again.

Room Tip: A room by the river would be preferable but we'd still book here even if the cabin wasn't ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the Brynwood over Labor Day weekend and the place is spectacular! The views are amazing and the scenery is second to none! The cabins were spotless, and the Managers were overly friendly and helpful! I would highly recommend this place, we will go back each year! This is a romantic hideaway for couples or a great place for families!!

Room Tip: The Raging River cabin was charming, clean and quaint. The River noises are calming and serene!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This property is located out of the busy Estes Park downtown along a pretty river. We stayed in one of the motel rooms for a much more reasonable price than some of the other places in town. The room was very clean, had wifi and good airflow through the unit. There is an a/c unit if you need it, but we used the screen front door and opened a back window and were comfortable. This motel is very close to the entrance to the national park, so you can come and go easily. This is an older property, but well kept up and the managers and employees are very friendly, helpful and approachable. Very nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianola, Iowa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My husband and I recently vacationed in Estes Park and stayed at the Brynwood on the River. It is has cute little cabins that are feet from the river with beautiful views on the mountains. The managers were very nice. We loved the hikes they had recommended. The cabins are decorated with different themes. We picked the Cowboy themed cabin,it had a fireplace, a nice kitchen with all the comforts of home, and the bed was very comfortable. There was also a hotub and pool at the resort as well as a private hottub for us to relax in. We completely loved our time there and are looking forward to our next trip. I highly recommend the Brynwood.

Room Tip: Rooms closest to the river are my favorites
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The cabins are very old and outdated. No Air conditioning in any of the cabins, makes a very hot day & night. we could not sleep at all, the cabin was "terrible hot", the box floor fan they provide does nothing, if you want sleep stay at a hotel is worth it for and restful evening, the cabins are on top of each other, and to top it all off the mini blinds in the love nest have so many Gapps in them people can peek right in on your Hot tub time? floors are slanted... we stayed in the "Love nest" cabin September 2012. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrynwoodontheRiver, Owner at Brynwood on the River, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
We were so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We were a little surprised to have a negative write up on The Love Nest because it is one of our most sought after cabins. It is reserved all the time! We have never had a negative comment or write up on this cabin, nothing but rave reviews! That particular cabin has only one neighboring cabin and a gorgeous view of the river. They are really not on top of each other and are single free standing cabins, which is a rare find in Estes. The Love Nest features two flat screen televisions, couples robes and indoor jaccuzi with a waterfall along with a see through gas fireplace. We've been told they are the cleanest in town! For your stay in September, the temperature has been getting down into the low 40's and upper 30's at night, so we just open up the windows. We were a little puzzled when you said you couldn't sleep at night because of the heat. As a matter of fact in September we lite all the furnaces as clients were saying it was cold at night and they requested heat. We try very hard to offer a clean, quiet and comfortable visit and we are always updating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My 3-year-old son and I stayed in the Sundowner cabin which we just loved! It has a screened porch with it's own grill and picnic table outside. It looks down over the pool (which was nice and warm), hot tub, and baby pool and at night the lights from the pool, office, and cabins is just lovely! You can walk to the edge of the river if you aren't in a cabin that faces it, and there are seats down there to sit and relax.The managers Brennan and Jerry are very friendly and helpful and made us feel so comfortable we ended up staying an extra night! Jerry even came and helped get our grill going the first night! We will definitely be coming back and would recommend Brynwood On The River to anyone!

Room Tip: Several options depending on what you're looking for
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brynwood on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brynwood on the River

Address: 710 Moraine Avenue, P.O. Box 1929, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brynwood on the River 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brynwood has theme cabins, motel and vacation homes at the mouth of Rocky Mountain National Park, one mile from Estes Park. Some cabins are right on the Big Thompson River, have fireplaces and private hot tubs. We have a heated pool, hot tub and wading pool area. We offer cleanliness, a home away from home atmosphere with free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Brynwood on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brynwood On The River Hotel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brynwood on the River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;