We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at all like the pictures!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of 1st Inn Estes Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added 1st Inn Estes Park to your Saves list
1st Inn Estes Park
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1120 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Littleton, CO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not at all like the pictures!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stay away from this terrible place! I was in Estes Park for 4th of July so my options were limited because I didn't book early enough. This place seemed relatively reasonably priced and decent enough in the pictures. I didn't, however, read how horrible this place is. Had I known how filthy it would be (the beds weren't made, the trash hadn't been emptied, and the shower was
clogged) and how rude the staff would be I would've paid more money to stay somewhere else. When I went to tell the man at the front desk my room hadn't been cleaned he was really rude about it and told me to walk on the main street and it would be clean when I got back. I had also paid an extra $10 to get a room with a little desk which my room did not have and when I asked about it they just told me that none of their rooms have desks and wouldn't refund those $10. There are plenty of nice places to stay in Estes Park, don't choose this place!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    11
    4
    10
    30
See reviews for
16
15
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rush City, Minnesota
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Do not even waste your time stopping at this hotel. We should have known something was not right when we pulled in and there were only 2 cars in the parking lot. Just so you know, there were two people working.... We got our room and once we entered it was visibly dirty. Even my husband was disgusted. The beds had dirt on them, the carpet reeked of "old" odors and the bathroom mirror had not been wiped clean, as you could see the streaks of a hand print. The heater was stuck in the "on" position......in the middle of July! Needless to say, we went back to cancel our reservations at the front desk and the male had to get his wife (the owner) to help him cancel our reservation. She was very rude and lied to us, saying that our reservations had to be cancelled within 48 hours and it was Booking.com's issue, not hers. We called Booking.com and they said they are a 3rd party and have nothing to do with transactions and cancellation policies. 

We couldn't drive away fast enough. Ended up at Murphy's Resort down the road and they bent over backwards for us after we explained our horrendous experience at the Budget Host. They gave us a gorgeous suite for almost half price! Totally recommend Murphy's!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Very basic room and overpriced for what you get. No cups to drink in but a coffee machine that has not got the coffee holder part. Noisy air con..bed was comfy and pretty quiet outside. Bring your own cups.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Think again! For over $100/night in a hotel here is what I expect. A clean room, with semi-modern amenities ie. working television with HBO as advertised, WiFi as advertised, a queen bed as stipulated per the reservation, a spotless room - to include clean sheets, towels, and a bathroom NOT covered in the pubes of a thousand previous guests, and finally a smell that wouldn't gag a maggot in the room. Sadly, I was disappointed and mistaken with my choice in this hotel reservation. Because, THAT is what I got here.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This hotel is absolutely terrible, I would ask you to NOT stay here. The towels are dirty, there are stains and hair on them. There is dust everywhere and everything is absolutely dirty. The only microwave in here is at the main desk and the nearest laundry room is 5 miles away. The smell isn't very pleasent and i had to shower in flip flops and wipe my body with paper towels. Most of my family were so grossed out that did not take a shower. The pool DOES NOT look like in the picture and the only thing i enjoyed about this motel is the view and free wifi.

Room Tip: Just Don't Come Here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Just trying to get a reservation was unreal. The gentleman who answered the phone was extremely rude and almost hostile. I didn't get 2 sentences into our conversation before he began to berate me and became confrontational almost immediately. I will never stay here! Don't even call them!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I checked into the Four Winds in mid-August 2013 for just a couple of nights, we thought. We enjoyed our stay so much, stayed for 17 days. New managers had just taken over the hotel a few weeks earlier and have been doing their utmost to bring the property up to speed. Admittedly, it's an older hotel in need of some maintenance but the managers are on the job daily, paying attention to the needs of us weary travelers. Our room was clean, bed was comfortable, had a fireplace in the room, location at top of hill looking down on town and up at the mountains, saw elk walking across the property - what else do you want for a good price. Restaurant next door is worth a stop. So if you're looking for a great place in Estes Park, look no further.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1st Inn Estes Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1st Inn Estes Park

Address: 1120 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — 1st Inn Estes Park 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your 1st Inn Estes Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Four Winds Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1st Inn Estes Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.