We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theft” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Four Winds Motor Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Budget Host Four Winds Motor Lodge
1120 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, Rocky Mountain National Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 29 hotels in Estes Park
Villach, Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Theft”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Nothing about this places merits half of the $100 charged. Told there was a fridge. & coffee maker in the room (when I asked about breakfast). No fridge, no coffee for the lame 1papercup maker( never seen such a poor excuse for a coffee machine before). A small fridge was delivered, eventually, with all kinds of aplogies for the challenges of undertaking a renovation. Be that as it may, innocent customers should've be extorted. What a needlessly negative experience. thin pillows, no cups for water or the phantom coffee, worn out mattress. I would not feel the need to write this if we had been charged a fair price. It almost seemed illegal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    3
    8
    23
See reviews for
13
11
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, KS
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

If I had read these reviews I would not have booked this motel in the first place. This is the first time in years that I took a look at my room that was assigned and went back to the office and asked for another room. I asked if any of the rooms were being renovated yet and was told no. It is in great need of updating. I was glad I was only in the area 1 night.

Room Tip: If staying, ask to see the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The managers of the motel have been very nice, and I appreciate their friendliness and professionalism. Even though the motel can definitely use some updating, the staff has been very nice. I was supposed to have an extended stay here, but there was new ownership since the time of my reservation, and it was no longer in the system. Brandon & Chrissy have really made me feel welcome, and I appreciate that. I think that less than stellar conditions can be overlooked when the service is great. If you are looking for an affordable night in Estes, try it here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I decided last minute to drive up to Estes Park from Colorado Springs and stay one night for our anniversary. Normally we would make reservations but we decided to wing it this time in the spirit of adventure. Well, our adventurous spirit led to us to the Budget Host during a torrential downpour. It was the first vacancy sign we saw so we pulled in, ran in the office and asked for a room with a queen or king bed. After some initial confusion, the clerk found a room with one queen bed for a...ahem...staggering price. Whatever. It was raining, it was three o'clock and we wanted to spend the little time we had in Estes Park at RMNP. For some reason the front desk lady kept offering to let us see the room before we agreed to stay there *warning* *warning*. We assured her that we didn't care and so we paid and went to our room. Before we went in, we got to meet our neighbors, a lovely group of gentlemen, presumably from a highway work crew, who had been put out by the rain and had decided to spend their afternoon imbibing some canned beverages in the parking lot. Our room was VERY small but was reasonably clean. The bathroom was moderately clean as well but very small. A warning on the mirror lets you know that if you even think about using their washcloths for removing makeup you will be subjected to a hefty fine. Hey, washcloths aren't cheap guys! Although, for what we paid for the room I would have expected washcloths woven of golden thread but, whatever. So, we left and went into the Park then returned a good five or six hours later to find our neighbors still sitting in the parking lot, noticeably more drunk and making noticeably more noise. I convinced my husband to check out the pool because, "hey, it couldn't get any worse." There aren't any lights in the pool which is probably for the best because it looked pretty...rustic. There were some high weeds growing in what I assume was at one point a kiddie pool. It was heated so...there's that. We got out and darted across the parking lot to the cheers of throngs of drunken displaced highway workers. What a magical evening! But seriously, if you're going to be gouged, and you most likely will be in July in Estes Park, at least stay at a place where you can use the washcloths however you see fit.

Room Tip: If you have the opportunity and the weather permits, stay in a suite near a large group of drunken b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Beds are old and uncomfortable. Grounds are not very well kept. Pool looked old. Air conditioner in room didn't cool off room and was super noisy. We didn't plan in advance so got stuck here in a Saturday night. Don't stay unless you have no other options

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I made a reservation and had to cancel well within the policy on the web site and re scheduled for a later date,the management billed me for both dates and said that they do not have a cancellation policy,Air conditioning did not work and was very loud,bed was as hard as a picnic table.Next trip to RMNP i will be staying someplace else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft myers beach,fl
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Only went there because every place else was booked. Got to room and there was no towels, plastic cups or tissue paper. You have to go to lobby to get a hair dryer. Rooms are in need of updating. Got up at 6am to get an early start on our travels and there was no hot water. Called office and got recording. Walked up to office and they were not open and no sign saying what to do in an emergency.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Budget Host Four Winds Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Four Winds Motor Lodge

Also Known As:
Budget Host Four Winds Hotel
Address: 1120 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, Rocky Mountain National Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Rocky Mountain National Park > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host Four Winds Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Budget Host Four Winds Motor Lodge to your Saves list