We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate hotel, disproportionate price, colorful neighbors and a pool!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of 1st Inn Estes Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added 1st Inn Estes Park to your Saves list
1st Inn Estes Park
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1120 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Wichita
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Adequate hotel, disproportionate price, colorful neighbors and a pool!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I decided last minute to drive up to Estes Park from Colorado Springs and stay one night for our anniversary. Normally we would make reservations but we decided to wing it this time in the spirit of adventure. Well, our adventurous spirit led to us to the Budget Host during a torrential downpour. It was the first vacancy sign we saw so we pulled in, ran in the office and asked for a room with a queen or king bed. After some initial confusion, the clerk found a room with one queen bed for a...ahem...staggering price. Whatever. It was raining, it was three o'clock and we wanted to spend the little time we had in Estes Park at RMNP. For some reason the front desk lady kept offering to let us see the room before we agreed to stay there *warning* *warning*. We assured her that we didn't care and so we paid and went to our room. Before we went in, we got to meet our neighbors, a lovely group of gentlemen, presumably from a highway work crew, who had been put out by the rain and had decided to spend their afternoon imbibing some canned beverages in the parking lot. Our room was VERY small but was reasonably clean. The bathroom was moderately clean as well but very small. A warning on the mirror lets you know that if you even think about using their washcloths for removing makeup you will be subjected to a hefty fine. Hey, washcloths aren't cheap guys! Although, for what we paid for the room I would have expected washcloths woven of golden thread but, whatever. So, we left and went into the Park then returned a good five or six hours later to find our neighbors still sitting in the parking lot, noticeably more drunk and making noticeably more noise. I convinced my husband to check out the pool because, "hey, it couldn't get any worse." There aren't any lights in the pool which is probably for the best because it looked pretty...rustic. There were some high weeds growing in what I assume was at one point a kiddie pool. It was heated so...there's that. We got out and darted across the parking lot to the cheers of throngs of drunken displaced highway workers. What a magical evening! But seriously, if you're going to be gouged, and you most likely will be in July in Estes Park, at least stay at a place where you can use the washcloths however you see fit.

Room Tip: If you have the opportunity and the weather permits, stay in a suite near a large group of drunken b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    4
    10
    29
See reviews for
16
15
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Beds are old and uncomfortable. Grounds are not very well kept. Pool looked old. Air conditioner in room didn't cool off room and was super noisy. We didn't plan in advance so got stuck here in a Saturday night. Don't stay unless you have no other options

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I made a reservation and had to cancel well within the policy on the web site and re scheduled for a later date,the management billed me for both dates and said that they do not have a cancellation policy,Air conditioning did not work and was very loud,bed was as hard as a picnic table.Next trip to RMNP i will be staying someplace else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft myers beach,fl
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Only went there because every place else was booked. Got to room and there was no towels, plastic cups or tissue paper. You have to go to lobby to get a hair dryer. Rooms are in need of updating. Got up at 6am to get an early start on our travels and there was no hot water. Called office and got recording. Walked up to office and they were not open and no sign saying what to do in an emergency.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Patty in the office was rude. The room had a musty odor. Found two dead insects in the bed. The AC didn't work well. The sheets were frayed along the edges, the box spring stained, the blanket old and scratchy. There was a space where insects could enter the room under the entry door. The sack in the trash can was a plastic one from Safeway that did not fit properly. The furniture was old and in poor condition and the coffee maker did not work. This is the most deplorable motel I have ever stayed in and recommend that you consider camping before sleeping here for even one night. Please tell your friends!!

Room Tip: Go to another motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I read the reviews on this place but we decided to give it a try. Here's the issues we had:
1. No record of reservation made through Orbitz although they did give us a room.
2. Air conditioning unit does not work.
3. Bathroom-floor was actually buckled from water leaking from somewhere.
4. Turned shower on & dead bugs came out.
5. Holes in sheets.
6. Ice maker in main lobby does not work.
Our guess? Whoever owns this property is letting it deteriote & claiming a loss on their business. They are not keeping the property up. The biggest advantage to the place is location. You get free shuttle service right out front of the hotel property. It's a pity it's so poorly run & the property's neglected. I doubt we'd be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

After reading the reviews I was scared to stay here, but decided to give it a shot anyway. The staff was nice. The location was excellent to where all the shops were. Pets stayed free in certain rooms with a refundable $50 deposit. There was no air, but it was comfortable. Next visit to the Rockies we will stay here again. It was a good room for the price. Everything was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1st Inn Estes Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1st Inn Estes Park

Address: 1120 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — 1st Inn Estes Park 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your 1st Inn Estes Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Four Winds Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1st Inn Estes Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.