We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Manager!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 1st Inn Estes Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added 1st Inn Estes Park to your Saves list
1st Inn Estes Park
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1120 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
baton rouge, la
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice Manager!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

This property is clean, and I am a stickler for that. That is what the manager told us when we checked in and I found it to be so. True, it is over 50 years old, but it was a safe, quiet motel on a very busy road. The manager lives there, and assured us it was safe and clean, and it was. The pool is large and he cleans it himself. We enjoyed his company and there is a computer for your use in the lobby. True, the tv is old, but worked well, the bed is not like a 4 star hotel chain, there is no hairdryer, iron or even shampoo, but I am sure he had them in the office if you needed anything. I would have enjoyed fluffier pillows and additional towels, but did not ask for anything, as was very glad we found a vacancy at a clean, safe hotel.



T

Room Tip: You can park right in front of your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    11
    4
    10
    30
See reviews for
16
15
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

This hotel is old, run down & in desperate need of remodel. Not worth the price, wouldn't pay more than $56 a night. Bed is uncomfortable, tv is ancient & smells musty. Electical cords duct taped all around the tv & ac unit. We certainly will not be returning to this hotel or anyone one of its chains!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

We go to Estes once every summer for a couple of days. Upon arrival we chose this motel because of location, and the boys liked the pool. When you go into the room, it appears well maintained, and clean. Don't let the first impression fool you. The first evening, the boys took their showers, and had gotten water on the floor. I put a towel down to clean up the water, and much to my surprise, the towel was as black as the pavement outside!! YUK!!! The next morning, I noticed a room at the end being cleaned. There was NO mop present, nor did they have a vaccum. So, it was quite obvious they only replace towels, and make the beds. They didn't even empty the trash in the room! My concern led me to inspect things in the room closer, only to find an inch of dust on top of the headboards of the beds! Then to add to the experience, the room next to us was occupied by someone who obviously works for the motel, and they went in and out of the room at all hours, slamming the door constantly, which made getting any sleep out of the question. This motel should be turned in to the health dept. and be inspected, as the rooms are NOT sanitary, or safe.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardbudget, Owner at 1st Inn Estes Park, responded to this review, August 17, 2010
Management was never informed about the problem at the time the customer was here. After seeing the review, checked the room and found no problem. We do not use mops to clean the bathroom which is impractical. The housekeepers get on their hands and knees to clean the floors with scrubbling bubbles. If only we had been informed about the noise as well, we could have done something about it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

My wife and I and two boys have stayed here a number of times and have always found the accommodations clean and comfortable, and the staff friendly. We visit Estes a couple times a year to hike in summer, or snowshoe and sled in winter. We came for the Valentine's/Pres. Day weekend this year, had a great time sledding on the sled hill in Rocky Mountain park, and enjoyed the fireplace and full kitchen once we returned. This place is not your typical super 8 with every room the exact same length, width and layout. Some rooms have fireplaces, some hot tubs, some kitchens, some with multiple bedrooms so mom and dad can enjoy a glass of wine in one room while the kids watch TV in a separate one. Not everything is what you would call especially up-to-date, and some things you might describe as "funky", like the bed in one room that folds out of the wall - but everything is clean and the unique aspects are part of the charm. Since not all rooms are the same so be sure to ask if you're there a few days and want a kitchen, or want a fireplace or hot tub in the winter or air conditioning in the summer (though the reason we go to Estes in the summer is to get out of the heat of the plains, and air conditioning is rarely needed). All in all a great place to stay, and a great town, and we hope you enjoy your stay as much as we always do.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardbudget, Owner at 1st Inn Estes Park, responded to this review, August 17, 2010
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

We were recently guests at the Four Winds in Estes Park, CO and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms are clean and nicely furnished; the staff is pleasant and accommodating. We especially appreciated the privacy and the pool.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, AZ
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

Great room prices for Estes Park in the summer. We liked our room. It was clean and had air conditioning. Front office staff was friendly.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Mountain Falls co
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

I have 20 years experince in the hospitality industry. I have managed front desks and have also done corporate work for Best Western. Never in my life have I been treated so badly . My bath tub was clogged with YEARS of hair so disgusting. Couln't shower, so i approached the front desk and was told to get the -- out. truely. he tried to call the police. This place SUCKS and I will tell everyone I know. I have friends in Estes. i livce just west of Colorado springs

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 1st Inn Estes Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1st Inn Estes Park

Address: 1120 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — 1st Inn Estes Park 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your 1st Inn Estes Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Four Winds Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1st Inn Estes Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.