We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Inn Mountain Tavern

Rock Inn Mountain Tavern
1675 Highway 66, Estes Park, CO 80517
( 970) 586-4116
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 99 Restaurants in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Doing business, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

As a local here in Estes Park and someone who has visited about every restaurant/bar in town, the Rock Inn is undoubtedly one to check out. Not only is the food awesome, the atmosphere is nice, service is excellent and did I mention the Devil's on Horseback? The Rock is also one of the only bars in town bringing in great music. Lot's of good beers to choose from and mountain views--- can't get much better than that.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    226
    70
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The food here is very good and a little bit of a surprise - not your normal "tavern" fare. Service was good and it was a busy night. The staff is very friendly. The cost is a bit more but the food is good, so worth the splurge. (Flatiron steak is the best!)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Although this tavern is a little ways out of Estes Park, it is worth the trip. Our motel owner recommended it as a good local place to go. The place was packed with people of all ages. Service was good and the food was delicious. I believe that there is music at the weekends, but we were there on a week night, so cannot comment on that aspect of the place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great beer on tap, comfortable atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were at a conference at the YMCA and stopped at this Inn for dinner and drinks one night. It was well worth it. Ate delicious fresh trout and steak, and happy hour deals meant we could try two Colorado brews for the price of one. The atmosphere appealed to every age - families, older couples, and young couples. The bartenders and waitstaff were incredibly friendly and helpful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dinner in the Rockies.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Rock inn mountain tavern
Appears promising with its rustic charm and full parking lot. Unfortunately, it started off as all show and no substance. We began with Devils on horseback (stuffed dates wrapped in bacon) which appeared fresh out of the freezer and tossed on a plate for all the work that went into the presentation. Taste was ok at best.
For dinner, I ordered the NY strip, bistro style (encrusted with peppercorns and topped with a port wine reduction) which came with a side salad and potatoes. The salad was wet, so the dressing became runny and the lettuce had a bitter taste. The steak was prepared perfectly, as were the "Longs Peak" potatoes (baby reds boiled then flash fried). My companion had the same experience with his salad. However, he had the pan seared trout, Cajun style, over mashed potatoes. The entree was well prepared and delicious. Service was very good and our waiter was attentive. Overall, the dinner was good, although a little pricey. I would return but hope that before I do, the management recognizes that diners are looking for the whole experience to be outstanding, not just the main protein.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Inn Mountain Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Rock Inn Mountain Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Inn Mountain Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.