We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Crest Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deer Crest Resort
1200 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, Rocky Mountain National Park, CO 80517 (Formerly Deer Crest Chalet)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Snowshoes!
Ranked #7 of 29 hotels in Estes Park
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Enjoy the stream located all along the back. Older buildings (like all of them in Estes Park) but very well maintained and very clean. We came back from the park at dusk and there was elk walking down the sidewalk. Two cows and a huge bull just walked just 30 foot away. We stayed in 207 on the second floor with it's own balcony. The owners were super nice. They even had water bottles for the low price of 2/1.00.

Room Tip: Get 207 for a private Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    37
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
9
99
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I just spent three nights at the Deer Crest Resort, and loved everything about it. The setting on the river is peaceful and gorgeous. We had a river view room with a private balcony, and we almost spent as much time on the balcony as in the room. The balcony had a hummingbird feeder, and the hummingbirds came and went non stop while we sat a few feet away. It was the best natural, unobtrusive setting in nature I have ever seen in a hotel.

If you are visiting Rocky Mountain National Park, as we were, the location is ideal.

The sound of the river makes for great sleeping. Staying at the Deer Crest truly is a resort experience, but at a fraction of resort prices. The staff gets two thumbs up for friendliness and helpfulness. The rooms were spotless and well cared for. I highly recommend the Deer Crest.

Room Tip: Get a river view room with a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

What a find!! It's like staying in a doll's house, perfect for the grey-haired (which we are) who don't smoke (it's 100% smoke free) and don't have young ones (only ages 18+ allowed). I recommend the second floor (which only requires climbing one tiny stair (not a staircase) due to the way the land slopes. All second floor rooms have covered balcony areas with huge blooming baskets hanging over the railing, as well as hummingbird feeders which are very frequently visited. The corner room #209 is the nicest, and most private; we've used it twice, most recently 8/25/13. From all balconies, you see a large green grassy area, gliders for two, chairs, gas grills, and lots of mature trees, AND you have the Fall River with a small waterfall right there. The balcony area has table/chairs for each room, so you can read, play cards, have a snack/meal, etc. while enjoying the view. The rooms all seem to come with microwaves and small freezers/refrigerators. But it you don't want to cook, stroll (on a sidewalk) about 5 minutes to Nick's Restaurant for patio (or inside) dining at riverside. We do breakfast there on weekends. (We like the Twin Owls Restaurant, as well as Nick's for dinner.) Downtown Estes is in walkable distance; Rocky Mountain National Park is only about 3 miles away. Yet, it's sooooo quiet here. And, there's such a nice friendly feeling here--from the guests, the owners, and the employees. (Evidently there are also suites, but I don't know about them.)

Room Tip: Pick the second floor; room #209 is particularly good: corner unit, balcony is private, room has 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillion, Nebraska
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was my husbands second visit and my first visit to deer crest. It is very quiet, peaceful located right on the river. It is only 3 miles from Rocky Mountain park entrance on 36 and we walked into Estes Park for breakfast at the Big Horn (quiet, peaceful walk). Wifi in the room, private deck space for eating or reading or go down by the river to swing or chill by the river. We will return someday. I can't wait!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We felt almost like we were visiting family in a nicely decorated home. The location was perfect for my wife and I. We prefer to be just outside of the hustle and bustle of tourist areas. It is located close enough for a bike ride to anything you may need or want but far enough away to be quiet. The owners are very friendly and helpful. They gave us great suggestions for restaurants. We spent two nights there while on a 17 day road trip and it was money well spent. The only negative was sleeping through the bear in the yard in the middle of the night. From the safety of our balcony it would have been fun to see.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room with a private balcony looking over the yard and stream. It was decorated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a 4 night stay at Deer Crest Resort in July, and could not have been happier with our accomodations, the grounds, and the location. Nestled in a beautiful setting beside the banks of the Fall River, Deer Crest is a peaceful and wonderful place to relax, yet is close to both the entrance to the RMNP, as well as just a short drive into town. We were treated each evening to the sight of a gorgeous elk who favored the grasses near the resort. Immaculately clean and perfectly maintained, our room (the Bear Den) was roomy and enjoyable. The folks who run the resort are friendly and helpful. I can highly recommend Deer Crest for a perfect Rocky Mountain stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This resort is located outside of the business district of Estes Park on the banks of the Fall River. The river is literally steps away from your room; you are able to walk right into the river if you choose to get your feet wet. There is even a little waterfall that we sat by as we sipped our pre-dinner wine. Seating areas are plentiful on the grassy area as well as table and chairs outside each room. There is also a 24hr indoor hot tub available for guests and grills, both gas and charcoal. We stayed in a fireplace mini-suite that had air conditioning which was a nice extra but not really a necessity. Our first night there we were visited by a large elk who was munching on grass at the resort entrance. The rooms at the resort are quaint and homey with comfortable beds. The bathroom is not fancy with granite or marble vanities but the shower in our room had a very modern tile wall/glass door. The kitchenette had a stovetop, fridge, microwave and coffeemaker along with plates and utensils.
Nicole and her dad run the place and were very helpful and informative. The adult only policy created a very quiet environment. There are free DVDs and popcorn available at the front office. Nature lovers will enjoy the many hummingbirds and marmot who frequent the grounds. Nicky's Steakhouse is a short walk down the road for a great steak or Colorado trout.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Deer Crest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Crest Resort

Also Known As:
Deer Crest Hotel Estes Park
Deer Crest Hotel
Deer Crest Estes Park
Address: 1200 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, Rocky Mountain National Park, CO 80517 (Formerly Deer Crest Chalet)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Rocky Mountain National Park > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#18 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deer Crest Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Deer Crest Resort to your Saves list