We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Crest Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deer Crest Resort
1200 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517 (Formerly Deer Crest Chalet)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
August Room Rate Special
Ranked #8 of 29 hotels in Estes Park
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a beautiful property right on the river. We stayed in one of the fireplace suites with a kitchenette. The location is great - close to Estes Park and also near one of the RMNP entrances. The grocery story is just a mile or so down the road on the edge of town; couldn't be easier. After seeing the other resorts in the area we thought this one was particularly well laid out - there's a nice open space for sitting by the river, but none of the rooms are up against the road either.

Our room was very clean and comfortable. The kitchenette had a full size fridge, a microwave, a toaster oven, and an electric range (no stove). There was also an electric skillet - very nice touch. Basic dishes and cooking tools were provided. They had both gas and charcoal grills as well. The room was cleaned every day. You can tell the whole place is kept in good repair.

The owners were very nice, gave us plenty of information leading up to the trip and some good restaurant recommendations once we got there. We saw plenty of wildlife right from our door - elk, hummingbirds, chipmunks, and even a marmot. Very relaxing to sit outside and listen to the river. We'd definitely recommend this resort.

Room Tip: I doubt there is a bad or even less desirable room. I don't think they all have kitchenettes, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    43
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
10
108
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Normal, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here June 5-7, 2013 on the recommendation of a friend whose family stays here often, and she didn't steer us wrong. It's very presentable, right on the Fall River, which at this time is running strong. A large yard by the river allows you to sit and relax or to use one of the grills to cook. There's a hot tub room, but we didn't try it. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable, with a kitchenette (with a spotless refrigerator), and a large TV. We used their free dvd collection all 3 nights. The staff were extremely polite and friendly. This place is a keeper.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Booked this place last minute as we scrambled to find lodging during busy Memorial weekend. Put to ease right off the bat by very friendly owners / hosts answering the phone, who even showed us the different rooms we could stay at when we got to the property. There's a river that runs right along the back of most rooms, and a balcony with tables and chairs outside your room should you choose to admire the view. Depending on your taste, the interior may look a little old, but I thought it was just the typical wooden lodge feel. Our room had two queen beds, overall tidy and clean. Bathroom is on the small-side, but it was perfectly fine for our simple needs.

If you're looking for a luxury property, this definitely isn't it. But given the price, it's a great value choice. It has an intimate feel because it's small. I slept like a baby - no complaint with comfort, amenities, cleanliness. The location is minutes away by drive from downtown Estes Park and the Rocky National Park entrance. They're making some upgrades to the outside facility. If we're ever back in the area, would consider staying here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria Heights, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is where we will stay next time we're in Estes Park. I love this place!
The owner checked us in and was extremely nice and helpful. He pointed out the large selection of DVDs that you can rent & there is also a nice selection of board games.
We had a queen deluxe room on the ground floor. It was beautifully decorated with home style quilts and a wreath on the wall. The beds were comfortable & there were 6 comfy pillows (2 had shams) on each bed. Our room had a nice television with cable, a microwave coffee maker, and a fridge that even had 2 trays of ice cubes in the freezer! Everything, with the exception of maybe the television, looked new, including the floors & vanity. When you're at a lovely, serene place like this, who wants to watch television anyway?
The private patio was nice and we sat at the table in the evening & watched the river rush by. We also had fun watching the marmots play in the yard.
The best was waking up on our first morning there and seeing elk in the parking lot by my car! They got spooked by something over by the fence & when I looked to see what it was, I saw what looked to be a wild cat of some kind. It definitely wasn't a housecat, so that was kind of exciting.
If I had to find a negative, it would be that the porch light was burned out. Big deal. We were extremely happy with every aspect of our 4 day stay and highly recommend Deer Crest.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwoDeer1, Owner at Deer Crest Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to your return visit. You are welcome any time.
One clarification for other readers. We have a FREE DVD library. We have 100's of DVD's to choose from and you may sign them out at no charge....(All rooms have DVD players)... Best Regards.... Carrie and Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Nice property, but would not be considered a resort. Rooms are spacious, but décor is outdated. Some rooms have Christmas decorations year round. Seems like you are visiting your Grandparents home. Pillows are a MUST replacement. Very friendly, and clean. Outside could use better maintenance/updating/clean up and appearance needs better "curb appeal". Excellent location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwoDeer1, Owner at Deer Crest Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hello John. Wish you hadn't waited 10 months from your stay to write a review. Did you get us mixed up with another place you stayed? Your comments are very unusal. We don't have Christmas decorations up all year in any of our rooms...much less in July.... We offer pillows to suit a variety of preferences and we do replace them as needed. We pride ourselves in maintaining sleep quality and just put in 17 new mattresses and foundations this month. You said you found our rooms to be clean. Thank you, but then you downgraded us on cleanliness??? Most people tell us our property is even more beautiful than the pics on our website and that our lawn and flowers are beautiful and well maintained... Regards, Carrie and Ken..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We've been coming to Deer Crest since 2003. We went somewhere for a change a few years ago and were reminded why we like Deer Crest so much. No smoking on the premises and no kids are big draws for us. The nice lawn and easy access to Fall River right out the back make for a very relaxing place to retire after a day's worth of activities. It's away from the hustle and bustle yet a very close drive to downtown Estes or RMNP. The staff is very friendly. We will continue to stay at Deer Crest for all of our visits to Estes Park.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Deer Creek Resort for one night around the Thanksgiving weekend and it was truly amazing. We were planning on staying at Stanley, but were put off by the price. Deer Creek was great value for money. We were given a large room with a King bed and a fireplace. The room itself was ery comfortable with great interiors. The best part was the creek that ran just a few yards away. The garden had rabbits and although the river was flowing slow, it was very scenic. This is what I was expecting from a trip to Estes and I found this place to be great value for money.

The place also has board games and movies to watch, but we were keen to staying in a scenic place for the evening and go to bed early and gear up for the RMNP, which is just a few miles down the road. After staying the previous nights at Copper Mountain, I found the hotel to be truly worth the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Deer Crest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Crest Resort

Address: 1200 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517 (Formerly Deer Crest Chalet)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Estes Park
#7 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deer Crest Resort is located on the Beautiful Fall River. We are a quiet, relaxing getaway for Adults only! Conveniently located between Town and the Entrance to Rocky Mt National Park. Great restaurant next door on the Fall River. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Deer Crest Hotel Estes Park
Deer Crest Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deer Crest Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Deer Crest Resort to your Saves list