We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and convienient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Crest Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deer Crest Resort
Save Saved
You added Deer Crest Resort to your Saves list
1200 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517 (Formerly Deer Crest Chalet)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
August Room Rate Special
Ranked #8 of 30 hotels in Estes Park
Omaha
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Quiet and convienient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed in one of the fireplace mini-suites in October 2010. It was ideal for us: The resort is adults only, it's close to a park entrance, and the room had a small kitchen. We could leave before sunrise, do whatever photography and hiking we had planned for the day, and come back to a cold drink, a warm fire, and a movie on the DVD player. Most days we were too tired to get cleaned up and eat at a restaurant. The kitchen had everything we needed to make a simple meal, and the full sized refrigerator let us store picnic supplies. If you want a great view, you might be happier with one of the other rooms. Everything except the fireplace mini suites has a view of the stream that flows by the property. The mini-suites looked at an empty pool, but having a small kitchen and fireplace more than made up for it. The room prices were very reasonable, and the people who own the place are so friendly. They keep a supply of books, puzzles, and movies in case of rain.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    44
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
11
112
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed here earlier this year and it was perfect. I recently stayed at the Stanley Hotel and wished I had stayed here again instead.

This is not a luxury resort but it has everything you need:
1) Nicely kept rooms that are comfortable
2) Hot water
3) Great owners
4) Hot tub
5) Snowshoes!
6) Fireplace
7) Kitchenette with utensils and appliances

The location is excellent and roads were fine even with heavy snow in the area. Granted it was offseason so you might have to adjust your expectations if the resort is full and Estes Park is overloaded with people. But we had a great time and I will stay here again from now on.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the far right of the resort (as you face the office from the main road). It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Spending the Thanksgiving holiday in Estes Park and at Deer Crest was a delight. I had stayed here previously and found the same great accomodation and friendly welcome. I was pleased to note that the owners are continuing to update and improve their property. Its location close to the entrance to RMNP and on the Fall River is a delight. It is so restful to be able to sit next to the river and enjoy a good book. Do stay here, you will be pleased. I should note, it is an adult only non-smoking facility.

Room Tip: The rooms on the riverside allow you to hear the stream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viola, Arkansas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We arrived in Estes Park, CO without reservations. We stopped at the visitors center and picked out some brochures, took them to the desk, friendly clerk assisted us with picking resorts open and having rooms for one night. We chose Deer Crest and what a prize it was! Just a short distance from downtown. Nice wooded area with babbling brook just outside the door. Friendly young woman at desk told us Resort is family owned and operated (by her father). Room and bathroom clean and well kept. Linens clean and crisp. We were there in the off season so we were thrilled with the price! Be sure to find place to eat soon if you arrive late afternoon. We ended up getting sandwiches at the Safeway Deli and eating on the deck at the resort which turned out to be really nice. Will most definitely stay here if we ever return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Deer Crest is a lovely resort in Estes Park, CO. It is located right on the Fall River. You open your door (ground level) and walk just a few feet & you are at the river. If you like the Rocky Mountain National Park it is only a couple of miles up the road. It is only a mile or so from downtown Estes Park. Our favorite room has always been pleasant, clean, and spacious. We usually stay 2 nights but this trip we decided to stay for 3 nights. Being early November we had the whole resort pretty much to ourselves. The staff is friendly and helpful. We highly recommend this resort!

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room that faces the river. Rooms 106-102 are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Like many others, we have been returning annually to the inviting atmosphere of the Deer Crest. This quiet and peaceful retreat is owned and managed by Ken, Carrie, and their lovely daughter, Nicole. This friendly family welcomes you with graciousness and efficiency.

The motel sits directly on the banks of the Fall River. Most room balconies and patios face the river, lawn, aspens, and pines. (Waterfall rooms have private balconies and patios.) The mini-suites face the pool, but are just steps from the river. Room 312, a mini-suite, is the closest to the river.

Many of the very clean rooms, including the bathrooms, have been updated and refurnished. The average size rooms are decorated in a mountain/country motif with quilts on the beds and homey accessories. Our room, a mini-suite included a very comfortable king-size bed, a loveseat, chair, desk, ample drawer space, a kitchette which included a refrigerator, toaster oven, microwave oven, plates, cups, utensils, pots and pans.

After exploring the beauty of Rocky Mountain National Park (a five minute drive to the entrance) and the quaint town of Estes Park, the cozy and comfortable Deer Crest is a welcoming retreat. I highly recommend this family-run resort.

Room Tip: I like the waterfall rooms and room 312.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid America
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Spent 5 nights here in the middle of Oct. We are repeat customers of Deer Crest. We like the 300 series rooms called the "fireplace mini suites". The owners checked us in like we were old friends. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The grounds are kept up very nicely. One night we checked out some movies they offered because the days are pretty short this time of the year. We really enjoy staying here.

Room Tip: The rates go down during the winter. Also, we enjoy the gas fireplaces in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deer Crest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Crest Resort

Address: 1200 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517 (Formerly Deer Crest Chalet)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Estes Park
#7 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deer Crest Resort is located on the Beautiful Fall River. We are a quiet, relaxing getaway for Adults only! Conveniently located between Town and the Entrance to Rocky Mt National Park. Great restaurant next door on the Fall River. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Deer Crest Hotel Estes Park
Deer Crest Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deer Crest Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.