We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in Estes Park!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Crest Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deer Crest Resort
Save Saved
You added Deer Crest Resort to your Saves list
1200 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517 (Formerly Deer Crest Chalet)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Knoxville, TN
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great value in Estes Park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Chose to stay here for a long weekend soley based on TripAdvisor reviews, and I was not disappointed. We arrived in Denver Friday afternoon and wanted to do a few activities there before heading to Estes Park. Time got away from us, and we didn't leave Denver until 8:30p. I called Deer Crest to let them know we were running late, and they said the office would be closed but that they would leave our room key and directions to our room just outside the office. I really appreciated their flexibility and the fact they didn't sound put out by our late arrival! Our room was immaculately clean and remained so every single day of our stay. The beds were comfortable and although our room didn't have AC, it wasn't needed. We slept with the windows open and were out exploring during daytime hours. Our first-floor room faced the back of the property and the creek area - it was incredibly peaceful! We didn't have time to use the heated pool or hot tub, but both looked nice and clean. The grounds were immaculate with lovely flowers and plenty of places to sit and enjoy the beautiful scenary. We didn't see any wildlife at the inn during our stay; however, an outdoor trashcan was destroyed (presumably by a bear) on our last night. We were thankful to have not seen him or her! I would highly recommend the Deer Crest Resort (unless you're a report snob who needs everything to be sparkly and new to have a good time) and would absolutely stay there again myself if I'm ever back in the area. Great location between RMNP and Estes Park.

Room Tip: Loved our room on the first level because it was near the creek
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    46
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
12
113
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed here from Aug. 2nd unti the 5th.
Very nice smaller property, owner on site, very helpful people. They gave us some tips for day trips. Location is perfect 1 mile out of town, right on the shuttle route. The shuttle takes you all over town, no need for a car. It is clean and on time, and it's free.
The Deer Crest room we had was a loft suite, called "Old Man Mt. suite" it over looks the pool and the private balcony overlooks the Fall river and Old Man Mt. Just excellent views!!! The river is just wonderful to listen to and look @
Private baclony is really nice, Humming birds everwhere, by that I mean 20-30 at any given time, really cool.
This is a non smoking no children allowed property, which I think is very nice.
The pool is clean and not used very much.
The room has a huge gas fireplace, clean and plenty big for 2 people. 2 TV's, a bath and a 1/2.
My wife and I would both highly recommed this property, I am sure we will book for next year @ the same time.
A very nice restaurtant 100 yards away, Nicky's, serves breakfest, lunch and dinner, four differant dinning areas, river and Mt. views.
STRONG POINTS
1. Location
2. Access to free shuttle to town
3. Access to entrance of RMNP
4. Nicky's within walking distance
5. Nice sidewalk all the way to town, about 1 mile
6. View of Old Man Mt. and river
7. Clean large suite
8. Priced well

Room Tip: Our room, the Old Man Mt. suite is the only one with a private balcony, I believe. We loved this. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My sister and I spent hours pouring over reviews of hotels in Estes Park as we had never been there. My general hotel preference runs along the line of Hilton or Marriot, looking for deals on such properties. Estes Park, however is full of non-chain hotels/motels, so it was challenging to sort thru it all. Our goal was to balance price, mountain resort feel, quiet, well-taken care of, roomy, and have some cooking/eating facilities. Finding many properties near and over $200 per night, we were so pleased as we came upon the so reasonably priced Deer Crest resort. The room with 2Q was large and had a mini fridge twice the size of your typical hotel fridge, with a separate freezer section even! Also had a microwave and coffee maker and the provided coffee was excellent! Front of room had plenty of 'counter' space, lots of drawers. Bathroom walls looked to be newly re-tiled, so clean, but the shower head is still at that pretzel bend location (low). Loved the 2 doors to the room--front and rear doors that you could open to get a nice breeze and light into the room. Also loved the upper deck balcony that has your own set of table and chairs that overlook the river and the property's green grass, a beautiful park like setting. So we ate our breakfast overlooking the river, and also often brought our dinner home to eat in that peaceful setting. The owners were so nice and we were often visited by elk, including the infamous bull that has christmas lights stuck on its antlers. Also loved that we never heard anything from our neighbors- I think the walls in this older construction are well-made, not the paper thin walls of some newer construction. You may be interested to know that although we were in a room with a second floor number, the back of the room, at parking lot level, is first floor, but the front of the room that overlooks the river, is at the second floor level. So, room was older but well taken care of and property has many loving touches, like the BBQ, picnic tables, DVDs, celing fan,... We are so glad we selected this motel for 5 nights as it so fit our needs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights here this week. We stayed in a poolside unite that was very pleasant. It had a couch, fireplace, small kitchen with bar and comfortable king size bed. We enjoyed the little outside patio with a table and chairs. It was so peaceful to sit in the lawnchairs down by the creek, also. The manager and staff were very friendly and helpful. This is an adult-only property so it was very quiet. The location is great--just a short drive to the city of Estes Park and to Rocky Mountain National Park. It is an older property built in the early 1970's but it was updated and very clean. The pool is very small and patched so we decided not to use it. I'd stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is such a lovely hotel. We've stayed here twice now and I will also continue to stay here when we are in Estes Park. They have a heated pool and are just about 2 miles (or less) away from where all the shops are. And it is very close to Rocky Mountain National Park. The place is always clean and smoke free and it's right on a little creek that you can sit by and read and listen to the creek. (or is it a river? Not sure.) Only those 18 and over are allowed to stay at this hotel, so it makes it very nice and quiet. They also have a hot tub to relax in after hiking all day. The room has a DVD player and they have free dvd's to check out at the front desk. (about 200 DVD's in their library). I love this place and I'll always come back!

Room Tip: Getting rooms on the ground floor and by the river is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Just spent 2 nights in this adults only, no smoking, no pet lodging and we loved it. We stayed in the bear den room which has a kitchen, living area with large tv, bedroom and large bathroom. This was truly the best place we stayed on our 10 day vacation. We grilled by the river one evening and the owners are kind enough to furnish charcoal and utensils. Very quiet and peaceful to sit by Falls River which runs along the back of the property. We hope to return next year

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for the 4th of July week with another couple of our old friends. We rented two adjacent mini-suites and it has been very convenient. We used the kitchenettes extensively for almost all meals and even a natural gas grill once by the pool. We used to put together four chairs on the patio around one table and enjoyed our meal outdoors. The table with benches and umbrella by the river is also a nice place to have a meal, but the plastic benches collect rain water inside and it was hard to make them dry. The bathroom in our suite has been recently renovated and it looked brand new. The entire place is very quiet and peaceful, you can hardly see any other tenants around your room. The complimentary wifi is nice although it is slower than I am used to. The resort is only one and a half miles from the edge of Estes Park and it is downhill, we could reach it in 20 minutes walking slowly. Free shuttles run to and from the village every 30 minutes. Nicky's restraurant next to the resort is a convenient place to have a quick lunch. Overall, we are very happy we picked this resort for our peaceful vacation and reunion with our friends.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deer Crest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Crest Resort

Address: 1200 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517 (Formerly Deer Crest Chalet)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Estes Park
#7 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deer Crest Resort is located on the Beautiful Fall River. We are a quiet, relaxing getaway for Adults only! Conveniently located between Town and the Entrance to Rocky Mt National Park. Great restaurant next door on the Fall River. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Deer Crest Hotel Estes Park
Deer Crest Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deer Crest Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.