We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Crest Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deer Crest Resort
Save
You added Deer Crest Resort to your Saves list
1200 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517 (Formerly Deer Crest Chalet)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
We have a great location!
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Erie, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

My fiance and I just stayed at the Deer Crest for an extended weekend. We had been loyal to another hotel for our 2-3 yearly trips to Estes Park, but that hotel had closed for the Thanksgiving/Christmas season.

Well, we are so GLAD they were closed, as it gave us the chance to try the Deer Crest. We had read many good reviews here at TripAdvisor, especially noting the cleanliness of the room.

We booked the Riverfront Deluxe King room for the weekend. When we walked into our room, we noticed that it smelled so clean and fresh. The room was beautifully decorated with a fine bedspread with matching lamp covers, and beautiful mint green sheets. The bed was very comfortable, a little on the firm side, which is how we like a mattress. Maid service during our stay couldn't have been better.

The owner Ken was very friendly, as was the person who checked us in.

The grounds were lovely, with tables and swings along the river. Our view from the room was terrific. We saw a trio of 3 male elks, 2 that were practicing their fighting skills, locking and clicking their racks.

We now have a new favorite place to stay in Estes Park. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Stay on the 2nd floor, views are better and more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    49
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
13
127
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed here for the weekend of 28/29th October 2011. The property from the outside didn't look anything special, but it more than made up for it on the inside.
Our accommodation, which was the Bear Den Suite, was very, very clean and the room was serviced daily. It was exactly as described being decorated in a cabin theme with black bear decoration here and there. The fire place was huge with an open log fire (gas effect).
The bathroom was plenty big enough with hot water at all times of the day. The kitchen was very well equipped with microwave, toaster, coffee percolator, fridge freezer etc and all the pots and pans you might need, also very clean.
The bedroom area was adequate with a queen size bed and nightstands either side. A large chest of drawers and a built in closet would house a weeks worth of clothes easily. We found the bed to be comfortable and the whole suite was very warm, being as there was a blizzard going on outside.
The property has WiFi with a strong signal, staff were friendly and stayed in the background unless you needed them. The property is adult only which made for a very tranquil weekend.
The river runs along the back of the property alongside the BBQ's. Charcoal and matches were supplied free of charge, so we took the opportunity to use one rather than cook inside.
We also ate at The Trailhead restaurant which is near the entrance to RMNP. We ordered Elk Burgers and Elk Stew, both of which were very tasty. There is a Safeway's in Estes town (off H/W 34), which is useful for groceries.
We never had time to use the hot tub, but other guests were enjoying the view from the tub which is undercover.
RMNP is just a short ride away and being so close, it was a treat to be able to rise early and go into the park to see the sunrise over the mountains. The only wildlife we saw around the property were wild turkeys, but I'm sure lots more creatures frequent the area being so close to trees and the river.

Room Tip: Choose a suite, there's lots of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We rented a mini suite, we were so happy with everything. The kitchenette was useful, the room was large and the location was very nice. The only knock would be the bed was a little hard, but the seats along the river, the hottub, and the view out our front door were all very nice. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: For adults only, no children or pets
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
147 hotel reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Having its location along the river where there is a 'waterfall' is nice.
One of the entrances to Rocky Mountain NP is just down the highway from Deer Crest.
There is a grassy area behind the building, and there are several trees along the riverside.
The building has 26 units on two levels. Upper level is about the same elevation as the parking lot and the office. The lower level is downstairs, close to and along the riverside area. Our wi-fi connection was fast. Our bathroom was quite small, The whole 'resort' is dated. Most of the walkways to the stairs and parking area are completely dark at night. We found this to be hazardous, especially at any step downs or stairs. Have a flashlight ready if you have to walk around out there in the dark. And, have some 'OFF' for the biting bugs outside. There is no place to eat here, but we were referred to nearby places for dining.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwoDeer1, Owner at Deer Crest Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
We were surprised at the comment regarding "walkways to stairs and parking area were dark at night." There is a light outside each room in the walkways and hallways. There are LED lights along all the stairways. There are globe lights along the River. There are lights in the parking lot and in the trees and along the walk from the parking lot to the rooms. All of these lights are on at night. They are on timers that are set to turn off about 5-6am. Maybe there was a timer issue? We have checked this out and all seems to be working properly. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Stayed in the Fall River suite for five nights, first time to Estes Park and RMNP. This location and resort were all we could hope for. Simple, clean, spacious resort in a great location to both Fall River and main gateway to RMNP, as well as town of Estes itself. Some mentioned walking into town from here, definietly doable, approx a mile or so, but I'll save my hiking for the park though.

Fall River Suite was on river side (which was wonderful to listen to both morning and night) we stayed during late August so windows were wide open. This room was steps to pool (very clean and not used much as all other than me!) and the indoor hot tub (plenty of pool towels provided in here). Outdoor bench and small outdoor chairs and table facing river, just you, cup of coffee and the resident marmot.

Resort itself was very quiet, most guests 40 and older, so it was nice after days of hiking to come back to peace and quiet of the rushing river only.

Fall River Suite was one very large open style room. It was spacious, with large kitchen area with stove top, microwave, toaster, coffeemaker, kitchen suppiles (very adequate), full refer also. Note there is not oven at all (glad we remembered that (in what is a large kitchen) before we bought that pre-made pizza to bake from the supermarket in town!). Full counter in kitchen, with two counter chairs. Large king bed (comfortable) and two person love seat in open area with one wall a large stone gas fireplace. Good amount of drawer space in bureau/entertainment center. There is a seperate sink area outside of the bath that shares space with an "open" closet/luggage area. Good amount of space here to operate in mornings etc. Bath is smaller with bath/shower combo, but very adequate - usual size like bath's used to be before they got huge as so many are built now. Plenty of towels, decent quality.

Housekeeping was excellent and decoratng was very home spun, keeping with the nature theme of the area. It was really comfortable, felt like the family resorts of yesteryear, so we really enjoyed that spirit while being surrounded by the awesome Rockies.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos
Top Contributor
338 reviews 338 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed at the Deer Crest many years ago and after a disappointing stay at a B&B downtown several years ago decided to try the Deer Crest again. We weren't disappointed. Though the rooms are somewhat dated they are well maintained and are along the beautiful Fall River. We stayed in the downstairs end unit and we were happy with our choice.
The positives: Very nice owners and a great lawn area out the back where you sit back and relax right along the river. At night it is so nice to hear the sounds of the river rushing past nearby. The king bed was very comfortable and the room was large enough to fit a small table and two chairs. Liked that the sink area was separate from the toilet and tub. The small refrigerator was new and didn't humm and rattle as they sometimes do. Liked that there was a DVD and free movies in the main office. We also had a nice private outside area where you could read and relax. The room was spotless. The parking was close by but not outside the door. Good value!
The negatives: Some room noise from upstairs as people walk around. If you are upstairs (as we were our first stay) the access to the rooms was from a walkway that ran on the riverside so if you wanted river views from your windows you also had people walking by your open windows.
Glad we made the decision to return and had a very satisfying stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Great deal for the price, and great deal any way. This was our first stay but it won't be our last. We chose a room without kitchen and still had fridge, micro and coffee maker, so doggy bags from our trips to Tulum's and Egg and I were kept there as well as fruit and things picked up at the Safeway. Location to town is perfect and we enjoyed being able to sit right on the river with the building blocking road noise, which btw was not a concern during the night at all. Free DVD checkouts; comfy bed; very clean and spacious; great owner; fabulous location to RMNP regardless of the entrance you're wanting to use.

Room Tip: Ask for room 108 and bring your fishing rod.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deer Crest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Crest Resort

Address: 1200 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517 (Formerly Deer Crest Chalet)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Estes Park
#7 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deer Crest Resort is located on the Beautiful Fall River. We are a quiet, relaxing getaway for Adults only! Conveniently located between Town and the Entrance to Rocky Mt National Park. Hot tub, WIFI, 32inch Flat Screen Cable TV's, Rooms to Suites with kitchenettes and Fireplaces. Just 5 mins to Entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. Also on Summer Seasonal Free Shuttle Route. Restaurant just 2 min walk with lounge, coffee house, steakhouse & outside seating on the River. Enjoy our peaceful, quiet, Adults only Retreat. 100% Smokefree Riverfront property. Free parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Deer Crest Hotel Estes Park
Deer Crest Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deer Crest Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.