We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, cozy, clean motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Crest Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Deer Crest Resort to your Saves list
Deer Crest Resort
1200 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517 (Formerly Deer Crest Chalet)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free popcorn & movies
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Peaceful, cozy, clean motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

My husband and I are on a 9 day trip in Colorado, and only stayed one night at Deer Crest Resort so that we could see Rocky Mountain National Park. Despite the 2-night minimum stay on the online reservation, we emailed the owners and they were able to accomodate us for 1 night. Most accomodations in the area are for small families at over $200/night so Deer Crest was a much more affordable option for just the 2 of us. The location was pretty good because it was just a short drive back to the downtown area or along the way to the Trail Ridge entrance of RMNP. The room was large, clean, and well-maintained, however, it was rather dated in my opinion. It has the same toiletries as you'd expect from a hotel. In fact, I'm staying at a Sheraton as I'm writing this review, paying much more per night, and the Sheraton does not provide any more than what we had at Deer Crest.

Our room did not have an air-conditioner, but it was okay because there was a ceiling fan and it was actually a little cool at night even in August. The room comes with a small microwave and fridge which would have been really useful if we stayed a few more nights and got to use the BBQ on the beautiful green lawn alongside the river. Sitting by the river was so peaceful.

The only complaint that I had was that the towels were starting to show its age and wasn't very absorbant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    55
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
16
147
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed two nights and it was so pleasant and relaxing. The room was large, very clean and the only sounds at night, if you opened the window, was the river flowing below the large beautiful lawn. We look forward to visiting here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We spent the last three nights of our US trip here and were verypleased to do so.
The accommodation is a little old fashioned with slightly chintzy furnishings. The bathrooms (well certainly ours, with stained bath) could do with updating.
However the room was comfortable, with a nice sofa and big bed, there was TV, frdge and microwave. The sink was outside the bathroom and there was a hairdryer and coffee maker. You could get a through draft in the room and there was a fan.
Each room has an outside area. We sat and ate breakfast area on the shared balcony and watched the hummingbirds feed. There is a grassed area with a number of comfortable charis and barbecues and this is all by a little river which makes it all very restful. It was v noisy (the river) when we were there as the waters in all rivers/streams were high. Delightful.
We tried the small pool once (there are pool towels in the hot tub area. It is in a peaceful part of town, on the edges really. Excelllent base for the park.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwoDeer1, Owner at Deer Crest Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
These lovely guests were from the UK. Just to clarify, the word 'chintzy' in Brit form means decor used in a country cottage. (Our new furniture in their room was not cheap) Also stained bath means colored fixtures. We pride ourselves in the cleanliness of our rooms. We appreciate all of our customers and their reviews. Thank you so much!! .... Carrie and Ken...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

If you wish to stay in lodging that captures the feel of the mountains, you can't do any better than this for the price. We are in the midst of a week long stay. This property is situated right beside the Fall River, and there are mountains on both sides. All day and all night you can open your window and hear the relaxing rush of the water. It is so serene and peaceful here. The buildings are older, but they are so well maintained it doesn't really matter. The rooms are spacious. We have two queen beds, a dresser/TV chest, desk, table with chairs, hanging rack, and a micro-fridge. Outside there is a wide balcony under roof, that extends the length of the building. Each room has a small wicker table and chairs for use on the balcony. We sit there for awhile every day, reading or having breakfast, and enjoying the sound of the river. There are flowers, hummingbird feeders, and a marmot who strolls by on occasion. Plenty of seating is available on the lawn by the river. There is a pool and a hot tub, grills, grilling utensils, and picnic tables. Downtown is a short drive away. Staff is very nice. If you want lots of action, I would recommend staying elsewhere. If you want a relaxing serene environment, I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goes, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
85 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Room 207 is very nice, has a big king bed and a great balcony as well.
Rooms are clean and does the job well !
No breakfast but there are a fridge and microwave in the room.
The place is very cozy and quiet next besides the river. Its about a mile from the village, and a tiny bit away from the small main road to the national park.
To the entrance of the park its only a 4 minutes drive.
Enjoy nature from the balcony and see hummingbirds and squirrels, great place to stay !
We saw 2 foxes 2 minutes hiking from our room and sometimes they see a black bear crossing the road.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

A friend an I stayed there for four nights while we toured the Rocky Mountain National Park area. The setting is lovely, right along the Fall River. Our first-floor patio was about 50 feet from the river, which made for a lovely lullaby with the window cracked. We heard very little noise--one advantage of an adults-only place. I'm about 50 and most of the guests seemed at least that, if not older. There were two-seater swings, grills, picnic tables, and Adirondack chairs on the lawn facing the river. We didn't try the pool or the hot tub, but both appeared to be well maintained. The room was clean and the staff helpful and available to answer questions about the area. Would definitely recommend it for a peaceful stay, convenient both to the town of Estes Park and two entrances to the Rocky Mountain National park.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Very happy to return to this hotel. Peace and quiet, tranquil views from our clean and comfortable room. Loved the hummingbirds and all the wonderful wildlife (even a marmot!)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.7 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Estes Park
Comfort Inn Estes Park
#10 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 794 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#15 of 28 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
#2 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 831 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#1 of 28 in Estes Park
5.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
0.9 mi away
Murphy's River Lodge
Murphy's River Lodge
#5 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Crest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Crest Resort

Address: 1200 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517 (Formerly Deer Crest Chalet)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Estes Park
#2 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#12 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deer Crest Resort is located on the Beautiful Fall River. We are a quiet, relaxing getaway for Adults only! Conveniently located between Town and the Entrance to Rocky Mt National Park. Hot tub, Free WIFI, 32inch Flat Screen Cable TV's, Rooms to Suites with kitchenettes and Fireplaces. Just 5 mins to Entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park and just 5 mins to Town, shopping and all Festivals and Activities. Also on Summer Seasonal Free Shuttle Route.Restaurant nearby, just 2 min walk with lounge, coffee house, steakhouse & outside seating on the River. Stocked river for fishing. (Catch & release only). Enjoy our peaceful, quiet, Adults only Retreat. 100% Smokefree Riverfront property. Free parking. Complimentary snowshoes and poles for Winter. Hot tub, firepit, free DVD library. Peaceful, quiet, relaxing getaway. Open All Year! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Deer Crest Hotel Estes Park
Deer Crest Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deer Crest Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.