We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No place left in town” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Estes Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn Estes Park to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn Estes Park
1701 North Lake Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517 (Formerly the Inn at Estes Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Seward, Nebraska
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“No place left in town”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went to Estes over Labor Day weekend. Town was super busy and this was the only hotel with vacancy left the week before to make reservations. Very dated property. No very clean. Breakfast was a carb fest. We had a door that used to lead outside to an entrance, fortunately it was blocked off that no one could get to it on an upper floor. It would not latch. We stayed 2 nights, coffee pot was never rinsed or additional coffee put int room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    57
    57
    26
    34
See reviews for
90
67
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Old dumpy. Checked in through Expedia. Rate was 120. Got checked in bill was 175.

Complained and boy the 120 rate.

Would rather spend twice the rate for a boutique hotel

No hot water. Lots of issues

Won't be back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Don't go to this motel in Estes Park! It is totally run down, they haven't done any renovation for at least 20 years and even basic things don't work (doors do not close properly). Moreover it's not very clean and it smells musty everywhere. The sauna is a ruin, you feel uncomfortable. Some rooms have a balcony and the beds are ok.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

For the price in Estes Park, we received about what I expected. The hotel is in need of renovation. Our room was OK. It was relatively clean. The bed was good. The fridge and coffee maker were fine. The bathroom needs an overhaul. The breakfast was good but the selection is very limited. No meat, or anything fancy. We bought some yogurt at Safeway to supplement.

Room Tip: Given the current state of this hotel I would definitetly recommend checking out the room before one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hebron
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I booked this hotel for two nights based on write up on the web site. we arrived and over all look of the exterior was OH BOY lets go. We checked in and found the hall dark smelley and floor stained. Our room was worse, it smells so bad. The bathroom had toliet seat cover cracked and nasty along with all counters. The fridge freezes. I talked to the staff about the smell. They said it was because it was not used for a while. HELLLO! why in the hell did they not check it. As for the smell I was given a can of air febreze. They said they try find another room but I just do not believe another room would be better. As for the indoor pool. There are just a few lights in there and can not see a thing. I would leave if I could find another hotel. Please spend few extra bucks and not stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodewayInnManager, General Manager at Rodeway Inn Estes Park, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
I'm very sorry you felt this way about our motel. Although we are an older property, I have to say that I don't agree with your "smelly" description. I went into the room the next day and so did two other employees and none of us smelled anything in the room. We did give you a full refund for your stay and also understand that you were asking for a free night for the next night from Choice Hotels. You were given a refund so you had an extra night in your budget and yet you wanted another free night? Truly I believe that the preconceived expectations of a guest are the measure that they go by but our housekeeping staff is very proud of their efforts and so is the management. Rodeway Inn is an economy brand and as such does not have many luxury upgrades but a clean, comfortable room is what we have here. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We did not have a reservation when we arrived in Estes Park, so we decided to try the Rodeway Inn since their sign indicated "Vacancy". We walked in and got a room for 2 nights during our time visiting Rocky Mountain National Park. It was nearly 9:00 in the evening when we arrived and the property seemed to look nice on the outside. Even the lobby was inviting when we walked in to check in. The staff here was very friendly. However, the hotel seems real run down as the room and inner hallways had noticeable wear and tear. It just smelled musty everywhere in this hotel. In our room, the bathroom had multiple rust spots. We found a used tissue near the air conditioning unit and there were several dead bugs in the bathroom and near the TV. The room obviously was not cleaned well. The hotel did have an indoor pool which we prefer and several hotels in Estes Park have outdoor pools. We did not get a chance to use it though. It was kind of nice having a 1st floor room with a door to the outside and the inside hallway because we could park right outside the door and easily bring luggage in and out. We did not find the breakfast enjoyable here at all. There was very few breakfast choices compared to other hotels we have stayed at and nothing appealed to us. The toaster burned our toast and bagels even at the lowest setting. We ended up going to McDonald's for breakfast the 2nd morning. The good thing about this hotel was that it was very budget friendly. We got our room for about $80 per night after tax. Staying at a Hampton Inn later on our trip was over double that for one night. This was not the worst place we ever stayed in but it definitely needs some improvements. We would probably stay here again if they renovated and updated the property a bit. We did not spend a whole lot of time at the hotel because of spending lots of time at Rocky Mountain National Park.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodewayInnManager, General Manager at Rodeway Inn Estes Park, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your very honest review. We do realize that our property has a ways to go to get it as updated as we would like. Since coming to this property we have updated some of the amenities such as a redo of the pool and hot tub area, landscaping and new mattresses. This season we are painting on the outside and over the winter hope to update some of the things that you have mentioned here. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Motel obviously in need of TLC, but staff excellent, pool wonderful, hot tub wonderful, continental breakfast more than adequate. Traveling with four grandchildren and we would stay there again. We had a "family suite" that had ample room for two grannies and four kids..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodewayInnManager, General Manager at Rodeway Inn Estes Park, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thanks very much for your review. Your opinion of our property is very similar to our own! We do hope to make some more upgrades in the near future and look forward to an even better review should you come out to see us again. Please know that we are truly working hard to replace and renew as soon as possible. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn Estes Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Estes Park

Address: 1701 North Lake Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517 (Formerly the Inn at Estes Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rodeway Inn Estes Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Estes Park Hotel Estes Park
Estes Park Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Estes Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.