We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice huge breakfast room which opens late” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Estes Park

Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn Estes Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Estes Park
1701 North Lake Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517 (Formerly the Inn at Estes Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #23 of 29 hotels in Estes Park
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice huge breakfast room which opens late”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Decent place for budget travel. Nice clean rooms for the price. The breakfast room is huge and they don't keep the breakfast stuffs until 11am. Great location just next to downtown and very close to Rocky Mountain National Park.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    32
    42
    21
    32
See reviews for
73
49
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, AR
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

This motel really needs TLC, you walk in the front lobby and it's not bad at all. I suppose for the meetings, they try to make it appear better. But when the attendees go to their rooms, I'll bet their jaws drop. So dated and shabby. I always check the bedding first for the crawlers. As long as I don't spot them, I'll stay. But the makeshift valances in the shower and to hide the fridge back. . .yuck. Even though around the toilet appears reasonably clean, after dropping a towel, I could smell old urine. Not the maids fault - just a cummulative odor. As someone had previously stated for the rate paid, I'm sure I could have done better given a knowledge of other motels in the area. I think this building is too big to properly maintain without extensive staffing and earnest effort to detail. Not for me ever again - no more Rodeways.

Room Tip: Picking a good room, would mean staying elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THORNTON
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

When I go to the Rodeway Inn I am always treated very well. The staff is great, the amenities are great, and I always have a lot of fun!! The rooms could be updated a bit but they are always clean and they are really big!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Some people you can never please. Those who complain that they had to clean the rooms themselves, or the service was terrible, blah, blah, blah. Then why did you stay at the common man hotel? oh yeah, couldn't find the ritz carlton? This is a very average hotel! stains on the carpet, leaky, odd bathroom fixtures, cable less than desirable, out dated tv's...kind of like my house, but if your from the upper class fine china, manicured lawns, BMW driving sect, again, why are you so cheap to stay here? but, i didn't die, no funky smells, no bed bugs, no gun shots in the middle of the night. i didn't have to clean my room, everyone was nice, what is your royal highness actually looking for? It was a good night's sleep, hot shower and clean, not brand new, eat off the floor clean, but i wasn't wiping peanut butter off the tables, nor wiping anything off, no dust, or looking for a clean spot on the bed to sleep. sheets are crisp and clean along with a nice bed spread. i think people equate decor with cleanliness. i wouldn't decorate my house with some of this gawdy stuff but i sure wasn't calling the health department for decon either. PROS: clean, pool, breakfast, location CONS: breakfast ain't much, tv was minimal, hallways very narrow and maze like feefing, a bit pricey for average USA, but average for tourist town USA. If this was hotel 6 i'd give it a B+, but as a rodeway inn, part of the choice hotel network i expected a little more modern, but as with most tourist towns, they want the bucks without the investment, and things are getting lean...i'd give this one a solid C.

p.s. i park relatively away from everyone, not in the corner, but in an area that no one else generally goes, and this includes at the mall, walmarts, krogers, and walgreens, (and hotels!) and i take 2 spaces and slightly catty corner, because i don't want door dings, scrapes and all other evil that can be doled out from a person with too many bags, shopping carts and inattention. why then does someone always have to park next to me, making sure they give me 6 inches to enter my car, even though there are several spaces around for them to perform the exact same manuever? i DON'T do this when space is limited, yet someone is always rudely close to my car when i come back out! and usually i might add their car is something i traded in 10 years ago! that may answer it! they don't respect their own car, why would they respect mine?? just give me a little space you lot ragers!...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Yucatan
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Looking at previous reviews it is clear that opinions vary greatly about this hotel. Well first the negative point for me ... the exterior of the property is in bad shape, the woodwork is rotting in parts and needs painting soon.

However, when we entered the building we were struck by the well furnished, spacious lounge and reception area. The front desk staff were very helpful and efficient, check-in was over in an instant and they happily gave us directions. If you are on the upper floor, they have a lift off the lounge area.

We had a premium room with a microwave and small fridge, paying an extra $10 for that. It included a flat screen TV and a table to work at. The bathroom was of a good size with good quality fittings. We had absolutely no complaints about the cleanliness of the room. From our (small) balcony we had a good view across the lake.

Breakfast was above the standard we have found in other hotels that charge a similar price. They had all the usual cereals, breads, juices, but also waffles, hard boiled eggs and fresh fruit. There are more than enough tables to sit at and the man attending the area was very diligent about keeping everything stocked up.

We used the pool and found the temperature fine, though a section of the flooring seems to have come unstuck. So like the exterior, this looks to be another area that requires some attention and investment by the owners.

Rodeway Inn is not a luxury hotel, to get that in Estes Park you will have to pay a lot more, but it most certainly is NOT dirty and poorly run. For the price, I thought it was very decent.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake and pay the extra $10 for a fridge & microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

It was not a very satisfactory experience. My son and his wife were given the key to an occupied room, and when we approached the front desk to explain that the room was already in use the office staff was very nonchalant, we had to actually ask for another room. The bathrooms were extremely dirty so we cleaned them. I am assuming that the housekeeping crew was overwhelmed. I stay in choice hotel properties frequently and this is the worst experience that I have ever had, definitely would not recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Rolling into Estes Park on Saturday evening without reservations may doom you a stay in this relic from the '50s, where you'll pay about $140 nightly! Worn in every way and tattered beyond belief, the city of Estes Park should condemn this place as a blight on its reputation. Sleep in your car or simply walk the streets all night, but avoid This dump at all costs!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rodeway Inn Estes Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Estes Park

Address: 1701 North Lake Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517 (Formerly the Inn at Estes Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Rodeway Inn Estes Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Estes Park Hotel Estes Park
Estes Park Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Estes Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.