We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location near RMNP” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nicky's Resort

Nicky's Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Nicky's Resort to your Saves list
Nicky's Resort
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1360 Fall River Rd., Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location near RMNP”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I need a clean place to spend the night while visiting RMNP. Nicky did the trick. Nice recently remodel room. I was not looking for fancy. Just clean and basic. Good offseason rate. I would stay there next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    36
    15
    3
    6
See reviews for
17
39
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Booked a promotional package months ago at an amazing rate. Stayed in Cabin number 1 for a weekend. We checked in late on Friday night. It was technically after the office was supposed to be closed but someone was still there ready to help us. She was the only staff member I encountered during our stay and she was super friendly.

Cabin was nice. It was comfortable, very quiet and clean. The furnishings were rustic. It had the kitchen and an outdoor gas grill. I wanted to cook out one night but was overridden by the wife. Firewood was available if we wanted to use the fireplace. It had a large deck that overlooked the parking area. There was an old school swing set a little bit down the hill that we were able to watch the kids from the deck. It also had a deck behind the cabin with a table and chairs. We did not use the pool as it was too cold. TV in living room had a built in DVD player. This was nice for Sat night with tired kiddos to be able to watch a movie.

I did walk into the restaurant / bar area to see if they allowed “to go beers” to be consumed outside the bar but still on property and they said no. Perhaps a missed opportunity for the resort? We did not use the restaurant / bar but it did look rustic and cozy.

Cabin backed up to a mountain/hill. I actually took the kids for a fairly quick but strenuous hike up to the top of the hill. Resort is close to town and RMNP entrance. Over the entire weekend, we must of saw 25-30 elk roaming the roads heading both into town and up towards RMNP.

My family and I enjoyed our stay here. We would absolutely consider Nicky's on a future trip. Thank you for the relaxing weekend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time in our 1 bed suite, with a fireplace. Very clean and updated to fit the cabin lifestyle. Would recommend this for a couple if family getaway. Employees at the front deck are very knowledgable with local hiking spots and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Boy oh BOY! What a pleasant surprise this Resort turned out to be! We got in on one of their "off season" deals - not really expecting much. We had booked a river unit w/fireplace, lucky since the weather was anything but warm. The room had a front door and sliding glass door out to a front deck. This made the room seem larger and really light - actually more like a private little "cabin". We also had a view of the river and a park-like area setting, which, I'm certain, would be really lovely in the summer. There is a pool, however, it appears there would be plenty of shade should one choose to get out of the sun. We were within walking distance to the restaurant which turned out to be quite handy in light of the fact it was pouring down rain and sleet! Management was quite accommodating indicating they had hair dryers on loan - very nice instead of one of those basic "in room attached appliances". We were also informed we could have more coffee packs if we wanted! Now that's nice for sure! We'll certainly return!

Room Tip: Rooms with a river view could be noisy during peak times The lodge has at least two units with kitc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I stay at this great little resort regularly, in all seasons of the year. We have been doing this for several years now and absolutely just love it !! The staff are friendly and welcoming, the accommodations are clean and comfortable with recently upgraded amenities and the setting is exquisite. This woodland-style Inn offers three types of rooms--the lodge rooms, river rooms and a couple of spacious cabins with decks. The grounds are gorgeous, enhancing the Colorado mountain ambiance with a river flowing through the property. There are sturdy patio chairs outside of just about every room for one's viewing pleasure. An added bonus is the convenience of having the legendary Nicky's Steakhouse Restaurant right there on the property for breakfast, lunch and dinner. This location is perfect as it's just a few miles each way, right between the town of Estes Park and the entry to Rocky Mountain National Park. We were at Nicky's this past weekend and have already made reservations for our next stay...always a good value and so, so much fun!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Both my wife and I stayed here in early September. The room was clean, and the bed was very comfortable. Nice and quite location along the river. Bathroom was a bit small and the sink was outside the bathroom at one end of the bedroom. Parking was convenient. Breakfast consisted of coffee, granola bars and small packaged muffins. There was a restaurant and a very inviting looking patio along the river. All in all, on the average side.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed in Estes park last year and left early due to bad wearher. Nicky's had a nice restraunt and the lodge looked nice we booked a room there this year and have just returned from a great trip. The lodge was very clean and the restraunt accross the parking lot was a real plus. The rooms were not big but perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nicky's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicky's Resort

Address: 1360 Fall River Rd., Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nicky's Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Venere so you can book your Nicky's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicky`s Hotel Estes Park
Nickys Hotel Vail

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nicky's Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.