We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nicky's Resort

Nicky's Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Nicky's Resort to your Saves list
Nicky's Resort
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1360 Fall River Rd., Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Centennial, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Both my wife and I stayed here in early September. The room was clean, and the bed was very comfortable. Nice and quite location along the river. Bathroom was a bit small and the sink was outside the bathroom at one end of the bedroom. Parking was convenient. Breakfast consisted of coffee, granola bars and small packaged muffins. There was a restaurant and a very inviting looking patio along the river. All in all, on the average side.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hics, Manager at Nicky's Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2014
Thank-you We Appreciate Your Business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    38
    18
    4
    6
See reviews for
20
42
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed in Estes park last year and left early due to bad wearher. Nicky's had a nice restraunt and the lodge looked nice we booked a room there this year and have just returned from a great trip. The lodge was very clean and the restraunt accross the parking lot was a real plus. The rooms were not big but perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hics, Manager at Nicky's Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2014
Thank-you We Appreciate Your Business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Our room had been freshly painted and was very clean. The bed was comfortable and we found the towels to be of good quality. It was nice to have a small fridge in the room. From reading other reviews we knew to bring a hair dryer with us. All our interactions with staff were warm and friendly. It was nice to have a restaurant on site and we enjoyed a breakfast there and also found the service to be friendly. When we booked Nicky's we knew that the motel would be more 'rustic' than what we might find in the city, so we found the country style furniture charming and we were not disappointed in any way. In fact, for the price we found Nicky's to be very good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hics, Owner at Nicky's Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2014
Thank-You All Rooms Now Have Hair Dryers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topeka
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The location is ideal if you want to get away from the hub-bub of a busy life. Wonderful mountain views and sounds of flowing water. Good clean rooms with easy access from the parking area. The restaurant onsite is very convenient and the outside tables next to the river adds a wonderful touch. They had a wonderful piano player who added to the whole ambience of the site as his music could be heard from one's room. The restaurant does need some updating and management needs to review training of some of their servers. We had problems one of the nights with our server consistently needing to be reminded of our food and drink orders. This did not spoil our overall experience though and I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hics, Manager at Nicky's Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2014
Sorry We Do Not Own The Restaurant. Please Post On Nicky's Steakhouse Thank-You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We were pleased with the room overall, except the thin vertical blinds on the patio windows combined with the lights on outside made it hard to get to sleep. The rooms on the second (first in the UK) were easily accessible as the parking was up the hill. The meal we had in the restaurant was quite good and reasonably priced, with pleasant efficient service. On the negative side, I had to go and collect a hair drier from reception, then as we were checking under the bed for lost items I discovered the plastic band from a six-pack, an indication that the house-keeping standards were not up to scratch.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hics, Manager at Nicky's Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2014
All Rooms Now Have Hair Dryers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I booked a room in June for a wedding in early November. As happens with life, plans changed and I realized I would not be able to attend the wedding. I called to cancel my reservation on July 30th and was told my request had to be cleared by a manager, at which time I would have to pay a cancellation fee. No such fee was ever explained when I booked the room. I did find it on the website eventually after further exploration (though, poor grammar makes the cancellation policy statement a bit confusing). Knowing this was likely a ridiculous fee I'd overlooked when I booked in good faith, I was willing to accept the fee and move on. However, when the manager did call me back five days later, she called at 7:45 on a Saturday morning, was incredibly abrupt and hung up on me before I was able to get a cancellation confirmation number. Feeling uneasy about the interaction, I made note to call for the cancellation confirmation number. Before calling I noticed my account had been credited the amount of the room, less the cancellation fee. Shortly thereafter, my account reflected TWO MORE debits for the full amount of the room. When I contacted them about this they were lackadaisical in their response time and, yet again, the manager was less than polite or apologetic for the error. Needless to say, the staff appears to be friendly and helpful, but the management and practices of management leave plenty to be desired -- namely basic politeness and customer service skills. I've stayed here and eaten in the restaurant before under circumstances in which I did not make the arrangements or deal with the staff and found it to be fine. I would have likely stayed there again in the event that plans worked out better (though changing plans for one night over three months in advance does NOT seem like poor planning on my part). But I will NOT stay here and will be just as vocal with friends and colleagues who frequent the Estes area. I have never written a review before, here or anywhere else, as I am usually an easy going person and consumer. But this was one of the more downright awful experiences I've had.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hics, Owner at Nicky's Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2014
All Motels Have To Charged A Cancel Fee To Cover Credit Card Charges . They Charge Us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We were really impressed by the location - river, bridge, outside seating, easy access to the room, easy load / unload, nice tables and chairs for a morning coffee, unfortunately the resort's restaurant didn't match the surroundings.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hics, Manager at Nicky's Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Nicky's Resort! Im glad you enjoyed sitting out a long the river with our little coffee table set ups. We would love to welcome you back to Nicky's ANYTIME in the future, we welcome all of our honest reviews and love hearing them, whether it be praise or something we can work on we cherish all of your input!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nicky's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicky's Resort

Address: 1360 Fall River Rd., Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nicky's Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Nicky's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicky`s Hotel Estes Park
Nickys Hotel Vail

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nicky's Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.