We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy with My Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saddle & Surrey Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Saddle & Surrey Motel to your Saves list
Saddle & Surrey Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1341 S. St. Vrain Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very Happy with My Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I agree with the excellent reviews here. I stayed here two nights in late Sep. The room was clean and large, the bathroom was roomy and spotless, loved having a fridge and microwave and a futon with plenty of floor space and very comfortable beds. Would very happily stay here again for a longer visit. The breakfast items were plentiful and good and the front desk very helpful and friendly. Couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    60
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
57
131
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My fiancé and I chose Estes Park for our elopement. We wanted to keep
things inexpensive, and when we looked on Trip Advisor and saw the
glowing reviews for The Saddle and Surrey it looked like it would fit
the bill. I was a little hesitant about choosing a small roadside
motel for our special occasion, but I am so glad we did. From the
moment we walked in Barb was incredibly nice and welcoming. When we
told her we were there to get married she was so excited, it was like
we were telling an old friend. She was very informative about the
area, and even helped us pick a new location in the national park for our
wedding after she told us that a forest fire would keep us from getting to
our original location. We stayed in a room with a king bed and
kitchen. The bed was extremely comfortable, the kitchen was well
equipped, the bathroom had plenty of big fluffy towels, and the whole
room was meticulously clean. It was close enough to town to be
convenient, but far enough away to be peaceful and quiet. The rooms had
a nice view, and we even had elk roam through in the mornings. When we
got back to our room after the wedding we were greeted with a bouquet
of roses and a wonderful card from Barb on our kitchen table. When we
went to the office to thank her and tell her how wonderful our stay
had been so far she was so modest about it all! As we were checking
out on our last day she even took a night off our bill as a wedding
gift. I look forward to our next trip to Estes Park, and we will for
sure be staying at the Saddle and Surrey again.

Room Tip: If you are a taller or bigger person, you might find the rooms with a shower only a little tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Honestly, the other reviewers are not wrong on this! The motel is a little older but VERY, VERY, VERY clean and nice. The lady at the service desk was super pleasant and helpful. The towels are thick and the sheets are amazing. The rooms are very spacious. We didn't hear any cars or any other guests for that matter. When we come back to Estes, we would certainly stay here again. *One small thing...I wish they had a coffee pot in the rooms though! For us early risers waiting until 8:00 is terrible. But trust me, in comparison with the pros of staying at this place, that one con is nothing!
Worth the price and I can't recommend this place enough! We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I had pre booked two nights (or I thought I had but I need to read my emails more carefully) but only one was logged when we arrived. Sorted within minutes thankfully.
Everything has been mentioned about this gem previously. We don't tend to use roadside motels either but the reviews made it a must and we were not disappointed. Rooms were spotless, roomy enough and all that you needed was provided. Breakfast consisted of porridge, biscuits and pastries (which we try not to eat too much of on our trips as it is pretty easy to put on weight over three weeks in the US!), Nothing but nothing was too much trouble. Unfortunately this was our third trip to Estes Park and there is still so much we want to see in the US so I doubt that we will be returning (other than we like to use Denver airport which is not to far away) but if we were to return,Saddle and Surrey here we come.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is a wonderful motel..The quaintness of a small motel but with all the comfort of a big motel. The beds are very comfortable, the towels nice and thick, a very rooming room with a small fridge and microwave and it is spotless. The owners are really friendly and there is delicious coffee and pastries in the morning.
We stayed there the first night and liked it so much that we stay at it again when we came back through Estes at the end of the week. The value can't be beat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadwater, Nebraska
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We don't usually stay in roadside motels as we like the beds in the bigger chains and the dining and bars. However, this evening we were just passing through Estes Park and needed a room on our way home. Loved the cleanliness and comfort of the room and bed. Nice flatscreen TV. Doesn't have all the amenities of a larger hotel such as shampoo, conditioner, etc, but it is homey and well worth the price!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here for a night when overnighting in Estes Park. Very convienent to town, clean, comfortable beds, quiet and decent continental breakfast, fridge and microwave.. Would definately stay here again Great value for the price! Even had a nice mountain view from our room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Saddle & Surrey Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saddle & Surrey Motel

Address: 1341 S. St. Vrain Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#6 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saddle & Surrey Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Saddle & Surrey Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saddle And Surrey Motel
Saddle & Surrey Hotel Estes Park
Saddle Surrey Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saddle & Surrey Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.