We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Atomosphere...And Good Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hunters Chop House

Hunters Chop House
1690 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8938
970-586-6962
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 114 restaurants in Estes Park
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
“Good Atomosphere...And Good Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The place in here is really interesting. All kinds of stuff animals kind of makes you feel in the mountains. I had the fish and chips. It was cooked perfectly!! Nice and crisp all the way thru with a great flakey outside. My wife said she had one of the best salads in a long time, the carmel something salad. Huge portions for both of us and the fish and chips were only 9 bucks that night..Service was friendly, attentive and kept our drinks full.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

58% Recommend
    95
    53
    30
    32
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Estes Park, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best ever fish and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The decor is brilliant, the service wonderful, the owners charming and the fish and chips is the best ever! We have dined here several times over the past few weeks and have not been at all disappointed. The red chili is award winning and very good on its own or as part of a chili burger. The restaurant has lots of weekly specials that are very good as well. If you haven't been before, put it on your list of things to do......you'll be glad you did.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lunch great, dinner ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Had a really nice lunch with good service. My wife had a very nice salmon salad, which was beautifully presented and tasted great. My honey chipotle chicken was fab too. We returned a couple of nights later but service was half hearted - they seemed to be anxious to close and go home - and the steaks were very average.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“nice decor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Service was good, as was the decor. My rib eye steak (on special)was very good. The loaded potatoe was a disappointment. They were small and over cooked. Not much on them, a few chopped green onions, no cheese or bacon. The chicken fried straek was very tough. The gravey and mashed potatoes were good. The bread was a very small loaf and bland.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
2 reviews
“No one home”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We walked in, very few people there at 3 PM. No one greeted us after almost 5 minutes. There were no menus so we could check to see if we even wanted to be there. Still no one showed up. We left.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunters Chop House also viewed

 

Been to Hunters Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunters Chop House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.