We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Poppy's Pizza & Grill

Poppy's Pizza & Grill
342 E Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
970 586 8282
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 99 Restaurants in Estes Park
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Brawley, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The food here was delicious. My husband got pizza and I was a little chilly so I ordered soup and it was soo good! We had a slight problem with the bill, the waiter mixed our table and another tables up, but he cleared it up and everything was fine. I don't know if it was a family owned place, but it seemed like it, and I liked the feel. All the staff was very helpful.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    179
    74
    40
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“OK, but Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Before we ate here we read every other review of pizza places in Estes Park. Either they had lousy seating options, more designed for take-out (there were five of us) or there were limited vegetarian options on the menu. We were all set to head for Cheesy Lees Amazing Pizza until we found out that it was closed due to a move to a new location. We finally settled on Poppy’s. Now I am wondering if we shouldn’t have ordered takeout from someplace else and gone back to our rental and ate at the kitchen table. We arrived around 8 PM, the place was crowded and we were seated at a four top booth with a chair on the end. After sitting in the booth for a few minutes, the hostess saved us and moved us to a larger round table. Our server was on his second night of training and clearly needed more menu experience. He was very nice and tried his damndest. Three of our group are either current or former servers, so we tried not to beat him up. We tried the onion rings and the Colors of Italy Bruschetta for appetizers. The onion rings were cold and greasy and the Colors of Italy came with cold cheese topped baguette. The other items were ok but nothing to write home about. We all agreed that it was fortunate that we had a coupon for a free onion ring. We decided to order 5 different individual pizzas and I think it was unanimous that the pizzas were pretty good, not the best we have ever had but eatable. They were hot and the toppings and crusts pretty good. The only other complaint was that wife and another female member of our party were seated under the AC outlet and were cold throughout the whole mean. I am sure nobody wanted to ask to be moved yet again. I really think we will be trying someplace else for Pizza on our next visit to Estes Park.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We ate several times at Poppy's during out stay in Estes Park. They have a nice patio area right on the river walk, the river was roaring making for a neat experience. Service was very prompt, and I found the tables, restrooms and restaurant in general to be very clean. Food was delicious, and nice size portions. As many of the reviews on TA have said, the pizza was tasty and the beer cold.. nice experience after a day hiking in the park. Free parking close by. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Went here once for dinner, went back for apps!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had dinner here one time and returned for drinks because of the outside seating near the river.

In both of our visits to this location we had great service, great food, and great drinks! The outside seating next to the river was awesome and we really enjoyed our experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascocita, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice place to grab a bite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Good pizza, beer and burgers. Great location along the Big Thompson River...ask to sit outside to enjoy the babbling sounds of the river.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poppy's Pizza & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Poppy's Pizza & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poppy's Pizza & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.