We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at a reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Horn Restaurant

Big Horn Restaurant
401 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9030
970-586-2792
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 114 restaurants in Estes Park
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Holland, Ohio
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good food at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We saw an advertisement in a brochure about this restaurant and decided to try it. We were not disappointed. The staff was very friendly and attentive to us. The food was well worth the price we paid and we were not disappointed. I tried Liver & Onions and it was excellent. Near the main part of Estes Park. We'll likely return before we leave the area.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    206
    134
    57
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canon City, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth the visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had lunch at the Big Horn, pleasantly surprised with how big the portions were. The prices were about average for Estes Park and the food was very good/fresh. Our wait person was also pleasant and efficient.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Breakfast was good and hearty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was a great little restaurant. We went to the Big Horn for breakfast. The servings were pretty large. The food was yummy. Great place for breakfast when in Estes Park!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Food, Even Better Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We are currently on vacation in Estes Park, Co. and we came upon the Big Horn Restaurant through TripAdvisor. Our first trip to the restaurant was for supper. Upon our entry, we were immediately greeted by a very friendly hostess who showed us our table. Our waitress was extremely friendly, the food (Atlantic Cod and Chicken Fried Steak) was very tasty and we were given big portions.
We were so impressed with the food and service, we returned the following morning for breakfast. My daughter and I both had the biscuits n' gravy....DELICIOUS!! Once again, our waiter was attentIve, friendly, and offered us some great suggestions on horseback riding in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were staying close by the restaurant and picked up deli sandwiches on a night we didn't feel like going out. They were really good. We decided to try them for dinner and had an excellent experience. The atmosphere is homey, the service was excellent and the food was terrific. With dinner comes salad bar and homemade soup. This night they had vegetable soup,and we could have made a meal of it, it was so delicious. They have a lot more than barbecue. We chose a trout dinner and a grilled chicken dinner with some wine. Both dinners were outstanding. Prices were reasonable and we would highly recommend The Big Horn

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Big Horn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Horn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.