We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious pizza, friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Picnic In The Park - CLOSED

Picnic In The Park
552 W. Elkhorn Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517 (Formerly Picnic in the park)
+1 970-586-7275
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Delivery
Description: September 17, 2013 following the Disastrous Colorado Floods...Picnic In The Park will Re- Open on February 1st. 2014 and Ready to Serve Estes Park Locals and Visitors!Picnic In The Park is a Wood Fired Pizzeria and Deli located at 552 W. Elkhorn Avenue in Estes Park, CO, just West of Downtown and 4 miles from the main entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park located next to the historic Elkhorn Lodge on the Big Thompson River. Picnic In The Park features authentic Neapolitan style wood fired pizza using Italian imported "00" Caputo flour, Italian imported San Marzano tomatoes which are grown at the base of Mt. Vesuvius in the rich volcanic soil near Naples and we use only the best high quality, freshly prepared, natural and low to no preservative ingredients available. Our NY Style Deli Sandwich is famous and touted as the best in town and true to and rivaling those on the east coast. The quality of our food and the wood firing shines through in the great taste experience you will have with any menu choice at Picnic In The Park. In the summer season, Picnic In The Park turns on its Rotisserie Oven and roasts chicken, corn on the cob (seasonally available) and serves traditional style picnic sides like potato salad and baked beans. We will create you a wonderful picnic basket meal in a traditional picnic basket or backpack that you can take along and treat your family to in the park or at our outdoor seating. Or try a great sandwich and snacks stuffed in your backback for a majestic RMNP hike. When you are finished with your day in the beauty of RMNP, treat yourself and your hungry family to a wonderful mouth-watering pizza hand made and fired to perfection in just minutes. Picnic In The Park prides itself on Friendliness, Cleanliness, and Quality and we work hard to be consistent in all of these areas so that every customer experience is as good and as important as the last. We not only greet you when you come in but we greet you when you leave, we are always happy to meet new people and visit with both new and old friends. We are newly remodeled, with modern yet rustic decor, and we provide an atmosphere that is not only inviting but interesting to experience. Our wood fired pizza making is an art, an Estes Park experience, and a memory to make. Don't miss this fantastic option during your next Estes Park visit, stop in and give us a try! Delivery available.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious pizza, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Loved the fresh ingredients especially the pizza sauce with fresh basil. Home made salad dressings were great. The owners were super friendly. The wood burning pizza oven makes the atmosphere warm. Very clean. Right on the river.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    23
    4
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Illinois, United States
1 review
“One of the best pizzas anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We are from the Chicago area where pizza is great but we both think think that Pizza in the park beats anything back home. The wood burning brink oven makes the best crust, crisp on the bottom but a little chewy on top with just a slight wood smoke taste. The toppings are all very fresh and the combinations they have put together all sound great but not weird like some pizza places are. The sandwiches look and sound excellent, haven't had one yet but we will before our trip is over. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We highly recommend this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
1 review
“"Real woodfire pizza!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have had wood fire pizza before that was not even cook dinner true blue with fire oven fireplace. This was the best pizza I have ever had.after coming here for the first time me and my boyfriend have been back everyday for lunch.the pizza has just enough of all the right ingredients, it is not dry and the sauce is fantastic.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Wood fired oven gourmet pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The inviting smell of a wood fire as you open your car door in the parking lot makes this small restaurant appealing before you even open the door. The young man who waited on us was very friendly and told us about the pizza dough and sauce recipe coming from Italy. And this wood fired pizza did remind us of the wonderful pizza we had in Venice. We devoured a half and half large, all meat and a vegetarian. Fortunately, the restaurant was spared in the recent flooding in the Estes Park area. A tree log made a dam of sorts in the parking lot diverting flood waters, and how lucky for visitors who can still enjoy the freshly made minimally processed homemade food.

The homemade warm bread pudding with Whiskey sauce was absolutely delicious. Yum! I have had lots of bread pudding, but this is among the very best. I'll stop again for pizza and bread pudding next time I'm in Estes Park. Or maybe try one of the other interesting menu items. What a lucky find and so close to the entrance of Rocky Mountain National Park where the elk are so interesting to watch.

Seating is limited and there seems to be a good carry out business.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“Nice pizzas and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

These guys make some very good wood fired pizzas. The service was great too. If you are in the area... don't miss out!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picnic In The Park also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Picnic In The Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.