We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Six months” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Picnic In The Park - CLOSED

Picnic In The Park
552 W. Elkhorn Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517 (Formerly Picnic in the park)
+1 970-586-7275
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Delivery
Description: September 17, 2013 following the Disastrous Colorado Floods...Picnic In The Park will Re- Open on February 1st. 2014 and Ready to Serve Estes Park Locals and Visitors!Picnic In The Park is a Wood Fired Pizzeria and Deli located at 552 W. Elkhorn Avenue in Estes Park, CO, just West of Downtown and 4 miles from the main entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park located next to the historic Elkhorn Lodge on the Big Thompson River. Picnic In The Park features authentic Neapolitan style wood fired pizza using Italian imported "00" Caputo flour, Italian imported San Marzano tomatoes which are grown at the base of Mt. Vesuvius in the rich volcanic soil near Naples and we use only the best high quality, freshly prepared, natural and low to no preservative ingredients available. Our NY Style Deli Sandwich is famous and touted as the best in town and true to and rivaling those on the east coast. The quality of our food and the wood firing shines through in the great taste experience you will have with any menu choice at Picnic In The Park. In the summer season, Picnic In The Park turns on its Rotisserie Oven and roasts chicken, corn on the cob (seasonally available) and serves traditional style picnic sides like potato salad and baked beans. We will create you a wonderful picnic basket meal in a traditional picnic basket or backpack that you can take along and treat your family to in the park or at our outdoor seating. Or try a great sandwich and snacks stuffed in your backback for a majestic RMNP hike. When you are finished with your day in the beauty of RMNP, treat yourself and your hungry family to a wonderful mouth-watering pizza hand made and fired to perfection in just minutes. Picnic In The Park prides itself on Friendliness, Cleanliness, and Quality and we work hard to be consistent in all of these areas so that every customer experience is as good and as important as the last. We not only greet you when you come in but we greet you when you leave, we are always happy to meet new people and visit with both new and old friends. We are newly remodeled, with modern yet rustic decor, and we provide an atmosphere that is not only inviting but interesting to experience. Our wood fired pizza making is an art, an Estes Park experience, and a memory to make. Don't miss this fantastic option during your next Estes Park visit, stop in and give us a try! Delivery available.
bear, de
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Six months”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

It has been 6 months since we last visited picnic in the park and we were not disappointed. The pizza was very good and the garbage was very fresh and tasty. Rick, the. Owner, makes you feel very comfortable when you visit, almost feel like you are a local.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    23
    4
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I REALLY wanted to like this place, but I just can't bring myself to leave a positive review. This isn't a sit-down type of restaurant; I suspect 90% of their business is delivery or carryout pizza. There are only three or four small tables, and the restaurant is BLAZING hot from the wood oven. The kids behind the counter were nice, and the place sure smelled good. We ordered two personal pizzas and three sodas, and somehow the bill was $41.00. Either the kid behind the counter cheated us or these pizzas are WAY overpriced. The pizza was tasty, but the crust is so thin that they weren't terribly filling. I could have eaten two. To leave hungry and hot for $40? No thanks. I understand they're a small business, trying to make ends meet, but overcharging their patrons is not the way to survive. Go elsewhere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Estes, But Also Most Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Picnic In The Park is a good place to frequent if you are going to have; well, a picnic in the park. This is not a place you would want to have a "sit-down" meal. There are a couple of small tables inside; however, you'll probably feel like you are eating at a Jimmy Johns or Subway...all you can really look at is the food prep area. This was our visit here and we only order the pizza. We tried a 14" veggie and 14" pepperoni with traditional red pizza sauce. The crust was thin and crisp, just as you would expect from a wood fire oven. The toppings tasted fresh and everyone in our party thought the pizzas were delicious. Definitely tasted much better than the other pizza establishments in Estes (although I can't compare to Cheesy Lee's due to the fact they were closed in early June 2013). The staff was young, but friendly and provided good service. The only negative is the price, $43 for two 14" pizzas? I live in Chicago, and that price is on the steep end in this area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Park, CO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best & only wood-oven pizza in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The pizza is amazing, fresh, hot, and great! They also have anchovies by special request. The guys there really do it up with the wood-fired pizza oven, difficult to do at the best of times. Best pizza inEinEstes Park!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Unlike other reviews this was the worst pizza in town!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The pizza was warm and soggy instead of hot and crispy. The person working there was extremely rude and also expected a tip for a carry out. I wouldn't go back there if it were the last pizza in town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picnic In The Park also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Picnic In The Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.