We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Estes Park- we will return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Woodlands on Fall River

Save Saved
You added The Woodlands on Fall River to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Woodlands on Fall River
3.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   1888 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Gaithersburg, MD
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in Estes Park- we will return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

My family spent 4 nights at the Woodlands last week (8/13-8/17). We enjoyed it so much I considered extending our stay and not going down to Colorado Springs area as originally planned. In the end, we did leave, but we will certainly return to this facility on future visits.

Location- perfect...Rocky Mountain National Park is just a few minutes away turning left, and the town of Estes Park, including a Safeway less than 10 mins away turning right.

The "condos" are two stories high and normally I would select a top level condo (worrying about noise from above), but we ended up with a lower floor unit. We were so happy we did! We never heard the folks above us. We walked out our front door and an absolutely beautiful river, with nice deck chairs was just 20 feet in front of us. The kids (10 and 12) loved being able to pop outside and sit by the river. Several other folks had brought fishing gear and were fishing in front of their unit.

The receptionist, Betsy, was exceptional. I can't say enough about how helpful and friendly she was during our stay.

Bedding and towels were very comfortable.

I was also very happy to find they have two washers and dryers on site for their guest's use. They provide the laundry detergent. Cost is $1.50 a load. I thought this was a bargain and a great convenience.

They also have big selection of dvd's which was nice for the kids to enjoy in the evenings.

Finally, Estes Park has a free shuttle into town and it stops at the resort next door. This was very handy when my husband and kids wanted to go into the park one day (with our rental car) and I wanted to spend a little time in town. It was easy to walk home from the shuttle stop just two minutes away.

This was a wonderful way to start our first visit to Colorado and we will certainly recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    28
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
40
124
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MD
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
341 helpful votes 341 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

We spent four nights at the Woodlands suites as part of a Colorado trip this month. We had a great time, and our stay here was an important part of that. We had an upper level 1 BR unit with balcony overlooking the river. With a full kitchen and a grill available, dinners on the balcony were quite pleasant. The location also is very nice, a few miles outside Estes Park and very close to the National Park entrance. You don't feel close to Estes, but you can get there in just a few minutes if necessary. The Safeway there carries everything you will need to stock the kitchen. The management team is especially nice. There are some minor caveats that keep this from receiving highest grades. The suites are located about 50 yards from Hwy 34, so you do get traffic nearby. However, the sounds you mostly hear are from Fall River -- constant and refreshing. Also, our outdoor grill probably should have been overhauled or replaced, since it was very difficult to start without setting myself on fire. Otherwise, we had a terrific time here, and would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

The Woodlands on Fall River was the perfect place to stay! The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the location is the most ideal.
While we were there, we saw elk, rams, a fox, turkey, goats, and several other small furry critters by the Fall River.
I can't imagine ever staying anywhere but at the woodlands... my favorite vacation of all time!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

I relied on the TripAdvisior when selecting this place to stay and I have to agree with the reviews that I based my choice on. This place is perfect. The staff are wonderful and very accomodating and the location is perfect, midway between downtown Estes Park and the national park entrance. The river running in front of the units sounds like rain coming down and we have enjoyed every moment here. Our unit contained everything to make our stay comfortable, a beautifully equipped kitchen that even has a dishwasher! The bathroom is very nice and clean and the beds are extremely nice. There is lots of closet space to put your things away. We have 2 TVS and a working fireplace with wood supplied free! This lodging has a private, at home feel about it. It's no wonder that so many people write great reviews about it. It's perfect.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, CO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

I took my family in November to spend a week at the Woodlands on Fall River in Estes Park, Coloardo. We were anazed with out stay. The staff was very attentative with our needs as we checked in. They delivered firewood each day for the fireplace and also made sure our coffee and tea was filled up each dat when they cleaned the room.

The units have everything you need to be away from home. The kitchen has a full sized fridge, full stove and oven, mircowave and was fully stocked with all kitchen tools you need. We even had every kitchen tool we would need to make brownies while we were there. We even had an outdoor gas grill that overlooked the river.

The unit had a jetted tub. It was also spacious with the 2 bedrooms and large living/dining area. The beds were comfortable and we were all able to sleep soundly.

The scenery was magnificant. Tall ponderosa pines and aspens sorround the units. We were about 20 yards from the center of the Fall River which made fly fishing very convenient. The second day we were there we had snow and I was able to get my kids to fish in the snow! We also could sit in the outdoor hot tub while enjoying the snowfall!

We had some visitors while we were there. Several times we had elk that came by. We also had a bighorn sheep that wandered down to the river. The week before we came, a group of two dozen wild turkeys crossed the private bridge into the property. The place teemed with wildlife and we were able to view God's creation.

I would encourage anyone who wants to experience the Rocky Mountains to spend a week at this place. The Woodlands and its owner and staff far exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

My husband and I have been coming here every March for the last 4 years for our Anniv. and my birthday. We are treated very well here. We extended our stay by three days this time and we are so happy that we did. The staff was very accomidating, Betsy is a jewel. She always so friendly and helpful. We used the Laundry Room this trip, they provide the Detergent and softner, they charge $1.50 per load. We borrowed Scrabble one night, this was found in the laundry room with several other games to play, they let you use their movies free of charge as well. You have from 10:30 to 1:30 to have your room cleaned. The wonderful woman I mentioned Betsy lives on sight and is for the most part available with in reason to her own family and personal time after hours. The hot tub is nice and the parking is better for transporting items and getting to your car in the cold if you stay in an upper room. Room #11 I think is best, not to close to the office not to close to the road. You can get your own firewood that they provide in a wheel barrow by the office (they provide a wood carrier for you too) In the Laundry room are menues of quite a few restaurants in the area. Full kitchen, QUIET ROOMS. Every room overlooks the river. We actually had a Blue Jay land on our deck and a Fox walked by last night as well. The wireless worked just fine and they provide a blow dryer. Oh yeah and they have Jetted bath tubs. Very NIce, DO IT, COME TO THE WOODLANDS IT IS GREAT!! close to the RMNP and to a wonderful restaurant the Twin Owls, Romantic and $$ in a 1920's log cabin. Upscale dinning, I asked about attire , casual. Go for it!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

My sister and I stayed at the Woodlands the first week of March. The 1 bedroom condo was large, clean and well equipped for our needs. The King Bed was one of the most comfortable "hotel" beds I've ever slept in. It was nice having a real wood-burning fireplace. The kitchen was small, but equipped to suit our needs. The bathroom was large with a nice, hot shower and the tub was jetted making for a very nice bath. The view of the river outside our front door was nice and the mountain sheep that appeared on the road in front one day added a great bonus!! The location on the river is peaceful and relaxing in spite of the road in front. Also, it is between the town of Estes Park and the Fall River entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park making it very convenient. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Woodlands on Fall River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands on Fall River

Address: 1888 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 73 Specialty lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Woodlands on Fall River 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a dramatic, mountain riverside setting, The Woodlands offers one and two bedroom suites overlooking the Fall River. Beautiful landscaping, trees over 300 years old and Castle Mountain views all combine to provide the perfect location for your vacation or getaway in Estes Park. Just just two miles from the Fall River entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. You have easy access to over 350 miles of hiking trails, bountiful wildlife and scenic drives unique to this great national treasure. The Woodlands is convenient to Estes Park shopping, dining and its variety of year-round activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your The Woodlands on Fall River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodlands On Fall River Hotel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woodlands on Fall River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.