We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabin by the river” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Woodlands on Fall River

Save Saved
You added The Woodlands on Fall River to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Woodlands on Fall River
3.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   1888 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Katy, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Cabin by the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

What a great place. Just right for a couple or a family with two small kids. The place is extremely clean, which is a big deal for us. The cabin is well stocked with all the kitchen tools you need. Travelers tip..when driving to Estes to stay here go through Loveland. There are three fruit stands on Hwy 34 the road to Estes through Big Thompson Canyon. They always have really good produce, most of it grown in Colorado. We always stop at the last one on the north side of the road...they have amazing fruit pies that you can bake in your cabin. Best cherry pie ever.
The cabin has a nice balcony if you are upstairs looking out on to Fall River. The sound of the river puts you to sleep very night. There is no a/c but you really don't need it. Nice bathrooms and daily fresh towel service. A great place to stay especially if you enjoy eating breakfast in your pj's listening to a mountain river. It is on our list of places to stay in Estes.

Room Tip: Upstairs is closer to your car. No stairs to climb just out of your car and you are there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    28
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
40
124
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed Aug. 12-16. In unit #10. It was very spacious and clean. Kitchen is fully stocked and the balcony overlooks the river. They have puzzles and good books available in the room. Service was good. Cleanliness is very important and this place was very high on that!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights and it was wonderful, great staff and unit. We stayed on the second floor in a one bedroom unit. All the units face the river and you can hear the water running (in the creek) from anywhere in the unit. Some points to be aware of :
1. There is no air conditioning. This was not much of a problem for our trip, however, it does require you to leave all the windows and the door to your front deck open so the air can flow.There is a screen door when the main door is open, so it keeps the bugs out. I kept the bedroom window open all night, it does allow outside noise to come into the room. If I had been on the first floor I am not sure I would want to leave everything open, on the second floor it was not an issue.
2. I was looking forward to using the wood burning fire place. We were told on arrival that due to the "fire ban" we could not. I noted later in the week when it got cooler that other places were using their fireplaces and in the National Park the campers were using their fire rings. So not sure there was a fire ban. I bring up to suggest you ask prior if it is important to you.
3. I recommend the upstairs units. All parking for all units is on the upper level. If you are staying on a lower unit you must walk down and around to your unit to enter. They do have a nice cart for your use but it does require some walking. Upstairs you walk straight to your unit. Also these are wood frame units, so by staying on the unstairs you will not have an issue that you might have on the bottom floor with people walking around above you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I never understood why anyone would go back to the same place every year for vacation...until I spent time at The Woodlands on Fall River. This was our second year and I think I loved it even more this trip. It's so relaxing. The staff is so friendly and helpful. And of course there's the wildlife. A big elk made it's way on the other side of the river one evening giving everyone a thrill. I sincerely hope this becomes a family tradition...I just love it there!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We have been coming to this area for years and years and this was our first stay at this property. We chose it because it was one of the few nice places around (from pictures) that had fairly priced 2 bedroom suites. We were more than pleased with our suite and its amenities and I would not hesitate to stay here again or to recommend the place to others. In fact, I'm ready to go back and I've recommended it to several people.

We have previously stayed at a nearby property and thought it couldn't get any better. I'm so very glad we chose to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison WI
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was our second stay here and it was just as nice as the last time. Stayed 6 nights and loved it. It is very convenient to everything and the folks that run the place are great. Even in July the nights were cool and the sounds of the river made sleeping delightful (except for the one night of the crying baby - honestly close your windows!). Relaxing down by the river was nice (watch for the hummingbirds) and the place comes with everything you'll need. If you plan on doing any cooking yourself though I would recommend buying your groceries in Longmont or Greeley or some other larger town before you get to Estes Park. The prices in town are terrible. Note however that this is NOT a hotel. If you're expecting maid service, then condos are not the place for you. Trash and towel exchange is all you can or should expect.

Room Tip: We've only stayed in upper condos. They are easier for loading and unloading and no one is walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here for four nights over the fourth of July weekend. The place actually was prettier than it looked on-line. The river in front of the hotel was full of trout and could be fished without a license using a fly rod. The manager, Betsy, could not have been nicer and more helpful. One could tell that she cares about her guests. A really great place to stay. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Woodlands on Fall River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands on Fall River

Address: 1888 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 73 Specialty lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Woodlands on Fall River 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a dramatic, mountain riverside setting, The Woodlands offers one and two bedroom suites overlooking the Fall River. Beautiful landscaping, trees over 300 years old and Castle Mountain views all combine to provide the perfect location for your vacation or getaway in Estes Park. Just just two miles from the Fall River entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. You have easy access to over 350 miles of hiking trails, bountiful wildlife and scenic drives unique to this great national treasure. The Woodlands is convenient to Estes Park shopping, dining and its variety of year-round activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your The Woodlands on Fall River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodlands On Fall River Hotel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woodlands on Fall River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.