We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Appenzell Inn

Save Saved
You added Appenzell Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Appenzell Inn
1100 Big Thompson Ave, P.O. Box 1879, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 21 Estes Park B&B and Inns
Lakeview
1 review
“What a wonderful place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This was a great place to stay. The accommodations were very nice and clean. The staff were pleasant & courteous. The restaurant/pub was excellent and they were very knowledgeable, friendly, had great food/drink & and made us feel at home! We felt like friends in a very short time. They bent over backwards to make sure we enjoyed our stay...even some cowboy friends of ours that were a little rough around the edges!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    13
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ely, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was a beautiful place to stay, and had beautiful views. We had a 2 bedroom in the chalet, and it was perfect for 2 couples. Very clean, and everyone was very friendly. It is not quite as close to downtown as I thought. You could walk it, but it would be a long walk. There was plenty of parking, and we had a full sized truck and it fit just fine. Breakfast is not quite a "continental" breakfast, but they do provide some pastries and coffee. All in all, we really liked our stay there!

Room Tip: We had the 2 bedroom chalet. It has a full sized fridge, microwave and some things to cook with. Gri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The hotel is located very nicely just minutes from down town. Really if I didn't have a 16 month old, it would be a pleasant walk into town. The room was comfy, well decorated and clean. We loved the grounds. Thanks and we'll be back

Room Tip: The bottom floor rooms have no view to speak of. Get a 2nd or 3rd floor unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Head, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The owner gave us helpful advice only a local would know about where to hike in Rocky Mountain National Park. It was very quiet. Got my best night's sleep out of a week of traveling in Colorado. The room was clean and the Chalet room resembled a small apartment with a view of RMNP. The restaurant had a good menu, trout, bratwurst, cheese and charcuterie. The young waiter was very knowledgeable about wine and cheese.

Room Tip: Chalet room was like an apartment, very quiet with a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Quality of the food on bothvisits was super. We were staying at the Silver Moon in Estes Park(Sister Hotel) and made the short visit to the Appenzell's Restaurant. The food was very high standard and well prepared and presented.On one trip we both had the steak and it was cooked to perfection.
On the first occasion we had a desert between us the second time we had one each.
Both my wife and i would not hesitate to recommend to eat at this location

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have stayed at the Appenzell Inn many times over the years. Ownership changed in June 2013 -found the stay to be less desirable now. Office location has changed but no note on the door to indicate where to go. Even another guest trying to check in on our 2nd day experienced the same problem -I had to tell her where to go. We tried to go to the office on a couple of occasions to express our concerns that the shower did not work in Room 2 -the handle to turn on the water was loose and worn out -it took extensive turning and pushing hard into the wall to get any water to come out. We had to have the water remain on so everyone could take a shower before we went through the same difficult steps to turn off. This should have been reported by the cleainng staff -do they not turn on water to clean the shower? We wanted to use the pool, it ihas a nice ambiance but did not in fear that we could never get the shower in the room to turn on again. As others have stated -the front sign is not on at night -it is pitch dark and you will miss the entrance if you don't already know where it is. On the positive -the rooms are comfortable, the fireplace is very nice and when you DO see any staff -they are friendly. They are friendlier than the previous owners. The "pub" is still nice -run by a very nice young man but the food choices are slim at best. Jalapeño bratwurst? -Not a European food. Where is the Schnitzel?

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hochstetler, Owner at Appenzell Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the ownership change. We moved the hotel office just a couple of weeks ago. We wanted to be closer to the guests, so that we can interact with them. We were waiting on a new sign for the office to help guide repeat guests to the new location. We apologize that it wasn't posted yet during your stay. However, it was put up a few days ago and is a large red, visible sign. We wish that you would have told us about the shower issue during your stay. We could have had it immediately fixed by our maintenance staff. The housekeepers do use the shower to clean the room. However, we have a new staff for summer season and are still in the process of training them to notify us of issues. When doing the final inspection, the head housekeeper does not check the shower faucets. However, this is a step that we will ensure she does from now on. Should you have wanted to use the pool, we do have 2 showers in the pool area for guests to use. As for the sign, the old owners did not have a light.. We are waiting back to hear from the city to get a new sign and light approved. However, it is taking some time. Our restaurant is European inspired. The young man running it is from Italy. We have a couple of items on the menu that are American cuisine, to cater to our clientele in the mountain town of Estes Park. Our desk staff is around and available. Due to our property's size, our desk people are often running around working on the ponds, indoor pool and flowers around the property. The old owners would lock the office and put a sign up to call them when a guest arrived. However, it is important to us that we are available for guests and we will work on fixing this issue. We have already added new bed spreads, a continental breakfast, snacks for guests, added a hot tub, opened the restaurant year round and have made numerous more improvements to the property. We hope you give us a chance to show this to you on another visit. Thank you again for the input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were a walk in with no reservations and they were more than accommodating. The rooms were clean and the setup was nice from the fire place to the hot tub.The food at the restaurant is very good as well as the bartender. Would recommend to friends.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hochstetler, Owner at Appenzell Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review! We enjoyed having you at the Appenzell Inn and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Appenzell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appenzell Inn

Address: 1100 Big Thompson Ave, P.O. Box 1879, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appenzell's Air-Conditioned rooms, studios, and one & two bedroom suites are designed and detailed for comfort, practicality and romantic ambiance from the bedcovers and artwork to the Natural Pine Interiors. All suites boast a fireplace and Jacuzzi tub for two, and our Indoor Heated Pool offers year round fun for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Appenzell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appenzell Hotel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Appenzell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.