We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elk Fest 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Appenzell Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Appenzell Inn to your Saves list
Appenzell Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1100 Big Thompson Ave, P.O. Box 1879, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
1 review
“Elk Fest 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Spent a night here with my wife and 2 kids. Very clean and well maintained. We were a little worried about staying near the highway but have no complaints. Staff members were friendly and helpful. Our kids loved the continental breakfast. We would certainly stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    18
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
23
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here in early Sept. during the Scottish Festival. Having stayed here before we were happy to say that it is still charming, very clean and a great place to stay in Estes. Sarah at the front desk was so helpful. We left right before the floods hit. I hope the property is not badly damaged. It is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Take your time looking at the rooms. they all have their own charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here Sept 9-12 when the rain was bad and the flooding started. The staff, particularly Sarah at the front desk, were just superb in how they tried to meet the extraordinary needs of their guests. Even the managers of the on site restaurant Wild Hare came in to fix breakfast for guests until they had to leave for flooding in their homes. The managers and staff really tried to take care of the guests special needs and I will always remember their kindness.
We stayed in a recently renovated deluxe King with a view and it had everything one could want- kitchen, fire-place, jacuzzi, deck, and view. I hope I get the chance to stay here again!

Room Tip: deluxe king with a view was very spacious, had everything, and worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights there.

Rooms were clean and simple which what we wanted exactly.

The hotel was quiet and the staff were very friendly.

We did not have the time to use its restaurant as its location is so close to the city.

If you are looking for a simple , quiet and clean hotel Appenzell inn is the answer !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The rooms were way better than we expected. Comfortable and clean! Staff was incredible! Helpful and just a great overall attitude. We were congregating there for family reunion and could not have selected a better place in Estes Park area. We had an issue with our room key and they were attentive and resolved it! They went out of their way to help us on places within the Estes area. The restaurant within hotel was incredible, fun and fantastic fun ( i comment on it separately). I cannot say enough about how great it was and how we will definitely be staying there when we go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Appenzell is a beautiful property in Estes Park with breathtaking views of the Rocky Mountains from several of the rooms and the expansive porch. I stayed for two nights with my husband and our large group of family and friends who were also staying at the Inn for my wedding. The previous ownership had been a mess and we had many difficulties with them leading up to our stay. However, the new owners know what they are doing and they made our experience a wonderful one. Their hospitality was exceptional and they made all of our guests feel welcome. My room was on the second floor and had amazing views.The rooms were quiet, large and very comfortable. The kitchenette is well stocked with glasses, plates and silverware. The bathrooms are large and clean and the linens brand new and there were plenty of towels. I would love to stay there again in the winter because it would be so cozy with the jetted tub and fireplace. Thank you for a great visit!

Room Tip: I recommend the second floor facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jelm, Wyoming, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

No parking unless a compact car- no kidding. There is not enough parking as it is and they are very small and they tell you when you check in that parking is First come, first serve. Since they put int the rest. (upstairs, no elevator to it)) they offer no continental breakfast. DO NOT overlook the reviews that state that there is no internet at the back of the property because it IS true, regardless of what the hotel says. The pool is cold of course like most, but the shower rooms are shabby ice cubes with paint peeling and rusty. The bbq grill is chained in place and are community grills. The room has dark shades but they don't quite cover the window and bright lights stream in. On the plus side: It was clean, I mean REALLY clean. but it is cheaper at the Stanley all in all. This is an OK place to stay but it is WAY over priced- DO NOT ignore the other reviews that warn you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Appenzell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appenzell Inn

Address: 1100 Big Thompson Ave, P.O. Box 1879, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Appenzell Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appenzell's Air-Conditioned rooms, studios, and one & two bedroom suites are designed and detailed for comfort, practicality and romantic ambiance from the bedcovers and artwork to the Natural Pine Interiors. All suites boast a fireplace and Jacuzzi tub for two, and our Indoor Heated Pool offers year round fun for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Appenzell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appenzell Hotel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Appenzell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;