We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Appenzell Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Appenzell Inn to your Saves list
Appenzell Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1100 Big Thompson Ave, P.O. Box 1879, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Pueblo, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Quiet and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights there.

Rooms were clean and simple which what we wanted exactly.

The hotel was quiet and the staff were very friendly.

We did not have the time to use its restaurant as its location is so close to the city.

If you are looking for a simple , quiet and clean hotel Appenzell inn is the answer !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    20
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
28
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The rooms were way better than we expected. Comfortable and clean! Staff was incredible! Helpful and just a great overall attitude. We were congregating there for family reunion and could not have selected a better place in Estes Park area. We had an issue with our room key and they were attentive and resolved it! They went out of their way to help us on places within the Estes area. The restaurant within hotel was incredible, fun and fantastic fun ( i comment on it separately). I cannot say enough about how great it was and how we will definitely be staying there when we go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Appenzell is a beautiful property in Estes Park with breathtaking views of the Rocky Mountains from several of the rooms and the expansive porch. I stayed for two nights with my husband and our large group of family and friends who were also staying at the Inn for my wedding. The previous ownership had been a mess and we had many difficulties with them leading up to our stay. However, the new owners know what they are doing and they made our experience a wonderful one. Their hospitality was exceptional and they made all of our guests feel welcome. My room was on the second floor and had amazing views.The rooms were quiet, large and very comfortable. The kitchenette is well stocked with glasses, plates and silverware. The bathrooms are large and clean and the linens brand new and there were plenty of towels. I would love to stay there again in the winter because it would be so cozy with the jetted tub and fireplace. Thank you for a great visit!

Room Tip: I recommend the second floor facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jelm, Wyoming, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

No parking unless a compact car- no kidding. There is not enough parking as it is and they are very small and they tell you when you check in that parking is First come, first serve. Since they put int the rest. (upstairs, no elevator to it)) they offer no continental breakfast. DO NOT overlook the reviews that state that there is no internet at the back of the property because it IS true, regardless of what the hotel says. The pool is cold of course like most, but the shower rooms are shabby ice cubes with paint peeling and rusty. The bbq grill is chained in place and are community grills. The room has dark shades but they don't quite cover the window and bright lights stream in. On the plus side: It was clean, I mean REALLY clean. but it is cheaper at the Stanley all in all. This is an OK place to stay but it is WAY over priced- DO NOT ignore the other reviews that warn you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

What a lovely, charming, and romantic Inn that is located near downtown
The Inn that has a view that is unbelievable. And then there are the grounds ... so colorful and well groomed ... ponds, streams, walking paths, decks to sit and drink in the beauty.
Clean, excellent, and inviting rooms ... comfortable bedding ... I had a great night's sleep ...
Our room had a fireplace and a heart-shaped tub

Staff - it begins with the Inn Manager, Jesse, who has only been the manager for 3 weeks.
He is accessible and avalable to all. Every Guest is in his personal care ... Jesse is all over the grounds visiting and making sure all are finding The Appenzell Inn as he promised.
No request is too small or insignficant ... when his staff was busy, he delivered a down comforter to the room. He even offered to build a fire for s'mores ... So, Inn owners - you need to keep this man and make sure he is paid well !!!
And his positive attitude flows down to his staff ... Abbie at the desk, the cleaning and maintenence staff.
The Wild Hare Pub on the grounds has great food ... good local color ...
We had planned to only be here for 1 night ... but could not leave ...
So - Appensell Inn owners - you have a great Inn with wonderful leadershp and staff - congratulations

Dan A - room 234

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The staff was very friendly. We chose this because of the fun Swiss theme. The room was very nice and clean. We liked the wood panelling--rustic feel. The continental breakfast was a sad disappointment. Cheap pastries in a wrapper or sugar, fructose filled "juice." This could definitely be improved. Also, it was noisy with people walking by on the wooden deck walkway just outside our window. We didn't eat at the pub, so can't comment on that. Will probably choose a different place next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suzyq123abc, Owner at Appenzell Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review! We appreciate all input. We do only have a continental breakfast in the morning that is complimentary. We offer a wide variety of juices and definitely offer more than "fructose juice". For the complimentary continental breakfast, we offer packaged donuts and muffins. We also offer toast and yogurt. If you are looking for more, we do have an onsite restaurant that offers a full, hot breakfast, at a discount for all guests. Thank you for your input and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleepy Hollow, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Room was sleezy and more fitting for a 4 hour nap operation not a family Inn. Room had no views and no curtains on the windows to block out a light hanging from the deck. Lite up the room all nite long. Hot tub right next to bed and only shower was above the tub. Fireplace pilot very high and smelled of gas. Front desk handed out list of restaurants but couldn't give directions. "Breakfast" was packaged rolls and breads. Toaster looked like never cleaned. Items left on window ledge scattered across office area. Never saw anything like this in 50 yrs of travel. Left after on nite and never will return.

Room Tip: Check before you get a room surprise. Room not for kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suzyq123abc, Owner at Appenzell Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your input! We took over the Appenzell Inn a month ago. We are moving as fast as we can in our busy season to improve the hotel. Since the old owners had no breakfast, we have been working on improving it. We have begun by setting out muffins, danishes, coffee, juice and yogurt in the office. We will be adding breakfast to our restaurant very shortly as well! We have a new staff team and we are ensuring that they are knowledgeable with Estes Park and the surrounding area. We do have blinds in all of our rooms and have double checked, but we do appreciate your input. The room that you stayed in is our smallest, economical room, best suited for a couple. Most of our rooms are significantly larger in size. We even have 2 bedroom suites. We appreciate your input and are going to be doing significant changes to the property this winter. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Appenzell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appenzell Inn

Address: 1100 Big Thompson Ave, P.O. Box 1879, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Appenzell Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appenzell's Air-Conditioned rooms, studios, and one & two bedroom suites are designed and detailed for comfort, practicality and romantic ambiance from the bedcovers and artwork to the Natural Pine Interiors. All suites boast a fireplace and Jacuzzi tub for two, and our Indoor Heated Pool offers year round fun for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Appenzell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appenzell Hotel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Appenzell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.