We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family campground” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Estes Park Campground at East Portal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Estes Park Campground at East Portal
Save
You added Estes Park Campground at East Portal to your Saves list
3420 Tunnel Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Raymore, MO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great family campground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We visited Estes Park East Portal Campground in late May 2012. We had a nice, very shady site (#A01) which was very roomy although it was sort of a split level. Our site and water and electric hookups. Although we were tent camping, we wanted to be able to plug in a heater for the chilly nights. The shower houses/restrooms were very clean. Note: When making a reservation for this campground, the website INCORRECTLY states that there are no showers. The campground hosts were always friendly and helpful. The scenery is amazing. Wildlife visits included hummingbirds, ground squirrels, chipmunks and deer. Elk grazed in a meadow adjacent to the campground.
This campground is at the end of a road and is probably 4-5 miles from town, so if you want to be in the middle of the action, then this is the wrong place for you.

Room Tip: Sites on the outside edges of the campground tend to provide the most privacy/space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    11
    6
    7
    10
See reviews for
26
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Nice, clean, and affordable campground. We tent camped with no hookups. Bathhouse was clean and I never had to wait. Showers weren't tiny like some. Sites were close together, but the campground was in a wooded area so you didn't feel on top of each other. Sites weren't any closer than most state park campgrounds. Overall, we loved our visit, and you can't beat the location- so close to the Beaver Meadows entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. Plus, there is a trail right in front that connects to RMNP trail system. We saw lots of mule deer nearby, too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Platte, Nebraska
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

My family of four stayed at this campsite June 26th-29th and had a great time! The restrooms were very clean and had hot showers. The staff is super friendly and informative and overall we had a great time! Elk and deer came up to our campsite in the morning and our kids had a great time even though there was a fire restriction and some rain. =)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Our last stay here was in August of 2011. I just booked 2 sites for my husband and I and friends who are joining us this year. This will be our third stay at the campground. It is our go-to place to camp when we are in this area. It has everything we need to tent camp comfortably. It is one of just a very few campgrounds with hot showers and clean restrooms. The best part is it is at the end of a dead end road and is nice and quiet with great views of the divide!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We spend a week at East Portal in Early July 2011. We traveled in a pop-up with our four children ranging in age from 8 to 2.
Three items stand out in my mind as being the most alluring parts of this campground. If you’re (I’m sure most people are) visiting this place to be close to RMNP, and want a campground with electricity and water, without feeling like you’re camping in a parking lot, this is the place. Just down the path from our site was the East Portal Reservoir; and a trail-head for the Wind River Trail. I loved being able to hop on the trail and disappear for a couple hours in the early morning while the rest of the family was asleep. About a quarter mile on the trail from the reservoir up the hillside was a rock outcrop that offered a wonderfully panoramic view of the valley below. My children and I sat atop the outcrop one beautifully clear morning and listened to the wind sing through the pines as the cold mountain water danced its way down the into the valley. As we sat there, I thought to myself that it was for this moment that we came. My young kids seemed to appreciate the beauty of the landscape and of the moment as well. Our senses came alive as the morning sun warmed us in perfect balance with the cool mountain breeze. When I thought this moment couldn’t get more perfect, we spotted a mother deer leading her fawn up the hillside below. She moved with such confidence and grace; easily navigating the roots and rocks in the valley below. A few more miles up the hillside along the trail you can make it to Sprague Lake. Get there early in the morning to see the sun rise opposite the Continental Divide, while the morning fisherman wade in the shallow water.
Another positive aspect of this campground were the wonderful people we met from all around the country. We met folks from Michigan, Kansas, Colorado, New Mexico, Virginia. Our children roamed the campsite together while we all sat around together chatting like old friends. We shared our experiences of the day in the park, of being on the road all summer. The camp hosts were very friendly and positive folks. They welcomed us each evening, and warned us of the food regulations to keep out the nosy black bear from earlier in the week.
The only drawback I can is in some spots the sites lack privacy. If you select wisely, get an outside spot, not a middle one. If you’re lucky, one that faces the Divide will be available, and you can begin each day looking out over snow covered peaks. Enjoy your time!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

I camped here for three nights and it was my first time camping alone. The hosts at the campsite were extremely helpful and friendly. I did not have a car, the hosts were kind to store my food at the office for the night. The east portal trailhead is at the campsite entrance, and you can enter the rocky mountainational park ( the glacier basin campsite is 1.1miles away.) The hike into the park is through the emerald mounrain pass, which means the first 15mins is just uphill. I would hike into the RMNP every day. The restrooms were clean and there was hot water. Was pleasantly surprised to find showers!did not get a chance to try them though. Fantastic experience, would love to return!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We camped at the Estes Park Campground at East Portal over the Labor Day weekend. We arrived Thursday evening and left Monday morning. We were camping with 4 adults and 3 kids under the age of 4. We couldn't have been happier. We were in site 39 and had plenty of shade. We also had a nice ravine behind the campsite that provided plenty of privacy from those campsites behind us. The campsite was on the smallish side, but provided plenty of space for our 22 ft. tent trailer. The electric/water hook-ups were fantastic. The bathrooms and showers were incredibly clean for a holiday weekend. The quiet hours were thankfully enforced and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves. If I were to go back again, I would definitely try to get either site 39 or 38, which was actually larger than 39. The park was nice for the kids. Not a lot to do, but provided much needed entertainment when digging in the dirt got boring. It was also nice to have the free shuttle instead of trying to find parking downtown on quite possibly the busiest weekend. I would definitely camp here again. Everyone was friendly that I encountered and they were super fantastic when the other group had a medical emergency that prevented them from arriving. They refunded our money immediately.

Room Tip: sites 39 and 38 were excellent sites
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Estes Park Campground at East Portal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estes Park Campground at East Portal

Address: 3420 Tunnel Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So close, yet feels so far away from the hustle and bustle of Estes Park. This very popular campground is located at an elevation of 8,300 feet at the end of a beautiful road just west of town. There are wonderful views of the snow covered peaks in Rocky Mountain National Park and access to the East Portal Reservoir which has ample opportunities for fishing. This double loop campground offers shady sites suitable for tenters and campers with small RVs and trailers shorter than 24 feet in length. It is especially well-suited for families and outdoor enthusiasts looking to explore nearby nature and trails in Rocky Mountain National Park. Sites at this campground open up to views of Rocky Mountain National Park and starry nighttime skies. A mature blend of ponderosa and lodgepole pines interspersed with groves of aspens makes it a wonderful home away from home. It is an ideal setting for guests seeking recreation and relaxation. The camping season runs from May 15th - October 15th. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Estes Park Campground Hotel Rocky Mountain National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estes Park Campground at East Portal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.