We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to stay for a low price in a fabulous mountain town.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Trail Ridge Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alpine Trail Ridge Inn to your Saves list
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   927 Moraine Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very good place to stay for a low price in a fabulous mountain town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

We liked this place very much. The staff is very accommodating and eager to please. The location is excellent. The restaurant is quite nice -- and a big plus, since many Estes Park hotels do not have a restaurant.

The rooms were a bit small, though, and the windows were relatively small for being in such a fabulous place.

All in all, we'd stay there again with pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    182
    32
    7
    5
See reviews for
223
291
48
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

Basic motel accommodations, somewhat dated but very clean. Price for Estes Park in the summer was very reasonable. Front desk staff offered great hiking recommendations. Hotel is about as close as you can be to the entrance for Rocky Mountain National Park.

Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

This is a great place to stay and a real bargain in the Estes Park area. I stayed twice on a recent trip and both rooms were clean, comfortable and perfectly adequate for me travelling alone. The staff was very friendly and helpful - the office is cute and bright with a great selection of coffee and hot teas.

Its location is perfect for getting into Rocky Mountain National Park quickly and for avoiding the congestion of downtown Estes Park.

  • Liked — Being able to park right outside my room
  • Disliked — Wireless Internet service was a little weak
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2008

Overall, my wife and two small children greatly enjoyed our two-night stay in the Alpine Trail Ridge Inn. We chose the Western Family Unit A, which is basically two connected rooms, a very small one for the kids, and a large comfortable one for the adults. We paid about $150 plus tax per night, which is as good as you're going to find in Estes Park, the most expensive place we encountered in Colorado outside of Denver.

As many have mentioned, it is a charming older style hotel, with wood paneling, etc., in the rooms, but exceptionally clean and comfortable. Think of it as a nice mom-and-pop establishment. There was a small mix-up when we checked in, but the staff (the owners?) resolved matters very quickly and completely to our satisfaction.

For us, the location couldn't have been better. I believe that it is the last hotel you encounter outside of town on the way into Rocky Mountain National Park. They offer coffee, tea, and hot chocolate in the lobby, and a pleasant place to enjoy them outside among the mountains.

It might bother some that in the larger room the tv is awkwardly located, i.e., you cannot comfortably watch it from the bed. I don't believe we ever had it on, however. The kids did watch the one in their room quite comfortably. Also, be aware that there is no bath tub for the little ones in either bathroom.

Okay, my one caveat, and for us it's a biggie. I had a lot of trouble connecting to the wireless internet. The first day I was there it was merely slow. After that I couldn't get anything. No, it wasn't my computer or my settings. I was able to connect to another hotel close by (without being able to sign in) and afterwards I stayed in five other hotels in Colorado where I connected in various ways without a problem. I tried all the different Alpine Inn signals and all kinds of other things but had no luck. When traveling, I really rely on a good connection for keeping in touch with friends and family, researching hotels and restaurants (Tripadvisor!), keeping up with the news, and, these days, watching television shows and movies. In other words, no matter how great the place is, I probably wouldn't book it if it didn't offer a good internet connection.

I want to emphasize that I did not report this to management and perhaps it was a one-day thing or there was some other explanation. That was just my experience. Other than that, you cannot go wrong with this hotel.

  • Liked — Location, comfort, cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Internet connection.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtnpoet2, Operations Manager at Alpine Trail Ridge Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2008
I agree with this reviewer that the wireless connection has not been the quality it should be at times. I have been working with my provider to upgrade equipment, but it has been delayed by backorders. He also has had some major system-wide problems which were weather related. We even had a wireless switch in the office which overheated and caused problems with the system.
The defective switch has been replaced, and I am waiting for the installation of more equipment to make our wireless system more reliable. I'm sorry he did not tell me about the problem, because there are some things I can do here in the office to check the system, and we could have connected him to a neighboring lodging property system, which we do with each other if one property is having problems. The moral of the situation is to always kindly let the office know about any problems, because we can usually solve them or find another solution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Charles, MO
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

This hotel is first and foremost CLEAN. The staff is VERY friendly and accommodating and most eager to please. The rooms are small, but the price is affordable. The shower was very small, but the water pressure was excellent. The heated pool was clean and private.
The location of the property is the only downfall. It is smack in the middle of an intersection of two major roads. There is NO open space, grass, or outdoor seating. You are in the rooms, or in the parking lot. Period. We were traveling with 2 grandchildren and there was NO PLACE aside from the pool (which sits in the parking lot) for them to play.
But if you are going to Estes Park to enjoy your days in Rocky Mountain National Park and looking for a place to crash in clean comfort without paying resort fees, this is your place!
I'd give it a big thumbs up in that regard.

  • Liked — Friendliness of Staff and overall cost
  • Disliked — location and size of room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

This is a very clean, family owned motel. Our room was very spacious with a vaulted ceiling and balcony. The bathroom was small but spotless. It had everything we needed. Microwave, refrigerator, and a great recliner. Parking at the door to the room. There was also a restaurant next door not owned by the hotel that was very convenient and had excellent food. We needed nothing extra. Our room was equipped with everything we required. Great room for the money.

  • Liked — Very clean and convenient
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

Our family of 5 (2 adults, 3 kids ages 9, 12 and 14) just completed a two-night stay at the Alpine Trail Ridge Inn in Estes Park and it was great! The motel is in the perfect location for visiting RMNP - less than one mile from the main entrance. The updated room was very clean and had everything we needed, including a rollaway bed. The staff was helpful and very pleasant. We enjoyed the warm outdoor pool, as well as the hot drinks (coffee, tea, cocoa) in the office throughout the day. One tip when staying here - don't shop at the small grocery store near the motel. Find the Safeway store in town, prices are so much more reasonable.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Intermittent internet access
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpine Trail Ridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Trail Ridge Inn

Address: 927 Moraine Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#4 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpine Trail Ridge Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for exceptionally clean, comfortable accommodations, knowledgable and friendly hosts, beautiful views of the mountains, and close proximity to Rocky Mountain National Park, then we're the place for you. Free high-speed wireless internet access. We specialize in hiking information, also have the Sundeck Restaurant on property. AAA, Mobil rated, extensive remodeling in 2003. Aspen-shaded heated outdoor pool. Reasonable alternative to the chain motels. Photo is view from back building balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Alpine Trail Ridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Trail Ridge Hotel Estes Park
Alpine Trail Ridge Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Trail Ridge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.