We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a Motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Trail Ridge Inn

Save Saved
You added Alpine Trail Ridge Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   927 Moraine Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 29 hotels in Estes Park
O'Fallon, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“More than a Motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The staff and owners are five star. The Alpine has a 50s feel and a friendly atmosphere. The rooms are spotless, the maid service is the best. The owners will do all they can to be sure that you have everything you need. It is perfect in location to any place you want to be in Estes Park. We were there to visit my park ranger daughter who was staying in the housing down the road. We had never been to Colorado before, but the views from the Alpine are breathtaking. I'm sure that is true for most of the stays out there. However, If you are looking for a spot to stow your gear safely, and hook up your computer after scaling the peaks, this is the place.

Room Tip: We were on the back side of the facility and found our room to be very quiet. There were people ups...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    418
    168
    30
    7
    5
See reviews for
195
255
42
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Our family of four stayed for one night. the staff are friendly and helpful. The gave us some local maps and had good knowledge of the area and really pointed us in the right direction. The hotel was an older style motel it was in really good condition. The rooms were really nice and clean, the beds were comfortable. Four of us in the room was tight as they are relatively small rooms, however we would stay here again it was very good overall, another good find on Trip Advisor! The other handy thing was you could park right at your door, so it is really easy to put your luggace in and out of the room I can't remember if the hotel is two storey, so if you have a lot of luggage I suggest you ensure you are on the ground floor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was a great choice for our first-time visit to the Rocky Mountain National Park. Its proximity to the Beaver Meadows park entrance made it the perfect choice as far as access. Our room was well-equipped and clean and had a beautiful view of the Rockies. We really appreciated the advice of the owners, Fran and Jay, as we enjoyed hot cider in the lobby. They were so helpful with hiking trail and other suggestions and genuinely interested in our having an enjoyable stay. We hope to return to stay with them again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was my first time going to Colorado and I am so glad I stayed at the Alpine Trail Ridge Inn. One of my concerns was that the hotel was not in downtown Estes Park. Estes Park is a very busy little town and staying at this hotel (which is much closer to Rocky Mountain National Park) was a blessing. The room was clean and well equipped. The staff had the time to spend a couple of minutes with me going over the trails I hoped to hike - thankfully Fran was able to get me going the right direction. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Balcony is nice but not needful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

When we (two adults & two kids) first entered our room we were shocked by how tiny it was. We could barely fit our bags in the room along with us, since there was no closet and very little floor space. Once we got over the shock, we noticed that the room was spotless. Don't let the rustic/dated furnishings fool you - the motel is well taken care of and quite comfortable. If you are looking for luxury, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a clean, quiet and comfortable place to rest after a day of hiking or sightseeing, this is the perfect place. Not to mention, the gorgeous scenery. We weren't in a balcony room and still enjoyed the beauty right outside of our door. We will definitely stay again when visiting the Rockies.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cripple Creek, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is the second time my husband and I have stayed here. It's not fancy but the price is good, the staff is very friendly and courteous. The location is excellent in relation to visiting the park and seeing wildlife. We heard coyotes during the night, elk were nearby in the mornings and evenings.
It was also very clean. It's an older place and I will admit the heater in the room makes some noise if you are a light sleeper like myself, but all in all I will return there when I go back to the park.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We booked this motel based on Trip Advisor reviews and really liked it. Based on suggestions, we splurged on an upper level balcony room and loved that. Everything neat and clean, friendly desk staff and a great view up towards THE MOUNTAINS. We stayed several nights and explored by car (and foot) Rocky Mountain National Park. We were at the height of tourist season and felt that downtown Estes Park was way overcrowded and jammed up. We were grateful that we were at the edge and near the Park entrance with a couple OK restaurants and a grocery (light supper on the balcony was fun one evening). Plenty of parking motel style.

Room Tip: Upper floor balcony rooms are nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alpine Trail Ridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Trail Ridge Inn

Address: 927 Moraine Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#6 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpine Trail Ridge Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for exceptionally clean, comfortable accommodations, knowledgable and friendly hosts, beautiful views of the mountains, and close proximity to Rocky Mountain National Park, then we're the place for you. Free high-speed wireless internet access. We specialize in hiking information, also have the Sundeck Restaurant on property. AAA, Mobil rated, extensive remodeling in 2003. Aspen-shaded heated outdoor pool. Reasonable alternative to the chain motels. Photo is view from back building balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Alpine Trail Ridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Trail Ridge Hotel Estes Park
Alpine Trail Ridge Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Trail Ridge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.