We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Moon Inn

Save Saved
You added Silver Moon Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Silver Moon Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   175 Spruce Drive, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free 'smores kit
Ranked #7 of 30 hotels in Estes Park
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Mixed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The plus points of this Inn have to be its beautiful location by the tumbling river, the proximity of Rocky Mountain National Park and the fact that we could walk into town when we needed to. I did however have difficulty with our room location on the ground floor. We had to keep our window and door blinds closed whilst we were in there due to folk walking by, parking their cars and sitting on the chairs by the river [very claustrophobic]. Following on from this it did concern me about noise and people chatting and having a good time outside when we needed early nights ready for early morning hikes but it was quiet and this was not a problem whilst we were there. The room itself was fine, spacious, plenty of cupboard space and comfortable beds. The bathroom was lovely as were the free toiletries. We were prepared for the breakfast scenario of brought in pre-packaged items but as we had only the option of sitting in our goldfish bowl of a room [not an option] or outside, we decided to buy a picnic breakfast along with our picnic lunch from the local supermarket which rather defeated the object of paying for a B&B. But that was our choice. On our very last day we did pick up their breakfast options and sat by the river but it really wasn't our thing. I would stay again but would certainly not have a ground floor room.

Room Tip: If you're a private person and like light and fresh air - opt for an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    96
    25
    14
    2
See reviews for
144
125
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The location of this hotel can't be beat. Peaceful setting along the river with nice chairs and picnic facilities. Walk to shops, don't have to drive and look for parking. That being said, our room was old, dark, and outdated, the bathroom tiny, and the free breakfast leaving a lot to be desired. We understood from some other guests they have a few rooms that have been updated, so perhaps if we had stayed in one of those my review might have been better. There is no elevator, so at the elevation of Estes Park, prepare to be winded. The breakfast was Sams Club stuff, high in saturated fat, and the "juice" was watered down. The office staff very helpful in suggesting places to go and things to see, and good eating places. The office and eating area always had a shaggy dog or 2 sitting on the couch, so if you're alergic to animals.............

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the updated section. They also have a section for pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paynesville, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Perfect place for a relaxing vacation! The hotel is built right up to the mountains, with the river running right in front of it! It is heaven on earth! My husband & I love to sit by the river, & just watch the water flow by! So peaceful, & calming, after a day of sightseeing, or shopping! The Silver Moon is within walking distance of all the shops, restaurants, & bars that we frequent! There is a nice pool & hot tub area for all who enjoy that. There is also laundry on sight, which we like, because we are usually getting to Estes Park, after we have been other places first, & need to wash a few things. There are many chairs, tables, & grills along the river, for all to use, and even a play area for the kids! The rooms are very spacious, & clean! The staff are all very friendly, & will help with anything you might need. We have stayed there for the last 4 years, & hope to get back there in the summer 2014! We love it!

Retired & loving it!
Pat & Vaneesa Karsch
Minnesota

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so if that might be an issue, request ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Perfect Place for our family reunion! 21 of us stayed at the inn. (ages 2.5 to 88)
We were so happy with the location. Close to RMNP, walking distance to the adorable downtown.
The rooms were comfortable and had everything we could need. The fire pits on the property were a wonderful place to hang out with family at night and enjoy the clear air (and make s'mores). There were grills available on the property as well, so we were further enjoy the inn. They had a pool and playground for the kids. Really, it is an ideal spot. But the best by far was the service. They have an amazing, energetic staff. The folks who work here really make it special. They were always smiling, always helping. Really a wonderful, memorable place to stay!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground level will be the nosiest as they are closer to the fire pits
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great Location! ...located at the beginning of the main shopping street (Elkhorn Ave) of Estes Park and on the way towards the Fall River Entrance of RMNP. Many seats to relax by the stream in front of the hotel. Basic continental breakfast starting at 7am. Great staff. Room was perfect for 2 adults and our 2 teenage sons (1 King/1 Queen). No elevator, but we were on 3rd floor and had no problems. Didn't have time to use their pool or hot tub, but looked nice/pretty backdrop of the rock hillside. Newer bathroom, but was small in our room. It was nice to have a sink in bedroom area. Three windows/lots of nice daylight. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enola, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

What can I say? I am always hesitant to write reviews because everyone has different tastes and expectations. Before I proceed, I have to say that I am not al ALL picky. On our annual road trips, we are on the move so often that our motel stays are typically one-nighters. ANYWAY - my family and I just LOVED the Silver Moon Inn. It is right beside a stream/river and within walking distance to everything!

The service was fantastic. The room was a bit small but thoroughly clean. We were traveling during the peak of "traveling season" so there were many, many people in the area and it got a bit noisy at night when we were trying to rest our weary heads - but it wasn't terribly unmanagable.

This was one time when I wished I could have made our one night stay a two or three night stay.

Room Tip: Select a room with a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SACRAMENTO
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Silver Moon Inn provided a perfect place to stay for a recent hiking trip to Rocky Mountain National Park. We liked being able to walk to shops and restaurants in Estes Park, and the drive into the Park for hikes was very quick and easy. And what better way to spend a late afternoon following a hike than sitting by the creek/river with a good book. We also enjoyed the breakfast -- nothing fancy but it offered all we needed to start our day. I really liked the fact that they did NOT try to provide hot entrees. The juices, yogurts, cereals, breads and toaster, hard boiled eggs etc. hit the spot.

The only negative was the noise from the room upstairs. It seemed that the guest above needed to walk a mile regularly, day and night, in the room. However, this is a minor drawback to all the positives about the Silver Moon Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Moon Inn

Address: 175 Spruce Drive, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#8 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Moon Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estes Park’s legendary hotel lodging in downtown Estes Park, just outside Rocky Mountain National Park. Silver Moon® Inn has all you want in Estes Park accommodations: cozy rooms and suites, a river front location, walk to shopping and dining, friendly staff and quality service. Silver Moon® Inn and your unforgettable Colorado Rocky Mountain Vacation Experience await your arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Silver Moon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Moon Hotel Estes Park
Silver Moon Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Moon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.