We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean but..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1220 Big Thompson Ave., US Highway 34, Estes Park, CO 80517 (Formerly Travelodge Estes Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“clean but..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The room was small, the bathroom very small, they were both clean, but for the price, could be spruced up some. I realize it's Estes Park in the summer time, but still :) One of the bathroom outlets didn't work. The staff was friendly however!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We understand that the facility needs some sprucing up. We are making progress. For instance, new drapes will be installed in all the rooms by the end of July. More will be done as time and finances allow. I am pleased you found the staff friendly. Come visit us again and check out the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    16
    4
    9
See reviews for
25
17
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This property was disappointing. I've stayed at other America's Best Value Inn hotels and was expecting more updated accommodations. This hotel could use some renovating and TLC, particularly given the price per room (at least during the summer). Despite that, the room was clean.

In addition to the condition of the property, the administration was a little concerning. The employee I dealt with was very kind; however, I was initially given a room that was already occupied. After that, it took some time to verify there was even another room available.

If I am in Estes Park again, I will look for a different hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your Tripadvisor comments. We appreciate that the facility could use some renovating. We are pursuing improvements as fast as time and finances will allow. For instance, the draperies in all the rooms will be replaced by the end of this month. I am concerned with the problem you encountered with your room checkin and will certainly be addressing that with the staff. Your comments are appreciated as they alert us to matters that need attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights while hiking in the Rockies. In a town with over priced accommodation (nothing less than over priced is expected when there is a view from every window), this place was clean, and spacious. The bathroom is small but ok for 2 people. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
We strive to provide clean, pleasant accommodations at a reasonable price. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to submit your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The staff were amazing, they all work so hard. Rooms were spotless!! The gal at the front desk did an outstanding job! Beautiful property, wild life everywhere, saw elk everywhere. The pool looked very inviting, unfortunately it was to cold.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
We're delighted you were one of our early season visitors. I am pleased you found the staff helpful and the rooms "spotless". Estes Park sits just over 7,500 feet so it is still a bit cool for comfortable pool usage. Come back the end of June or July and pool usage will be in full swing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed here with three other friends first week in August, we were hiking for a week in Park. We reserved two rooms both were the same price. One was much larger, probably about 4 foot longer than the other. The smaller of the two, it was a tight fit to squeeze past the table to get into the bathroom, the other room was fine.
Would I recommend it - sure. As far as breakfast we did not eat there but it looked like the area was VERY crowded.

Best tip is to ask to see the room before making yourself comfortable, or maybe even before signing in, especially if room size is important.

Room Tip: Room sizes vary, check out your room before unpacking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for staying with us last fall. We do have a variety of room sizes and will be happy to better accommodate you should you return. 6/5/2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Nebraska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Prices were great to begin with. We stayed in a room with two queen beds for three nights and the room was so clean. We have stayed at many hotels before this one and I can say this is by far one of the cleanest rooms we have seen. Not to mention the staff was so nice. When we went to check-in the office was very clean and the Lady at the front desk who was the Manager offered to make us a fresh pot of coffee while we were waiting to finish checking in. When we asked about places to eat they recomended Hunters Chophouse and gave us a 10% OFF coupon along with a few other places to eat. The other staff (housekeeping and everyone else) went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable with our stay. We are already are looking into coming again next month for another small get away. This time we plan to bring the kids. I would highly recomend this hotel. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
I am pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Our housekeeping staff does a great job keeping the rooms in pristine condition. Our office staff frequently receives compliments for the care and help they offer our guests. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We booked this hotel for two nights in August 2013. We thought we needed to book early because it was summer and in an area of a National Park. We had not been to RMNP before. We book based on price and reviews indicating that it was clean and adequate. We were not expecting palatial but we were visiting a national park and knew we would not spend much time in the room. When we arrived, our check in went well. However, the front desk clerk was filthy, not just dirty from doing maintenance, but filthy. The office and lobby was also filthy. We were told that this was also the breakfast room. We cannot comment on the breakfast as the room was too disgusting for us to even think about eating there. The outside of the hotel is dingy and needs work. There is outdoor carpeting on the walkways that is peeling and dirty. The stairs and windows need painting. Generally down in the mouth. The rooms are the same way. This was particularly evident in the morning when we awoke. The dark curtains that we has pulled the night before were so holey that the sunlight coming in looked like a starry night!!! Avoid this place.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first. We did not need to book in advance as there were vacancies all over town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give such a detailed report following your stay with us. I can only assure you that each of the items you identified will be brought to the attention of our management staff. I will encourage our staff to address and correct as many of these defects as possible. We are striving to give our guests a pleasant experience and hope to improve the condition of the property as rapidly as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park

Address: 1220 Big Thompson Ave., US Highway 34, Estes Park, CO 80517 (Formerly Travelodge Estes Park)
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Estes Park
Travel Lodge Estes Park
Estes Park Travel Lodge
Estes Park Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.