We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs lots of work” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1220 Big Thompson Ave., US Highway 34, Estes Park, CO 80517 (Formerly Travelodge Estes Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Needs lots of work”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We booked this hotel for two nights in August 2013. We thought we needed to book early because it was summer and in an area of a National Park. We had not been to RMNP before. We book based on price and reviews indicating that it was clean and adequate. We were not expecting palatial but we were visiting a national park and knew we would not spend much time in the room. When we arrived, our check in went well. However, the front desk clerk was filthy, not just dirty from doing maintenance, but filthy. The office and lobby was also filthy. We were told that this was also the breakfast room. We cannot comment on the breakfast as the room was too disgusting for us to even think about eating there. The outside of the hotel is dingy and needs work. There is outdoor carpeting on the walkways that is peeling and dirty. The stairs and windows need painting. Generally down in the mouth. The rooms are the same way. This was particularly evident in the morning when we awoke. The dark curtains that we has pulled the night before were so holey that the sunlight coming in looked like a starry night!!! Avoid this place.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first. We did not need to book in advance as there were vacancies all over town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give such a detailed report following your stay with us. I can only assure you that each of the items you identified will be brought to the attention of our management staff. I will encourage our staff to address and correct as many of these defects as possible. We are striving to give our guests a pleasant experience and hope to improve the condition of the property as rapidly as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    26
    27
    7
    13
See reviews for
41
28
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hotel has great service and clean rooms. Decent breakfast and a clean pool. Convienent location right off the main highway and not too far from the downtown area. The manager jessa was very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments about service and cleanliness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed here one night. Front desk was very nice and friendly, and upgraded us upon arrival. The hotel is older, but very clean and room was obviously remodeled recently. The spa tub was very nice. Breakfast was average. Beds were ok. View of mountains from upstairs room was beautiful. Room was very quiet considering the large group of motorcyclers and numerous families and groups of preteen baseball players who were also staying the night there. We researched several hotels prior to our trip and this one was the best value . .. So glad we stayed here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your opinion of our accommodations after your recent stay. We will try to improve our breakfast offering and, over time, will be replacing the beds a few rooms at a time. Come back to enjoy the spa a great view again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was the worst Hotel we have ever stayed in !!!!! Toilet Leaked all over the floor from underneath the stool ! The beds had something sticky on the blanket ! The room had a funky smell (Like an old mans aftershave) . The bathtub felt like u was going to fall thru the floor if u stepped near the drain . Very pricey for a dump hole ! Was also frustrating we could not check out until 7 o'clock when we needed to be leaving at 6 !!! The location was the only thing halfway descent about it . Hope this is helpful for anyone .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
I appreciate that you took the time to list the deficiencies you found in your room. These items will be brought to the attention of our housekeepers and maintenance staff. We certainly do not want the conditions you described to be experienced by any other guests. I will also inquire why the front desk personnel were unable to accommodate your early checkout.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night because everywhere else was booked. Our room was clean, but we thought $110 ($120 with tax) was a bit pricey for a basic one-bed room. We stayed the next couple nights at a lodge on the river for $94/night (which was a lot nicer). Also, the A/C wouldn't stay on for longer than 10-15 minutes, and the room was hot at night. The next morning, we were in the front office, and the man working gave somebody a pretty large discount. It made me feel like we got ripped off. Also, while we were getting ready at 9am, somebody kept knocking on the door. I wasn't dressed, so of course I didn't answer it. A middle-eastern man came INTO our room!!!! This was 2 hours before check-out!!!!!! I guess he was a maid. I don't even know if he apologized. My boyfriend had to tell him to get out. Ridiculous.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience when you recently stayed with us. I will ask our maintenance personnel to make sure the AC is in good operating order. I will request our housekeeping staff to be more discrete before entering rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsburg, Michigan
Level Contributor
157 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed with my family 4 nights in Estes Park. The 'room' was a large two-bedroom/ 1 1/2 bath suite with small kitchen, microwave, and table with chairs.

Pros: Lots of space for the price. The extra 1/2 bathroom was appreciated. Very nice view of mountains out of two large windows, although there was also construction in view. Staff friendly and helpful. Convenient to hiking in RMNP and Estes Park. Walkway around Estes lake very close. Large grocery store just down the road. On-ste coin-op laundry. Lots of towels and hot water. Quiet location. The pool was a reasonable size, although we did not use it.

Cons: Breakfast was sparse. 80s-style decor and beds; indoor-outdoor carpet. Surfaces throughout the hotel tended to be sticky, most likely because of syrup served with freezer waffles at breakfast. Bring wipes to clean mini-fridge (somewhat dirty when we checked in), microwave, and table. Although the hotel is no-smoking, people smoke on the porch outside so smoke wafts into the rooms if windows are open. No elevator so ask for a first-floor room if you have mobility problems.

There are many hotels competing in this area. If you want a budget hotel close to the park with a lot of space for a family or two couples traveling together, this is a good choice if you don't mind an older establishment without luxury and with minimal 'free' breakfast offerings.

Room Tip: The two-bedroom (1 1/2 bath) suites would be good for families or couples traveling together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
You were most kind to take the time to give such a detailed report concerning your recent visit with us. We will strive to maintain all the "Pros" and to eliminate as many "Cons" as possible. I will review all of your comments with our staff. We try to consistently improve the quality of our accommodations. Please visit us again and see if we haven't made progress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I knew we were in trouble when we pulled in and all the flowers by the front lobby were dead. Our room was big but every corner had a cobweb and there was hair in the bathtub. We wanted to do laundry but the old washer and dryer were rusty and nasty. The lamp next to the laundry area was full of dust. The curtains were so ripped it looked like polka dots when the morning sun shone through. The morning we stayed there something had got in the garbage cans overnight and there was garbage strewn across the parking lot in 2 places but nobody was picking it up. If you can avoid this old hotel do it..nobody seems to care about it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Although judging from the list of deficiencies you noted it would appear that "nobody seems to care" about the condition of our motel, I can assure you that we do care. I am truly grateful that you took the time to identify these problems as your comments will be valuable when I meet with our staff. I can assure you that each of the problems you noted will be addressed very promptly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Estes Park
Comfort Inn Estes Park
#10 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 794 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Estes Park
Rodeway Inn Estes Park
#21 of 28 in Estes Park
3.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Columbine Inn
Columbine Inn
#19 of 28 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.7 mi away
Rocky Mountain Park Inn
Rocky Mountain Park Inn
#23 of 28 in Estes Park
3.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park

Address: 1220 Big Thompson Ave., US Highway 34, Estes Park, CO 80517 (Formerly Travelodge Estes Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Estes Park
Travel Lodge Estes Park
Estes Park Travel Lodge
Estes Park Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.