We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1220 Big Thompson Ave., US Highway 34, Estes Park, CO 80517 (Formerly Travelodge Estes Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Toledo, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Charming hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Quaint hotel! We loved our room! It was clean and well appointed! Safeway grocery nearby, and the room has a frig and micro. We ate bob and Dave's pizza on the balcony. We slept with the windows open! I loved the view of the mountains and the lovely breeze! Nice pool! Short distance to downtown Estes park. There is a shuttle if you don't want to walk or drive/park. Very friendly staff! Cold breakfast-we didn't have it because we went to the famous donut haus instead!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
I am glad you approved of our lodgings and thank you for responding with your comments. We do offer a good view and a great pool. We will strive to take measures to improve our breakfast offering which you and others have found lacking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    16
    4
    9
See reviews for
25
17
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

An older motel, but clean and not too expensive. A great place to watch the July 4th fireworks right behind the motel. The free breakfast was nothing to write home about, but it did the job. Beds were comfortable and the shower was just right.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for spending the July 4th holiday with us. We do offer a great view to the west. You noted that the room was clean and priced right but the breakfast offering was a bit disappointing. I will discuss this with our management staff and see if we can't give you something to write home about next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocoa beach fl
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in July, the staff was great and the hotel while being older was clean and well kept. Would definitly stay there again if we returned to Estes Park. Breakfast was a little on the lean side but didn't bother us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us in Estes Park. Our staff makes a big difference in the guest's lodging experience. I will speak with the management staff about how we might improve that "lean" breakfast. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights and found the experience to be excellent. The room was spotless, with clean linens and plenty of them. A working air conditioner was a real bonus, and there was also a fridge and a microwave as well as the usual coffee maker. There was access to ice outside as needed. The staff were helpful, particularly one young woman who could always find a smile for the customers, and made a terrific difference to the stay. This is an independently owned ABVI, and it is terrific. Well worth visiting, even if you have been disappointed in other ABVIs.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to report regarding your experience at ABVI in Estes Park. We take pride in the service and attention our staff gives to our guests. We encourage our housekeeping staff to keep the rooms spotless and well stocked. I hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I have read the 19 glowing reviews, and was impressed that John R, Owner of the motel, personally answered most of them. It was on this basis that I tried to book a room on the motel's website. The rates and availability seemed wrong, so I called the motel and spoke with Billy. He was very pleasant on the phone and agreed that the website was wrong. He said that the motel is under new management and things are a bit hectic. He gave me rates for the dates I wanted. I said I would call back if I wished to book.

I called back a few days later, ready to book a room. Billy said that the rates and availability he had given me were not correct and that I would have to talk to Cody, the new manager, if I wanted a room at that rate. She was not in, but he would have her call me.

Cody never called. I called back and left my name and number, a second time, for Cody to call me. Cody never called.

Apparently the good management that people rave about on TripAdvisor no longer exists. Cody, if she even exists, may wish to answer this comment as her predecessor so often answered.

Room Tip: I have read the 19 glowing reviews, and was impressed that John R, Owner of the motel, personally an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
I sincerely regret that you had the unfortunate experience with our staff that you described in your review. First of all, Billy should have honored the rate he first quoted you. Second, it is unconscionable that Cody did not return your repeated phone messages. We have just had a transition in managers and Cody is still getting settled in. However, that does not excuse her failure to communicate with you. I can only assure you that the situation will be brought to Cody's attention to prevent this happening again to you or any other potential guest. I appreciate that you took the time to alert us to this event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Reached hotel late in the night, when everything closes down in Estes including the hotels. But manager made the arrangements that we have our keys and internet password when we reached at the hotel. In a series of mishappenings, we left our keys inside room and were left lockedout outside the room in the parking lot. We had to call the emergency no. provided at the entrance of the hotel. Again, in act of kindness, manager personally came to give us another key. Really impressed with the way she handled everything without any sign of unpleasantness at our act of foolishness.

As far as the hotel itself is concerned it has basic facilities but the best part is the open courtyard in front right outside our room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent late checkin / lockout experience with us. Our staff has always gone above and beyond to ensure you have a comfortable stay with us. We hope to see you again when you next visit Estes Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here for several days in October 2012. Rooms were spotless and they were cleaned each day. The office folk made us feel right at home and treated us as family. Jessa is a wonderful manager and we got to know her quite well. She is definitely customer oriented and just wants to please. She's the perfect person to manage a hotel. Billy was great too when Jessa wasn't at the front desk. We would definitely stay here again if we return to Estes Park, CO. Don't think twice - just book your room at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park. Thanks Jessa for all you did for us and for making us feel so comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are pleased that you had a good experience while staying with us in Estes Park. Jessa has a special knack at developing a good rapport with our guests. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park

Address: 1220 Big Thompson Ave., US Highway 34, Estes Park, CO 80517 (Formerly Travelodge Estes Park)
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Estes Park
Travel Lodge Estes Park
Estes Park Travel Lodge
Estes Park Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.